Donut Supercharged August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 Be careful. A slipped disc might happen. Is your bone degenerating? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 13, 2011 Author Share August 13, 2011 Bro ur case look like mine, and worse than you I can't even stand up. I've been diagnosed with slipped disc later.You need MRI to tell you the problem. I did not go thru any surgery. Now is once a while, long long one time having sore lower back pain which is same syptoms as yours now. bro will MRI show slipped disc? coz i did some research also and it seem like if you have slipped disc the x-ray will show u did not go thru surgery but what treatment did you go through? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 13, 2011 Author Share August 13, 2011 MRI gives a much clearer picture than X ray. and costs much dearer too.. not that i unwilling to pay but just want to check if it is really useful Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 13, 2011 Author Share August 13, 2011 Many causes of the lower back pain. For instance, I am suffering from Sciatica pain for almost 2 years. The symptom is only one leg, the lower back downwards and sometimes the feet will go numb. I need to take a break after a long walk, sit down or bend down. And the pain is unbearable. Tell you what I did. I went for a 12 X courses of the Physiotherapy, it won't heal and don't feel any better. So I went to seek for TCM and did around 10 X of acupuncture and some Tuina, it does relieved but it just came back again. So I was thinking, better go do a MRI ( Mt Alvernia ) to see what's the nerve that cause the pain. And after the MRI, was told that the L4 or L5 something like that is "tickling " my Sciatica nerve, recommend me to go for Chiropractor and I did went for 6 courses. After all this, No recovery and this time I did some stretching myself after doing some research from the internet. Do it everyday, endure the stretch and pain, now I can't say it completely recovered, but am feeling much better at least my feet is not numb anymore. * MRI and all these therapy can by very costly, so try D.I.Y and do some excercise. Hope this help and hope you recover fast!!! My 0.02 C thanks for sharing bro. seem like im going thru the same stages as you. think i will try some TCM and the ubi clinic some bros recommended Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 13, 2011 Author Share August 13, 2011 Here it is. Lua Clinic & Surgery. Blk 350 Ubi Ave 1 #01-941. Singapore 400350. General Enquiries: 67450722. See map here. Google Map bro pineappleorang before you go for mri , pls at least go see this dr lua at aubi first. i think he should be old liao. but he is worth the wait and for a clinic, hs charges is not cheap. thanks bro ingenius. any indication of the range of his charges? hundreds? thousands? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 13, 2011 Author Share August 13, 2011 Be careful. A slipped disc might happen. Is your bone degenerating? i certainly hope not! i dun understand why this happens also. I thought i was quite a healthy person, physically active, able to play sports and went through NS smoothly without injuries (FYI i was in one of the more siong vocation Recce) just that recently became quite fat, but i was fat before NS also. somemore im only in my late twenties, still got much of my life ahead of me, and now im saddled with this back pain which only seem to get worst everyday. i worried there might be a day where i wake up and cannot stand or walk. hai. sorry for my rants.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Horsee Clutched August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 Me same problem as u. Went to physio and two course of steroid injection at SGH Pain management center. Got temporary relieve for 6 months but problem return. Request for acupuncture at SGH pain management. Till now better, can slow jog but not I intense exercise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 bro will MRI show slipped disc? coz i did some research also and it seem like if you have slipped disc the x-ray will show u did not go thru surgery but what treatment did you go through? TS, if u r feeling SHARP pain, then it's slipped disc problem. it's bone degenerating. My friend just kena slipped disc. He had slipped disc, without any warning; no pain, no nothing. Then he kenna slipped disc and doc say it's due to age and bone is degenerating. Doc says that usually ppl will have sharp pain before slipped disc happens.. So be careful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 i certainly hope not! i dun understand why this happens also. I thought i was quite a healthy person, physically active, able to play sports and went through NS smoothly without injuries (FYI i was in one of the more siong vocation Recce) just that recently became quite fat, but i was fat before NS also. somemore im only in my late twenties, still got much of my life ahead of me, and now im saddled with this back pain which only seem to get worst everyday. i worried there might be a day where i wake up and cannot stand or walk. hai. sorry for my rants.. Cheer up bro...I am no doctor but my sincere advice to you is lose some weight, exercise abit more, and can go on a dosage of Omega 3 oil, Glu, chrotin, msn, coq10 and some antioxidents....sori for the bad spelling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 For TCM, u can try the Toa Payoh free TCM, at Toa Payoh central. The building is like a big temple. They have all the specialized TCM there, different doctors for differet problems, and it's FREE..