2009k Neutral Newbie November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 After driving for many years on the road, I think Singaporeans have some nasty driving habit that we can do without. One of those nasty driving habit is unwillingness to allow other road users to filter into their lane. Once I was trying to filter left at Jurong Town Hall road to enter into AYE (towards town). The vehicle (lorry) on the left refuse to allow me in (I signal to filter very early but he just kept up with the pace and not allow me in). Initially I was thinking "ok, he must be thinking why should he let me in as he is also going towards the same path. Fine, I'll slow down and try to filter in after him (which I eventually did)." Guess what? He was not going to AYE, instead he was going straight towards Pandan/Teban west coast highway! Was it necessary for him to block me when I'm heading away from his route? If I was heading towards Pandan, I could just stick to my lane and not filter left. Wonder why such unfriendly driving habit... Sometimes also kena from SBS buses... I think if most can be a little friendlier on the road, there will be less anger, less accident and smoother traffic... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 ego at work.. live n let live.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 its the lifestyle PAP made lifestyle everyone is insecure,angry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchoo Neutral Newbie November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 And then there are the people who do not indicate when they change lanes. those just pisses people off and is so very dangerous!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 Real life stresses manifest themselves in nasty driving habits. The list of nasty habits could fill a book. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie November 28, 2011 Author Share November 28, 2011 I live and let live lah, just wanted to chit chat on this cos I wonder what others kena if any or just me so suah kena lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 And then there are the people who do not indicate when they change lanes. those just pisses people off and is so very dangerous!! Signalling your intentions is also signalling the other guy to block you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie November 28, 2011 Author Share November 28, 2011 And then there are the people who do not indicate when they change lanes. those just pisses people off and is so very dangerous!! At normal roads and if taxi I can understand sometimes they just stop cos have to pick up customers so no choice lah. But on expressway lots of cars like to save on the signal bulbs... Maybe moving the finger to the the signal switch burns lots of calories so they trying to maintain their energy level... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 I live and let live lah, just wanted to chit chat on this cos I wonder what others kena if any or just me so suah kena lah... Anyone would kena ifthe drive. Worse than don't give way are those who speed up to block you, or those who can safely / comfortably filter behind you but must die die speed up to cut in front of you, or those who horn you the millisecond the lights turn green. Really endless possibilities. Sometimes I tulan will also choot some patterns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 After driving for many years on the road, I think Singaporeans have some nasty driving habit that we can do without. One of those nasty driving habit is unwillingness to allow other road users to filter into their lane. Once I was trying to filter left at Jurong Town Hall road to enter into AYE (towards town). The vehicle (lorry) on the left refuse to allow me in (I signal to filter very early but he just kept up with the pace and not allow me in). Initially I was thinking "ok, he must be thinking why should he let me in as he is also going towards the same path. Fine, I'll slow down and try to filter in after him (which I eventually did)." Guess what? He was not going to AYE, instead he was going straight towards Pandan/Teban west coast highway! Was it necessary for him to block me when I'm heading away from his route? If I was heading towards Pandan, I could just stick to my lane and not filter left. Wonder why such unfriendly driving habit... Sometimes also kena from SBS buses... I think if most can be a little friendlier on the road, there will be less anger, less accident and smoother traffic... In Asia with asians driving on the road, your kind of encounter is too common, the only explanation is Selfishness. Let's talk about certain extreme habits that happened, I was driving along a narrow 2-way traffic in Suzhou China and the car infront stopped in the middle of the road for 5 minutes just to chat with his friend in the opposite lane, I'm certain the blocking took full 5 minutes because my wife just asked me what time can we reach the factory and I was looking at the car clock for timing estimates just before the complete stop ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 Signalling your intentions is also signalling the other guy to block you at times when u slow down giving way to driver who shown intention with left, or right turning signals, & u jz find them going straight "bo