Fare increase cannot be helped

Ahtong

yeah cannot be helped.... lucky i'm not dependent on public transport. Lucky I bought my car before the crazy COE hike. But now I wonder what will happen when my Cause Of Extinction expires in 5 years time..... I might just have to go BMW...

Maybe you are not dependent on public transport, but don't forget we drivers are being sucked by the high petrol price, thanks to garment.... <_<

Edited by Hulk

If they were to pack ppl like sardines and to make you breathe each other's breath and BO are called service, this must be one of a kind in the world. All these years the transport company had made record after record of profits but still there's no change to the service. As a kid I already had a deep impression that the buses are the most difficult to wait. Has the service improved today? After so many donkey years?

And that's not the worst cos ppl dun have an alternative choice of private bus companies just becos of the bus riots in the 60s'. I think those bus uncles have already passed away for quite some time liao. This is most ridiculous and lame excuse to monopolise the bus service industry.

Its very frustrating at my work place where is fluency of the only Bus service is more than 30 mins.

I still need to endure another 2 months of world class public transport. [smallcry]

Maybe too kang chiong to sold off my car liao....

after replacing all the bilingual singaporean bus drivers with cheap chinese speaking ones from china, they still need a large enough profit?

Its very frustrating at my work place where is fluency of the only Bus service is more than 30 mins.

I still need to endure another 2 months of world class public transport. [smallcry]

cannot be helped... [laugh]

I don't want to dig too much into this as it'll become the chinese saying "yue4 miao3 yue4 hei1".

thats only part of it... a few percents nia... u need to know who is the major shareholder behind all the public transport company...

bro ever thought of renting?

What PM was trying to say is "The millions the transport co earn every year is absurbly unreasonable. It should be much more than that. If you can't take it, don't take and go buy a bicycle. We'll consider it REASONABLE only 6 months before the next GE."

Song bo 60.1%?

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said that fare increases cannot be helped, and that transport companies have to make reasonable profits to provide good service.

Mr Lee touched on the ongoing debate over a proposed fare hike in public transport last night at a National Day celebration.

"From time to time, fare increases cannot be helped", he tried to explain.

On suggestions that the government is helping public transport operators to make more profits, he said, "there is no reason for us to do so."

"But we have to allow the transport companies to break even and to make reasonable profits, so that they can provide this good service."

He leaves the Public Transport Council to decide what consitutes a "reasonable profit".

I guess transport companies have been making "unreasonable" profits in the past

fcuk this idiot PM. Useless bum.

If they were to pack ppl like sardines and to make you breathe each other's breath and BO are called service, this must be one of a kind in the world. All these years the transport company had made record after record of profits but still there's no change to the service. As a kid I already had a deep impression that the buses are the most difficult to wait. Has the service improved today? After so many donkey years?

And that's not the worst cos ppl dun have an alternative choice of private bus companies just becos of the bus riots in the 60s'. I think those bus uncles have already passed away for quite some time liao. This is most ridiculous and lame excuse to monopolise the bus service industry.

Our bus service is not packed like sardines yet. I think they are using this as the benchmark of crowded buses.

crowded-bus.jpg

bro ever thought of renting?

No need lah. I used public transport since primary school, before they call it world class. Use for another few months only meh. No biggy.

I do confess I took a lot of cabs to places & work. By car, I can get to my workplace 20-40 minutes, depends on road condition.

By world class public transport, 1 hour 30min to 2 hours. <_<

Was talking to my HKG colleague and something very interesting came up.

He was in SG recently and complain to me SG BUS N MET is more expensive than HKG. more I agree with him.

Looks like anything happened in sg, all cannot be helped! Fare increase cannot be helped, sg overcrowded with FTs cannot be helped, and even the increasing high price of housing also cannot be helped, and finally the overall increase cost of living confirmed cannot be helped! [thumbsdown]

flooding also cannot be helped.

COE causing inflation also cannot be helped

next election left 55% also cannot be helped.

only we can help ourselves with our votes but it was wasted.

This type of company confirm fail in the business world... They r lucky that they r related to Singapore govt and govt related investment firm has a huge share in the co. Put this type of co in the outside business world, see how they ggto fail an d go bust with such business ethic. No such thing as muz keep increase price to break even and make profit. Outside do business, increase price is always the last resort, instead management will think of way to save costs, look into the cost and expenses and see where the problem lies, not increase price to break even at the expense of customers.