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 Need to find out what's the problem before proceeding with any treatments, so you might need to seek a couple of opinions. Look for the experienced HODs at SGH/NUH if you are concerned abt cost, or if you can afford, the ones at Gleneagles/Mount E (preferable those former HOD from SGH/NUH). Medical costs are ever increasing so better find out what's the problem now before it becomes worse in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unitek 1st Gear August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 Hi Orangepineapple. If you are over 40, i think back pain is quite common. Especially if you have not excercise regularly. I suffer lower back and neck pains for past many years. Seen many doctor, TCM, Accupunture, Chirapratics, Tui-na, etc..i think most of them just got my condition worse. Finally went for a nerology and MRI checks. It turn out bone spurs are squeezing on a nerve in each of this area. Nothing much can be done to resolve them unless you willing to go under knife. Physio can only help to reduce the pain and give temporary comforts. Then i start excercising again. With my weight, cannot really run, just a slwo jog and stretching to make sure i sweat it out. And i must say, the pain has drastically reduced. I was later told that when you excercise, the body will generate a chemical (cannot remember its name), it act like a pain killer to soften those aches. So my suggestion is go seek medical confirmation first before jumping to try all sorts of remedy. Good luck and stay healthy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 Before they do the MRI scan for the nerves they will inject dye into your bloodstream so that during the scan the dye will highlight the nerves. How effective, actually very hard to say. Did have any medical history whereby you hurt your back? If it's a recurring injury pain the scan won't be of much help. There's no injection of dye for MRI scan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 more of recurring injury bro. I dun recall one injury which i sustain which caused my back to be like that. last time when young it was on and off. nothing much, and i could be very physically active also. but now the pain is always there and i cant really do much physical things. anyway, so MRI really also useless? hai and it costs a cool $500 cash, cannot be paid by other means. what other options do i have man :( Not to say useless... My case, I have slip disc during army days. But the MO did not detect it as all my x-ray shows no anomalies. SO went to see sepcialist on my own accord, and thru MRI, the slipped disc was clearly detectecd.. After showing the MRI to medical board I got downgraded.. After 20 over yrs, the slipped disc does not bother me anymore, I guess the reason is I have taken up running and doing alot of planking(not the internet fad, but the real exercise that trained abs and core muscle). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 If u r over weight, then do something to reduce yr weight first. No point going for treatments if u r overweight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ocean6576 4th Gear August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 MRI is not a cure but instead the best way to have a detail image of showing any anomaly if any. This is the form of eliminating any forms aliments before proceeding to next course of treatment which sadly is also the case how western medicine practice their skills. Use all ways to eliminate and determine possibilities to identify the cause and root. I had an ALIF done a decade back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 (edited) thanks bro ingenius. any indication of the range of his charges? hundreds? thousands? the charges is about a thousand dollars each visit, plus medication about two over thousand. joking. about a hundred to two but there was years back when mcf wasnt even formed. my own case was also prolong and recurring lower back pain to the point whole week cannot get up bed, cannot have sex for half year, and no doctors could help. then when i went to him base on recommendation, i almost turned back when i reached there. at 8am there were like almost 100 people queuing liao. during the wait, i overheard patients from korea, japan , hongkong came here just to seee him. when i walked into his clinic even before i sit down, he could tell me what are the likely cause liao. and after diagnosis and x-ray, he was right. after a few visits, i was making hot love again and never went back. after that, a few of my friends with similiar problems, whom i recommended them to , they were cured also. good luck ! Edited August 13, 2011 by Ingenius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 13, 2011 Share August 13, 2011 a doctor once told me, she had a case of a patient bent the body brushing the teeth half way, then coughed, and injured the back. became paralysed. no joke hor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...