Ronleech 2nd Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 inspection cert will valid for 3 months from the day of pass of inspection. from there renew road tax so can mob liao.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysportwish 1st Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 inspection does not take long.. now it is open for extended hours for STA (if I am right). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 then can just mod and ask LTA friendly workshop to send for inspection mah dun tink some owners of these 'friendly' workshops and equally 'friendly' inspectors feeling beri friendly in changi prison lately.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 Nope, cannot go inspection earlier before receiving ur notification letter. I called LTA and ask before liao. The lady on the phone say just wait for the notification letter first. W/O inspection cert, u cant renew ur road tax. Cannot pay earlier also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonjees 1st Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 dun tink some owners of these 'friendly' workshops and equally 'friendly' inspectors feeling beri friendly in changi prison lately.... at least they will be in the same cell? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 dun tink some owners of these 'friendly' workshops and equally 'friendly' inspectors feeling beri friendly in changi prison lately.... tio jail meh? i thought fine nia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 Hey Bros, Quick question, can i opt for early inspection if my inspection date is due on next year feb? Beside inspection, can i also renew my road tax at the same time after clearing the inspection? I understand that renewal of road tax has to have vaild insurance and must clear inspection, yes? Can inspect early...but cert is valid for 3 months only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jefkking Clutched November 8, 2011 Share November 8, 2011 (edited) For Inspeciton, LTA will mandatory send a letter to your attention of which will be 2 months from your current Road Tax expiring AND for renewal of Insurance, Insurance firm (s) only take in your case of which one (1) month prior to your current Insurance Policy expiry and hope it clear by now. Edited November 8, 2011 by Jefkking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Hi guys, just received the notification letter for my car's mandatory 3rd year inspection. Nothing illegal on my car, except for the windows, the front half (windscreen + 2 front sides) should be LTA approved, cos that's what I told the guy to do, and the back half is darker, but still can see in under normal conditions. But because my car is black/grey, the windows look darker than it really is. Should I remove the films before I go down to inspection or will they close one eye? Any help please? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Hi guys, just received the notification letter for my car's mandatory 3rd year inspection. Nothing illegal on my car, except for the windows, the front half (windscreen + 2 front sides) should be LTA approved, cos that's what I told the guy to do, and the back half is darker, but still can see in under normal conditions. But because my car is black/grey, the windows look darker than it really is. Should I remove the films before I go down to inspection or will they close one eye? Any help please? just go, if fail, remove it and go again. i think same centre and same day, they will not charge extra. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Hi guys, just received the notification letter for my car's mandatory 3rd year inspection. Nothing illegal on my car, except for the windows, the front half (windscreen + 2 front sides) should be LTA approved, cos that's what I told the guy to do, and the back half is darker, but still can see in under normal conditions. But because my car is black/grey, the windows look darker than it really is. Should I remove the films before I go down to inspection or will they close one eye? Any help please? If your tint is darker than normal, they will test with tint meter. If you are unsure, go back to your installer to get them to test your windows. Since you asked them to do LTA-friendly film, they should ensure you pass the inspection. For the film at rear windscreen, tearing it down will damage the demister if you are not careful/skillful. Not worth the risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 mine failed by 10% only, tear on the spot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Hi Bro, because my schedules will be very pack for next year. Insurance shouldn't be a issue as the contact only started last month october period. the validity and coverage is definitely more than 6 months. my inspection and road tax renewal is due next year feb which is like 3 months from now. so my initial tot is to go for early inspection, renewal of road tax. Inspection is done in a matter of mins. You so busy until no time for that ah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnyday76 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Hi all. Received letter from LTA regarding car inspection 2 weeks ago. So, yesterday evening went for my 5th year inspection + OPC bracket checking @Vicom, and place is like ghost town except for 1 more car behind me. Whole process takes about 5-10 mins only. Inspection cert is valid for 3 months e.g. my road tax ends on 1 Feb 2012, so the earliest I can go for my inspection is 1 Nov 2011 or when I receive the notification from LTA (whichever comes first). 2nd step is to renew your insurance. Once the above 2 steps are done, wait for LTA to send you your car road tax disc (unpaid) and bring disc to any Post Office to renew, bringing with you the inspection cert and your insurance cert. When you renew at Post Office, the counter staff will check their system online for your inspection and insurance details, so sometimes you don't have to produce these documents at all. Still, safer to just bring. Some folks might prefer to go for the car inspection only after they have received the notification for inspection + the road tax disc (unpaid). This is so because these guys prefer to renew their insurance first, then go to Vicom/STA to inspect, then immediately go to their counter to renew road tax at the same time (save an extra step of going elsewhere like Post Office to queue to renew road tax). As some of the bros here correctly pointed out, faster inspect faster clear this portion faster add more poison. Technically speaking, once you've cleared the car inspection, you can add watever potency of poison you want, then take your time to settle your insurance and road tax (since from now to Feb is still a difference of about 2 months or so). Of course, note that whatever poison u add now, next year no need worry, it's in your 7th year then you have to start worrying about un-poisoning your car for the 7th year inspection again. Hope this helps to clarify some doubts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Nothing illegal on my car, except for the windows, the front half (windscreen + 2 front sides) should be LTA approved, cos that's what I told the guy to do, and the back half is darker, but still can see in under normal conditions. But because my car is black/grey, the windows look darker than it really is. Should I remove the films before I go down to inspection or will they close one eye? Any help please? Hi Bro, Best to double confirm tat yr solar film is LTA approved type cos dey very very strict these days. Dun rely on normal sight to gauge, dey use a device to measure e % of light passing thru.....had to remove mine once on e spot cos not passed. Tink most inspection centres allow a 2nd free inspection if within same day. Some installer can remove e films and re-install them after inspection. If u remove dem yrself den dun tink possible to reuse. Best to install approved type so nt so laychey for every 2 yrs inspection after yr first 3rd yr. Safe ride Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Hi Bro, Best to double confirm tat yr solar film is LTA approved type cos dey very very strict these days. Dun rely on normal sight to gauge, dey use a device to measure e % of light passing thru.....had to remove mine once on e spot cos not passed. Tink most inspection centres allow a 2nd free inspection if within same day. Some installer can remove e films and re-install them after inspection. If u remove dem yrself den dun tink possible to reuse. Best to install approved type so nt so laychey for every 2 yrs inspection after yr first 3rd yr. Safe ride Cheers Bro, Thanks man. I think must remove lah, very heartpain cos spent S$200 to put and it's only 2mths ago! Don't know if go to new installers, they will help me take out and put back or not... Approved + good versions very expensive, I heard at least S$600?? Thanks anyway! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Yup, heartpain also no choice. If u keen, can pm u details of a gd installer who helped remove film on 2nd ride b4 inspection + gave me special price to install new ones....installing nxt wk. Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Yup, heartpain also no choice. If u keen, can pm u details of a gd installer who helped remove film on 2nd ride b4 inspection + gave me special price to install new ones....installing nxt wk. Cheers Yeah, please do man! Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...