COV cannot be removed, MR KBW said

Apvman

If a bowl of fish ball noodles is worth $2.50, but because there is a long queue for it, do we pay COV over and above the $2.50 to get it?

What is valuation? If something is worth $x, it is worth $x. Period.

COV, by definition has no logic.

If something has too much demand, has a long queue such that COV comes into the picture, then the problem is the supplier.

Dun talk like a kid, grow up. How to compare fish balls to HDB COV? It is intangible vs perishable. Valuation is by mean of assessing a property for the purpose of mortgage loan of a buyer and not meant for any other purpose.

Try to read this, U want Jap or Korean cars? or even Conti, one has to pay for the brand, image and resale-value over time.

Actually majority dun really want to due with certain race.. because they ,by nature, alot of issues.

I also tell my agent.. if this type come to buy, please raise the asking by 20k.. So if things happens.. i just minus for the excess..

I am not being racist.. just that, trying to protect myself.

U are a racist, pppl who say they are not is actually RACIST!!

By raising prices juz to tickle your appetite, U think is easy for your agent to sell, U are pure racist.

just to share my experience, recently i suffered losses because i have an errant tenant who also happened to be in the less prefererred race for the unofficial ranking of tenants by race.

i am not saying it is right or wrong but i do understand why some people err on the side of caution by rejecting or have a higher asking price for tenants of a particular race.

To a certain extent, you are still racist, making life miserable for your agent too.

Double cfm racist.

To a certain extent, you are still racist, making life miserable for your agent too.

Double cfm racist.

The correct term should be 'discriminate'. Anyway both kinds are a-----es.

By raising prices juz to tickle your appetite, U think is easy for your agent to sell, U are pure racist.

this is amusing... look at SLS, when they see ang mo, their prices go up.. so they are racist?

everything racist? come on lah, this is not malaysia k. period.

racist only occurs in other countries, no in singapore...

wait till you go aussie, non-aussies over there are 2nd / 3rd / last class citizen.. their aborigines even worst.

look at malaysia, even worst...

dun simply anyhow racist here and there.. if you look at it this way, aren't you racist yourself. can't even distinguish what is racist.

You are lucky there is the COV to protect you. You don't seem financially savvy enough to buy a home now.

What exactly do you want? Valuation $500k + COV $100k you don't want. Then if Valuation $600 with COV removed you ok? You do see that in both scenarios you are paying $600k right. [hur]

Dbss cannot lah.. I single... plus I have other commitments to my family... so must stay near to them..... BTO too long. Now waiting for cheap deal to fall from sky... no choice...

Hmm... Single, stay jb, parents flat rented out, west cannot cuz too far, must east side, bto too long, resale cov too high....

If this is not choosy, I duno what is..... Lol.... Then blame who? Blame govt..... Haha

Beggars can't be choosers....

i dont think much can be done already. The problem is already out of hand. At the end of the day, its an open market. Those with money will have the edge, and those without, priced out. Simple economics.

For those that cant afford the COV, it limits their choices to new flats or areas where it is less popular. You cant possibly want to pay little and live in good location. Now 'problem' is the govt is value adding alot of things to new estate, thus increasing the value of flats i those areas too.. and that also raise the value of the flats in matured estates. People will say.. 'see, even punggol also 400k... we here tpy leh.. '

i think actualy problem is that income is not rising fast enough to catch up with the housing prices.

Like what Jim Rohn said : It's not that it is too expensive. It's that you cannot afford it!

i dont think much can be done already. The problem is already out of hand. At the end of the day, its an open market. Those with money will have the edge, and those without, priced out. Simple economics.

For those that cant afford the COV, it limits their choices to new flats or areas where it is less popular. You cant possibly want to pay little and live in good location. Now 'problem' is the govt is value adding alot of things to new estate, thus increasing the value of flats i those areas too.. and that also raise the value of the flats in matured estates. People will say.. 'see, even punggol also 400k... we here tpy leh.. '

i think actualy problem is that income is not rising fast enough to catch up with the housing prices.

