Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 (edited) k, dun say i hao lian... just wanted to share how well is my engine maintained after using it for 5.5 yrs/180K+ km.... LOL Last week, I notice some oil stain at the car park and I suspect that my gasket leak... so I took a torch light and find the source.... true enough, i found some oil stain at the right side of my engine, near to the PCV valve... So I went to get a set of gasket for replacement... Comes to Sat, I proceed to my regular workshop and they are busy.... I told the boss what happened and upon checking, he confirmed that the gasket need to be replaced and he pass me a #10 spanner :huh: .... kns.. as usuall, he expect me to DIY cause his workshop is too crowded... bo pian wanted to finish thing fast, i got to dirty my hand. spend an hour to remove the plastic engine cover, unscrewed 12 nuts, loosed the PCV pipe, air hose, my strut bar.... and open my engine cover.... I was like.. wow.... so clean.... the brown colour stuff on the engines... just my engine oil. 1 wipe and i can see the engine in silver colour... no stain, nor varnish, not to even mentioned sludge.... closeup picture.. last but not least... my shinny timing chain I asked the boss whether need to open up further so that we can take this opportunity check whether a top overhaul need to be done- eg, polish/clean the valves and etc... the boss stare at me, pass me a bottle of petrol n asked me to drink it... caused he thinks i need to be overhauled rather than my engine...... . He told me that by the look at the enginetop, he confirm +chop chop no issue with my engine... and if I maintained it the same way, I can easily drive till 500K wihout needing any overhaul to my engine... after he finish his word, he passed me the #10 spanner and asked me to put everything back in 30mins... otherwise, he will charge me $10/min for occupying the space in his workshop... :huh: just a to share with members who wish to have a clean engine... get cheap mineral oil use it as engine flush by maintaining a short OCI... for me, those cheap mineral oil usually drained off after 1K to 2K ... Edited November 15, 2011 by Tigershark1976 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Thanks for sharing..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 more picture... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken1898 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Care to share which ride your driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fattychubby 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Bro, what car u driving.. pei fu pei fu.. well maintain car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 Care to share which ride your driving? just a vios bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 Bro, what car u driving.. pei fu pei fu.. well maintain car just a vios bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken1898 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Regular oil change it should be like this and well maintain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonjees 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Nicely maintained. So when are you going to post a guide here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 Nicely maintained. So when are you going to post a guide here? guide? u meant, how to replace the engine gasket?? my shifu also tell me this... "remove all the bolt u could find'.... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 k, dun say i hao lian... just wanted to share how well is my engine maintained after using it for 5.5 yrs/180K+ km.... LOL Last week, I notice some oil stain at the car park and I suspect that my gasket leak... so I took a torch light and find the source.... true enough, i found some oil stain at the right side of my engine, near to the PCV valve... So I went to get a set of gasket for replacement... Comes to Sat, I proceed to my regular workshop and they are busy.... I told the boss what happened and upon checking, he confirmed that the gasket need to be replaced and he pass me a #10 spanner :huh: .... kns.. as usuall, he expect me to DIY cause his workshop is too crowded... bo pian wanted to finish thing fast, i got to dirty my hand. spend an hour to remove the plastic engine cover, unscrewed 12 nuts, loosed the PCV pipe, air hose, my strut bar.... and open my engine cover.... I was like.. wow.... so clean.... the brown colour stuff on the engines... just my engine oil. 1 wipe and i can see the engine in silver colour... no stain, nor varnish, not to even mentioned sludge.... closeup picture.. last but not least... my shinny timing chain I asked the boss whether need to open up further so that we can take this opportunity check whether a top overhaul need to be done- eg, polish/clean the valves and etc... the boss stare at me, pass me a bottle of petrol n asked me to drink it... caused he thinks i need to be overhauled rather than my engine...... . He told me that by the look at the enginetop, he confirm +chop chop no issue with my engine... and if I maintained it the same way, I can easily drive till 500K wihout needing any overhaul to my engine... after he finish his word, he passed me the #10 spanner and asked me to put everything back in 30mins... otherwise, he will charge me $10/min for occupying the space in his workshop... :huh: just a to share with members who wish to have a clean engine... get cheap mineral oil use it as engine flush by maintaining a short OCI... for me, those cheap mineral oil usually drained off after 1K to 2K ... Are your cams stock bro or changed to high lift ones? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 Are your cams stock bro or changed to high lift ones? its all stock bro.. this is the 1st time i opened it up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 its all stock bro.. this is the 1st time i opened it up. Nice pictures and surprisingly looks very clean and golden in colour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 k, dun say i hao lian... just wanted to share how well is my engine maintained after using it for 5.5 yrs/180K+ km.... LOL Last week, I notice some oil stain at the car park and I suspect that my gasket leak... so I took a torch light and find the source.... true enough, i found some oil stain at the right side of my engine, near to the PCV valve... So I went to get a set of gasket for replacement... Comes to Sat, I proceed to my regular workshop and they are busy.... I told the boss what happened and upon checking, he confirmed that the gasket need to be replaced and he pass me a #10 spanner :huh: .... kns.. as usuall, he expect me to DIY cause his workshop is too crowded... bo pian wanted to finish thing fast, i got to dirty my hand. spend an hour to remove the plastic engine cover, unscrewed 12 nuts, loosed the PCV pipe, air hose, my strut bar.... and open my engine cover.... I was like.. wow.... so clean.... the brown colour stuff on the engines... just my engine oil. 1 wipe and i can see the engine in silver colour... no stain, nor varnish, not to even mentioned sludge.... closeup picture.. last but not least... my shinny timing chain I asked the boss whether need to open up further so that we can take this opportunity check whether a top overhaul need to be done- eg, polish/clean the valves and etc... the boss stare at me, pass me a bottle of petrol n asked me to drink it... caused he thinks i need to be overhauled rather than my engine...... . He told me that by the look at the enginetop, he confirm +chop chop no issue with my engine... and if I maintained it the same way, I can easily drive till 500K wihout needing any overhaul to my engine... after he finish his word, he passed me the #10 spanner and asked me to put everything back in 30mins... otherwise, he will charge me $10/min for occupying the space in his workshop... :huh: just a to share with members who wish to have a clean engine... get cheap mineral oil use it as engine flush by maintaining a short OCI... for me, those cheap mineral oil usually drained off after 1K to 2K ... Bro, u mineral oci every 5k? Nvr used full syn at all? Very well maintained; so dismisses many claim of usin better oils? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 Bro, u mineral oci every 5k? Nvr used full syn at all? Very well maintained; so dismisses many claim of usin better oils? no lah, I use fully syn.. but after every 20K (2 oil change), i will use cheap mineral oil to flush my engine... I will use the mineral oil for 1 to 2k and drain it off... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 Nice pictures and surprisingly looks very clean and golden in colour. the golden colour is the oil, at 1st I tot its some light varnish/ oil stain. could be wiped off easily using my finger... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 the golden colour is the oil, at 1st I tot its some light varnish/ oil stain. could be wiped off easily using my finger... Yap, you mentioned and its so shiny, even the timing chain, thats what i would call a beautiful engine. with good FC and mileage with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 its all stock bro.. this is the 1st time i opened it up. Thought you changed to high-lift ones from Dylan. Impressive condition of the engine u got there nevertheless! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...