fesa7044 2nd Gear September 25, 2018 Share September 25, 2018 but it still sound like an ad if you ask me.I can only say u shouldn't b so direct on dis.@least some story we can ponder on. 20 Pandan loop is TOP speed renown mercs wshop. I actually dun like comment dat dun spelt out ws and ppl will ask to pm the place. I dun like dis pm here pm there thingy. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 25, 2018 Share September 25, 2018 (edited) hello,.im trying my luck here..so my w124 currently have electrical problem. my car battery died too fast leh.. did rewiring few months back also didnt solve the issue..what a waste of money..now if all the fuse are connected and leave for a day..battery will flat out. the mechanic also give up on this matter. right now the only electronic and wire connected is the headlight and the tail lights. others cabin light and so on are disconnected. what should i do.,show should i trouble shoot this. should i check for the wiring harness first? i believe w124 have the biodegradable issue since you could live with only the headlights and taillights are connected and the car has no problem, may I suggest that you connect one additional fuse at a time and wait for a few days, if no problem after a few days, you just add on another fuse and repeat the same. You might be able to narrow down the fuse that is sucking up the battery. Once you have identified the fuse, you start to remove all the bulbs on the downstream of the fuse, connect one or two bulbs at a time and wait for a few days again, you might be able to pin point the wiring problem. But it is tedious and time consuming, and that is provided it is the lights that is causing the problem. But you could also do likewise for non lights related fuse and see if you have the luck. Since your mechanic is running at the wit ends, this approach might be viable though may not be very elegance. Edited September 25, 2018 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear November 30, 2018 Share November 30, 2018 Would it be safer/better to get a close to 10 year old Nissan Cefiro?u MISSED the point totally..Its all abt reliving lost opportunities. Its a 200k plus car in the 90s & if u have dat kind of money,u probably b doing well, veri well. Me? It's the chariot of choice on my big day( wedding day)think mercs still does,nowadays. Always dream of having one. I m Glad ,I got the chance to pull the trigger on one as we speak. Its NOT for everyone,definitely not for someone who aspire to owns his first car ,absolutely no no for ppl looking for a bargain/good deal. Its the last of the over engineer car,dey not gonna do it dis way,no way ho say(Jose) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic November 30, 2018 Share November 30, 2018 Gonna agree. Many people may have missed the chance to own this finely engineered car due to age or finances at that era. So seize the opportunity now while still can get a decent one and enjoy it, rather than regret for life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear November 30, 2018 Share November 30, 2018 hello,.im trying my luck here..so my w124 currently have electrical problem. my car battery died too fast leh.. did rewiring few months back also didnt solve the issue..what a waste of money..now if all the fuse are connected and leave for a day..battery will flat out. the mechanic also give up on this matter. right now the only electronic and wire connected is the headlight and the tail lights. others cabin light and so on are disconnected. what should i do.,show should i trouble shoot this. should i check for the wiring harness first? i believe w124 have the biodegradable issueIts been quite a while,Faiz,hope u have get it sorted if not here it goes..........in sgso far I have onli try Richard But dis fella problem is he dun normally repair part ,he REPLACED so u gotta considered the cost as well but there again his original or if he can take oem,price are quite decent. One key note,he drives a white 124 himself,it doesen't mean anything but me reckon if the boss is using dat product,I will see him as believing in it. Richmotor auto services Shell station 150 Bukit Timah rd 229846 See Richard MB auto workshop 10 Ang Mo Kio ind park 2a #02-28 amk auto point 568047 See Colin quek Eric Chia Zen auto Kaki Bukit Rd 3 #01-12 empire Techno centre 417819 See ah Mun Teck Kee motor engineering work 17 Sin ming industrial sector A #01-79 575675 See Edward Sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 10, 2021 Share September 10, 2021 Hahahaha March 2017 only goes to 1 trusted workshop May 2017 goes to every other workshop in SG and found his car at the one trusted workshop? On 3/27/2017 at 4:43 PM, gillroy said: Had two W124's before, 230E and now currently a 200E. All in all it's a solid car to drive. As far as i am concerned, any issues i have faced with my car i have only trusted only one mechanic with my car Top Speed Motors located at Pandan Loop. He has dealt with these car for the past 30years and it's amazing. The W124 is a car which needs to be driven everyday to understand it's problems. It's like a box of chcolate, u never what you gonna get. Never had any major issues with mine and driving it up north is a breeze..I hope you guys enjoy your W124. On 5/8/2017 at 4:45 PM, gillroy said: To all those whom think you are getting value for money think