hue bo lan" abt their signals Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 And then there are the people who do not indicate when they change lanes. those just pisses people off and is so very dangerous!! I always make it a point to signal when changing lanes and filtering in/out. The first time I drove my car, nobody wanted to give way when I signalled early, all like to accelerate when they see me signal. So now, I make my intention known after making the necessary safe procedures (i.e. 1 to 2 car distances depending on traffic and speed). I don't signal first, I eat a little into their lanes, THEN signal. Filtering out/in, I will just move along and see who will give way until boh bian, I will eat into the lane at the Chevron/Island markings. I kena too many times liao. And I always give way to people who signal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie November 28, 2011 Author Share November 28, 2011 (edited) Anyone would kena ifthe drive. Worse than don't give way are those who speed up to block you, or those who can safely / comfortably filter behind you but must die die speed up to cut in front of you, or those who horn you the millisecond the lights turn green. Really endless possibilities. Sometimes I tulan will also choot some patterns. I do horn people if they never react to the traffic light. I'll wait a while but for some lanes I horn rightaway. Left most lane on Victoria street turning into Middle road, at that junction there is a turn left arrow (on red) that will facilitate vehicles as pedestrian crossing will hold up the traffic. Yet most of the time, vehicles on the left most lane just stood there when it's red light. I can understand if you are going straight on the second lane, but the left most lane is for buses or left turn... Worse thing is after you horn they don't move, then when the light turn green, they turn left and wait for pedestrian to cross... Edited November 28, 2011 by 2009k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie November 28, 2011 Author Share November 28, 2011 In Asia with asians driving on the road, your kind of encounter is too common, the only explanation is Selfishness. Let's talk about certain extreme habits that happened, I was driving along a narrow 2-way traffic in Suzhou China and the car infront stopped in the middle of the road for 5 minutes just to chat with his friend in the opposite lane, I'm certain the blocking took full 5 minutes because my wife just asked me what time can we reach the factory and I was looking at the car clock for timing estimates just before the complete stop ! This one I encountered in Singapore hor. Whole 2 lane road jammed up. Then slowly crawl till I move in front only to realize that it was because a Camry was parked at the left lane after a bus stop before a left turn into carpark. Buses have to cut right to get on with their journey, right lane kena jam up... The Camry could have just turn left into the carpark and wait there lah... Very inconsiderate... Best is that the Camry never even on hazard light... Nobody in the car also... Biggest winner... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 Anyone would kena ifthe drive. Worse than don't give way are those who speed up to block you, or those who can safely / comfortably filter behind you but must die die speed up to cut in front of you, or those who horn you the millisecond the lights turn green. Really endless possibilities. Sometimes I tulan will also choot some patterns. you young mah tats why insurance high Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 This one I encountered in Singapore hor. Whole 2 lane road jammed up. Then slowly crawl till I move in front only to realize that it was because a Camry was parked at the left lane after a bus stop before a left turn into carpark. Buses have to cut right to get on with their journey, right lane kena jam up... The Camry could have just turn left into the carpark and wait there lah... Very inconsiderate... Best is that the Camry never even on hazard light... Nobody in the car also... Biggest winner... Well, like I've said in Asia, keep thinking what's wrong with these inconsiderate driver's but to accept the only reason that could due to the hot climate that affect the minds to behave otherwise ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 Well, like I've said in Asia, keep thinking what's wrong with these inconsiderate driver's but to accept the only reason that could due to the hot climate that affect the minds to behave otherwise ??? dont we hav aircon? but upkeep costs [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberstamp Neutral Newbie November 28, 2011 Share November 28, 2011 In Asia with asians driving on the road, your kind of encounter is too common, the only explanation is Selfishness. Let's talk about certain extreme habits that happened, I was driving along a narrow 2-way traffic in Suzhou China and the car infront stopped in the middle of the road for 5 minutes just to chat with his friend in the opposite lane, I'm certain the blocking took full 5 minutes because my wife just asked me what time can we reach the factory and I was looking at the car clock for timing estimates just before the complete stop ! you are full of b-------t ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...