inlinesix Hypersonic June 24, 2017 Share June 24, 2017 I'm not sure what your question is, bro. Different manufacturers and different tyre models lor. But unless you pump till damn hard (eg, 38 psi in your example), you won't be maximising that load capacity. And at lower pressure, the load capacity of your stock tyres and PSS are identical, assuming they are of the same size. Go & read the part i highlighted in red. 38psi is the minimum pressure, right? If size is the only determinant, why different manufacturers have diff load index? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 24, 2017 Share June 24, 2017 This is the unconfusing part. The confusing part is Example, Two Standard tyres Same size Same pressure (e.g. 32 psi) One load index is 91 and the other 94. The load capacity the same? Yes. The load capacity would be the same until you hit a high enough tyre pressure for the higher load index to matter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 24, 2017 Share June 24, 2017 Go & read the part i highlighted in red. 38psi is the minimum pressure, right? If size is the only determinant, why different manufacturers have diff load index? Sorry man, I'm still not sure what you're saying. Size is NOT the only determinant. A stronger/thicker (also heavier) tyre structure facilitates a higher load index. Two tyres of the exact same size can have different load indices because one can be built tougher (thicker walls, etc) than the other, and therefore function effectively at a higher tyre pressure. At this higher tyre pressure, it will then be able to carry a heavier load than a different tyre of the same size but with a less heavy-duty construction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 24, 2017 Share June 24, 2017 Yes. The load capacity would be the same until you hit a high enough tyre pressure for the higher load index to matter. If the load capacity is the same, can I find out how to explain the following from the load inflation table? Load Index 91, 32 psi, 1224 lb Load index 94, 32 psi, 1290 lb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 24, 2017 Share June 24, 2017 If the load capacity is the same, can I find out how to explain the following from the load inflation table? Load Index 91, 32 psi, 1224 lb Load index 94, 32 psi, 1290 lb Sorry, which specific table are you referencing? Can share the URL? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 24, 2017 Share June 24, 2017 Sorry, which specific table are you referencing? Can share the URL? Eh... i PM'ed you. I scared later I post here, the site crashed and then I no longer can access it ! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 25, 2017 Share June 25, 2017 Sorry everyone, I was wrong, with apologies especially to @Davidtch. My info applies only to the P-metric tyres mainly used in USA (tyre size starts with "P", eg P225 instead of 225), but not to the ISO-metric tyres we usually use here. I'd assumed the standards were similar and didn't check the data properly. Sorry for the confusion. ISO-metric tyres of the same size, but different load indices, do have different load capacities at different tyre pressures; even relatively low ones. And standard and extra load tyres of the same size, but different load indices, also have different load capacities at different tyre pressures. So please disregard what I've said unless you use P-metric tyres, and instead refer to the attached ISO load index tables here (thanks @kklee for politely correcting me). Sibei paiseh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 25, 2017 Share June 25, 2017 Additional information. ISO Metric (Metric or Hard metric) vs. P-metric It is important to know which standard is applicable for any given tire size designation as the load capacity may differ at any inflation pressure value. The TRA developed the P-metric standard and the ETRTO developed the ISO Metric/Hard Metric standard. For example, TRA P225/55R17 95T has a maximum load capacity of 1521 lbs. @ 35 psi (see Table 1) while 225/55R17 97T has a maximum load capacity of 1609 lbs. @ 36 psi (see Table 2). Note: The load index (e.g. 95) is a numerical code associated with the maximum load a tire can carry at the speed indicated by the tire’s speed symbol (e.g. ‘T’) under certain specified service conditions. Tires with the same load index, regardless of tire size, may carry the same load, but not always, and they may require substantially different inflation pressures. The load index may not be used independently to determine replacement tire acceptability for load capacity. An equal or greater load index does not always correspond to equal or greater load capacity at all inflation pressure settings, particularly when comparing P-metric and Euro-metric passenger car tires. Source - Toyo Guidelines for the Application of Load and Inflation Tables 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 25, 2017 Share June 25, 2017 No worries @muser. We learn from each other in the forum. @kklee good work on the research. From zero to now able to understand load index 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 25, 2017 Share June 25, 2017 @kklee good work on the research. From zero to now able to understand load index Next, we will relate it to the contact patch follow by the cold tyre pressure ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 My car manufacturer sticker stated both front and back, no load and full load recommend tire pressure is 32psi. I just measure all the tires (cold reading) is about 38psi! Recently changed tire and pump by tire shop. No wonder I feel the car like a bit slippery. This recommended pressure reading is suppose to be taken without load in the car right? I mean when the recommend 32psi for full load, they don’t mean u take the reading when your car is fully loaded right? So should I decrease the pressure back to 32psi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic February 15, 2018 Share February 15, 2018 My car manufacturer sticker stated both front and back, no load and full load recommend tire pressure is 32psi. I just measure all the tires (cold reading) is about 38psi! Recently changed tire and pump by tire shop. No wonder I feel the car like a bit slippery. This recommended pressure reading is suppose to be taken without load in the car right? I mean when the recommend 32psi for full load, they donât mean u take the reading when your car is fully loaded right? So should I decrease the pressure back to 32psi? if you feel the car is a bit slippery, can deflate a bit. i usually pump slightly above the recommended pressure, but this depends on personal preference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N3m0 Clutched March 2, 2018 Share March 2, 2018 Hi.. just asking.. how to check what pressure to pump for my tyre. Im driving a toyota vios. 16 inch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 2, 2018 Share March 2, 2018 Hi.. just asking.. how to check what pressure to pump for my tyre. Im driving a toyota vios. 16 inchOwner manual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N3m0 Clutched March 2, 2018 Share March 2, 2018 Owner manualWhat if my manual has lost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 2, 2018 Share March 2, 2018 google is our best friend. if still cannot find, just pump 240kpa all round. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jwee85 5th Gear March 2, 2018 Share March 2, 2018 2.2bar 220kPa If one is lazy to pump and check frequently, then can pump 2.6bar. Then only need every three months pump one time. If still very very very lazy and don't bother type. Just ask the pump attendant to pump the standard pressure whenever at refilling station. Hi.. just asking.. how to check what pressure to pump for my tyre. Im driving a toyota vios. 16 inch 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 2, 2018 Share March 2, 2018 Hi.. just asking.. how to check what pressure to pump for my tyre. Im driving a toyota vios. 16 inch U open your driver side door, see the inside lock there. all the orginal tyres size and recommended pressure writting should be there. anw if cannot find, 240+- wont go wrong ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...