again. I recently had some trouble with my gearbox and was lost as to what to do. I had sent it to several workshops and of course sourced for the cheapest quote to get my gearbox overhauled. All those whom i knew who claimed to be transmission specialist from Sin Ming till Ubi,Kaki Bukit and even Jurong quoted me nothing less than 3k to get my transmission overhauled. Leaving with no choice i left it at a workshop which i do not want to name at Pioneer Rd. And to make matters worst my car was weeping oil and loosing power at high speeds. Basically every one was taking me for a ride and all workshops will just come up with their own theories and telling you to leave their car there for a few days and eventually charge you a bomb for crap which you dont even know what they have done. Anyways, after leaving my car at workshop XYZ at pioneer, i decided to take a drive down to have a look at the progress. Well what can i say, my car was not there. I checked around and a foreman told me the car had been towed to another workshop in Pandan. Guess what, the car was there with the gearbox down and works were on going to the engine aswell. Speaking to the boss, the actual cost to overhaul my gearbox was only half the price of what which was quoted to me by workshop xyz. I let the matter rest and told myself it was just my luck. Its been 2 months now and my car runs like brand new with restored power and gear changes which makes me think at times i am driving a CVT when in actual fact its just a normal 5 speed auto. I have seen many workshops, and let me tell you if you ever go to a workshop which tells you they can overhaul your gearbox, it's all a load of crap cause they are just changing to all parts made in china and charging you a bomb for it giving you minimum warranty. And if you think changing the Hybrid cells for your car is too expensive by the thousands, let me say this in actual facts it's not. Workshops just cut your throat telling you its costly and all..try going to ebay and see if you can just order the damaged batt cell by yourself..you will see what i mean in price difference. Trust me when i say this, the workshop which i found my car in was located at No.20 Pandan Loop. They built your gearbox from scratch with all original parts and are honest and upfront. Try seeing for yourself. I am not advertising for anyone, but am just letting all drivers know when each time you think you are sending your gearbox for an overhaul and nothing solves the problems, don't bother wasting time and money just go to 20 Pandan Loop. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 10, 2021 Share September 10, 2021 1 hour ago, Jamesc said: Hahahaha March 2017 only goes to 1 trusted workshop May 2017 goes to every other workshop in SG and found his car at the one trusted workshop? AHahahaha. Hahahaha.hahahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 10, 2021 Share September 10, 2021 okok. I am looking for a cheap, good, honest workshop in Bukit Batok, Jurong East area. Getting and storing the contacts first, just in case. Any recommendations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear February 19, 2022 Share February 19, 2022 @Albeniz On 9/10/2021 at 5:35 PM, Albeniz said: okok. I am looking for a cheap, good, honest workshop in Bukit Batok, Jurong East area. Getting and storing the contacts first, just in case. Any recommendations? am afraid u Wun gets one dat Tick all the Box,am afraid. I see the same Question being asked almost ,everywhere. u think it’s realistic ………. Good wshop dun hibernate right under yr Nose & probably not too cheap either. Let’s Cut the chase ,go to Tech Choon. mr Wong is a Decent guy. actually I have a few in my pocket but dat will be a discussion for another day ,go check them out & update us here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear July 29, 2022 Share July 29, 2022 On 12/1/2018 at 5:41 AM, fesa7044 said: Its been quite a while,Faiz,hope u have get it sorted if not here it goes..........in sg so far I have onli try Richard But dis fella problem is he dun normally repair part ,he REPLACED so u gotta considered the cost as well but there again his original or if he can take oem,price are quite decent. One key note,he drives a white 124 himself,it doesen't mean anything but me reckon if the boss is using dat product,I will see him as believing in it. Richmotor auto services Shell station 150 Bukit Timah rd 229846 See Richard MB auto workshop 10 Ang Mo Kio ind park 2a #02-28 amk auto point 568047 See Colin quek Eric Chia Zen auto Kaki Bukit Rd 3 #01-12 empire Techno centre 417819 See ah Mun Teck Kee motor engineering work 17 Sin ming industrial sector A #01-79 575675 See Edward Sia @fesa7044 Some update on what I have post earlier. all the wshop I have post have deteriorate so much ,some of them are no more doing the work ,onli relying on foreign labour,some have wind up & a free Lancer now.Richard as always are pretty arrogant.. He will ask u to Leave yr car there & u gotta chase after him to tell him ,what u wans to do ,when he moves around with his job card,looking busy. An awful way to spend yr money,me reckon. A decent wshop to cater for old Merk is Tech choon of carros centre . it’s pretty far for me to go all the way to Kranji. Mr Wong does a wonderful job with all the old banger mercs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...