Michelin XM2

MacDuck

Looking for Michelin tyre, deciding between XM2 and a European import Energy Saver+, what is the generally comments about these 2? I know there is a discussion about PI and local distributor tyres, but between XM2 and Energy Saver+ if both are similar price, which one will you choose and why?

I just changed to Energy Saver (made in Italy / DOM 06/13) 195/65 R15, since 1 June, I was able to choose between XM2 and Energy Saver with the same price. So I went for Energy Saver cos the manufacture year is 2013... gotta say that I'm enjoying my ride so much now... my previous tyres were BF Goodrich G-Force (super noisy).. Energy Saver is super quiet and comfy... brakes well in wet conditions too...

went thru this thread and called up a few....

finally settled the following;

Name :

Soon Huat Tyres Pte Ltd

XM2 - 215/65/15 - $15X.XX only.. cheapest in SG..

Was just quoted $190 for 215/60/16. Either price has gone up quite a bit or perhaps due to size of tyre....

I went there for my assy 2 last year, not cheapest but i feel good on their worker attitude, super friendly make you feel like going back to them on next tyre without any doubt. This is something cannot buy with money.

Agree service is good and Kevin looks honest. I bought my current Goodyear Excellence tyres there as recommended by Kevin. Benefited from the free rotation and gas top up as my previous office was in Jurong. Now my new office is far away, won't be able to enjoy this service liao so may consider other shops as long as tyres are fresh.

Any brothers can recommend a good place with good price to change Michelin tyres?

Any idea on the indicative prie for 215/45/17?

Check out tyre track in yishun. . Find their number and call. No harm calling and get a quote.

Saw a brother recommend. .. price was quite good. Though I haven't tried their service

I think its too ex. U can get CPC3 or PS3 abt that price.

I chk in SG PS3 n CPC3 205/55/16 less than that.

Just had mine replaces at S.. brother at 135 but they were 1 year old tyres....! Dom 2312... they did not have new ones... auntie was trying to get me to buy newer stock yoko advan db 551at same price ..said made in japan n better than xm2. I did not research prior n was not convince...so stick to xm2

what size is yours? malaysia can get for around SGD90 for 14' fresh stock last changed in april got DOM 5012

Anyone keep track of the mileage on this tyres? Mine on 30k still brand new. Seems like it's going to last me another 70k.

Extracted from my vehicle log.

6/11/2008 - 029636 km - installed new XM1.

22/3/2012 - 076536 km - changed to new XM2. Still plenty of thread left on the XM1, but decided to change since the XM1 had been running for slightly more than 3yrs.

one of the shop at Pioneer Point said that XM2 tyres is very hard wearing due the material use. However, once the outer layer is worn off, the tyres gets very noisy.

ya. my old xm1 is damn lasting. it seem it cannot be wear off. that was a few year back on my older car. but it get damn noisy, if u take a closer look, the rubber seem to peel off,

was waiting for it to wear down to the indicator to replace the tyre, but every time check still got tread left, LOL

new xm2, cannot comment.

but my guts feeling is tyres that promise for long mileage wearing. dun expect too much on grip and noise. [rolleyes]

Check out tyre track in yishun. . Find their number and call. No harm calling and get a quote.

Saw a brother recommend. .. price was quite good. Though I haven't tried their service

I did my tyre changed there last mth..not sure if promo still on...

good price for my PS3 Michelin (made in Germany) 205/55/16. made in 2012. at 145 per pc after much negotiating. [laugh]

2nd set PS3 for me... long lasting n quiet.... wet n dry is very good

Edited by Mindbox33

Extracted from my vehicle log.

6/11/2008 - 029636 km - installed new XM1.

22/3/2012 - 076536 km - changed to new XM2. Still plenty of thread left on the XM1, but decided to change since the XM1 had been running for slightly more than 3yrs.

When changing to new XM2, the tyre guy inspected the old XM1 and gave a trade-in discount on their own accord. Small amount but nice gesture.