Like what Jim Rohn said : It's not that it is too expensive. It's that you cannot afford it!

sorrie, you wroong wor... Punngol 5 room flats are 530+k now.. TPY of coz higher lah.. 660+k (median price)...

if jurong already 450k, any fat hope TPY just 500k?

Hahahah... u got $$ but u stupid what... use yor hardearn $$ to pay for high high COV... hhahahaha.... Paisei.. I not like u ....so clever to pay for high high COV... I very poor one... dont spend $$ on high COVs just to benefit the seller.. U special what.. Same like Singapore Government what... Go n buy share when prices are high but sell when prices are low.... [laugh][laugh]

I no $$ to buy high COVs.... so looking around loh.. If I find then I tell u.... maybe if got recession better still... I wonder how many pple will jump when they find that the HDB loan is too much to handle if they dont have jobs... [knife]

I not special, i pay cov but not as high as now..

U special mah, 1 stay east, stay near parents want low cov, u special case u wait long long till property market crash k? Im sure kbw will make special deal for u coz ur special.

Meantime u every morning & after work go queue patiently in ur apv in the checkpoints k? Or go find job in jb...

Y u so angry sia? Some people is just niao ji niao lan.... This type drop how much also wun buy lar... If will buy... Long time buy liao... Few yes ago still cheap cheap

2yrs ago I was offered point block , 5 rm, 5 mins walk to Bedok interchange for $50k below valuation... Lol

Edited by Galantspeedz

Angry la, pple give advise, suggestion, cannot take it. Tink mkt will drop wen all FTs balik kampung.

But wait for dat kinda scenario, we locals oso suffer if economy in recession.

Okay.. hmm.. maybe i am racist. And i guess no one like to frown at because of their races , religion or sex..

but hor, i need to mention that.. my agent actual felt the same way too.. so didnt really make things difficult when i tell him... i prefer not to sell to a certain race.. In fact , he second my opinion.

Then dont open yor cb mouth lah... I buy what and say what.. yor f--king business is it? I ask PAP to lower COV yor problems?.... even u get new flat also not my problem too.. ? whether u lucky or not... not my f--king business...

All I know..talking abt squeezing... just a matter of time before u will be squeezed out by FTs... so u think u are f--king big being sinkies? hahahaha.....

why are you using vulgarity ?

You are the kind of Singaporean that cannot survive during crisis.. Everything also want the government to do for you. Everything also want the easy way. Ppl tell you something, instead of reflecting on yourself, you start to scold ppl using vulgarity and curse ppl somemore.. * what a shame * All i can say, be careful what you say. It will hit you back ten-fold.

I totally understand why you are upset because you dun hold the same opinion as me. And frankly, i dun seek ppl to share the same opinion as me also..But be mature to control your language.

Edited by Jrage

eRR - YOU ARE BEING racist...

changing the way you treat people and disadvantaging them based solely and purely on their race is the text book definition of racism....

Whether it is justified or not is a different matter...

personal experience. they are kind of b------d, they will complain this complain that. sign liao will still flip here flip there try not to give the deposite.

rent them house even worse, they sublet to another ppl. then another issue also, spoilt the whole house dont want to pay compensation.

if someone doesn't wants to sell, no amt of money will work. Fact!

Agents are playing to the greed of owners....but who doesn't wants to sell high? If you know a seller who is not greedy, pls intro to me...I pay referral fees..

of course i am not saying agent are wrong in this. [laugh] although post seem to imply that [:p]

I dont stay in the west...... looking at the east... Too far away from work even though i drive n too far away from jb when I go to my vacation house....If u look at east, COV had been increasing over the years and beyond reasonable amount.... No choice... Like what u say.. Have to wait for market to fall by next yr n see got cheap deals....

Bro, this is what i mean about looking at specify location. if you bind yourself to that. then you got problem in finding house.

for me and my wife, i gave her 2 choice.

1) live in uptown area, then we take transport.

2) live in ulu places, use the extra cash, buy car.

This one settle liao. because singapore not very big, buy car more convenient. (not for hao lian.)