Keithchue 5th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 rant a bit, citibank jsut took $ from my saving account without my knowledge to clear my card debts. is this even legal???? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 ehhh... u owe them long time or big time? else i dun think they wan so drastic......but if they can sue u bankrupt, then i guess this is nothing lah..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 rant a bit, citibank jsut took $ from my saving account without my knowledge to clear my card debts. is this even legal???? While I've never had your issue, I've had tons of other issues with CB, pertaining to bad service. That's the bank I'm taking my AUD out from (as per another thread), because I'm fed up with them. IMO, they richly deserve those initials. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear October 4, 2011 Author Share October 4, 2011 i was told that the bank see deem fit that they can touch your account as they like. and i need to wait for them to call me back. anyone can advise if any form of redress can be done careful... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 Cancel your accounts and cards lor. I did that years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 i nvr keep any money in banks where i have cc except with local banks cos they wont dare due to strict mas regulations and enforcement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 i nvr keep any money in banks where i have cc except with local banks cos they wont dare due to strict mas regulations and enforcement uh? you mean those banks with QFB licence like Citibank and Standard Chartered will do this kind of things because they are not bounded by mas regulation and enuforcement? com'on~ go read up more before you comment.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 rant a bit, citibank jsut took $ from my saving account without my knowledge to clear my card debts. is this even legal???? there's probably a net-off clause when you signed up for your saving account or credit card account. in any case, it's your responsibility to read the terms and conditions. well, you can always cancel the account if you are unhappy with the services. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gukubird Neutral Newbie October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 Citibank has one of the worst customer service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 rant a bit, citibank jsut took $ from my saving account without my knowledge to clear my card debts. is this even legal???? to be frank, i don't know. but just a friendly advice to you, why not just clear your card's debts and stop using future money? credit cards' debts with high interest rate can kill. btw, you can choose to ignore my advice. cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 Wat? Owe $ Pay $ la, do you expect banks to b charitable organizations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VenomMX 4th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 rant a bit, citibank jsut took $ from my saving account without my knowledge to clear my card debts. is this even legal???? 100% legal.. Go read the fine print bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 Read the fine print when u sign up for any form of bank borrowing. Local banks also include the right to charge off your debts against your cash balances with them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 OT, If I have 20K with Bank A and 20K with Bank B. under the insurance act, only 20K is protected....does it apply to 20K per bank or as long as you have 100K with different banks combined, u still can claim only 20K? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 (edited) rant a bit, citibank jsut took $ from my saving account without my knowledge to clear my card debts. is this even legal???? yes, it is legal. the fact that you can drawn a loan from them means you must have signed a charge document somewhere. therefore they have legal right to take back what you owe them whenever they want to. extending the credit to you is at their discretion. owe money pay money, nothing wrong. Edited October 4, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 (edited) OT, If I have 20K with Bank A and 20K with Bank B. under the insurance act, only 20K is protected....does it apply to 20K per bank or as long as you have 100K with different banks combined, u still can claim only 20K? as i recall, it should be on per bank basis. so you can split $40k into 2 banks each $20k and you'll be covered. but thats as far as i can recall, i could be wrong(although rarely) getting old so dont count on it, Edited October 4, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear October 4, 2011 Share October 4, 2011 OT, If I have 20K with Bank A and 20K with Bank B. under the insurance act, only 20K is protected....does it apply to 20K per bank or as long as you have 100K with different banks combined, u still can claim only 20K? insurance act now is at $50k. yes $50k per bank as got banking secrecy act Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear October 5, 2011 Share October 5, 2011 our money is really shrinking real fast $1 can hardly buy anything nowadays sigh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...