AshenShugar Neutral Newbie December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 The problem with IT is that you go obsolete really fast. Really got to have the passion to keep yourself up to date even in certifications. I suppose he needs to 'renew' some of his certs almost every year continuously until he can't take it anymore. Yup he is still on courses all the time...I am very proud of him...we used to do hardcore MMORPG gaming together and he was such a bum...till he met his wife. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 If you are a Singaporean, congrats! You can only give up your citizenship after 21 years of age; that is after you'd served the army. Yea, after i finish my NS then i go I plan on giving up my citizenship after my studies in either the UK or the US *Stamford Uni* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Yup he is still on courses all the time...I am very proud of him...we used to do hardcore MMORPG gaming together and he was such a bum...till he met his wife. Not sian to be on courses every time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 obviously adam does not know what he wants to do. did master for the sake of the degree and thought can get a job with master's pay easily. he should be applying for jobs requiring such qualification. else he should apply for degree job using his degree qualification. and if degree also some chapalong one, then apply for o/a level jobs using his o/a level cert and get paid accordingly. in a nutshell, the job has to match field of study, else downgrade the qualification to match. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Yea, after i finish my NS then i go I plan on giving up my citizenship after my studies in either the UK or the US *Stamford Uni* I plan to give up my citizenship and retire in China... wonder how to get to be a Chinese citizen.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Yup he is still on courses all the time...I am very proud of him...we used to do hardcore MMORPG gaming together and he was such a bum...till he met his wife. That's why I say passion. Hopefully he keeps his passion till retirement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 I plan to give up my citizenship and retire in China... wonder how to get to be a Chinese citizen.... zz u see so mayn china people as FT in singapore not sian liao meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 You see, that's a propaganda . That's one of the reason why young people that I speak to have a very unrealistic understanding of the environment well.. most HR ppl i speak to, always response "we will pay according to ur education level" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 I plan to give up my citizenship and retire in China... wonder how to get to be a Chinese citizen.... My cousin work in Shanghai for 15 yrs for Apple, i ask him can he convert to PR or citizenship since working in china for so many yr as an expat, he say no way the govt will allow that to happen, its very very hard to convert to PRC citizen, they only take in those super talent that can contribute to the country development. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 zz u see so mayn china people as FT in singapore not sian liao meh In China where there's 1.3bil Chinese, the place is less crowded and friendlier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 well.. most HR ppl i speak to, always response "we will pay according to ur education level" Those are only words , I want real dollar bills Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 (edited) ok why master degree holders find it harder to find jobs, my observation, might not be accurate :- 1) the company they went for interview only have budget for a normal degree holder and most master degree holders asking price is too high ** many ppl tot master can help them secure better job opportunities..this is provided that you r at managerial level and above... If you below it, strongly suggest you dun go for it but build up your credentials. 2) the superior, the master degree interviewee be working under, felt threaten of his qualification. maybe but Master degree esp MBA is required for jobs that required good writing skills and able to articulate the idea across to mgt team.. Actually if you are able to write and present your idea, there is no need for a Master degree.. 3) most company not willing to offer a normal degree job to a master degree holder even if the interviewee is ok with the pay, as they worry the guy will jump ship very fast, waste time training. unless you r cheap then they consider esp FTs... Edited December 7, 2011 by Cars08 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AshenShugar Neutral Newbie December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 That's why I say passion. Hopefully he keeps his passion till retirement Its the power of love. His wife married him when he was still in the army pending resignation with nothing to his name....and he made good his promises to work hard to provide her a good life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Its the power of love. His wife married him when he was still in the army pending resignation with nothing to his name....and he made good his promises to work hard to provide her a good life. all boil down to attitude and passion , it shows in the way you talk and even your eyes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 ok why master degree holders find it harder to find jobs, my observation, might not be accurate :- 1) the company they went for interview only have budget for a normal degree holder and most master degree holders asking price is too high 2) the superior, the master degree interviewee be working under, felt threaten of his qualification. 3) most company not willing to offer a normal degree job to a master degree holder even if the interviewee is ok with the pay, as they worry the guy will jump ship very fast, waste time training. Agree, thats what I heard from my friend in from HR industry. Another thing is that in most companies, master degree will be needed/advantageous for senior positions and such positions don't usually take in fresh/little experience master degree holders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 (edited) SIA not fun one, was looking at Boeing Inc. as my uncle is already a citizen of US and a taxi company CEO in California, so should be alright to get a US Citizenship Was thinking of this few companies: -Airbus -Boeing -MD -Rolls Royce Aerospace he no longer with SIA, not sure who is he with now, the company services SIA planes though. Iirc, trainee with "o" level cert the pay quite low than, was like 1.5k 17 years ago and contracted for 5 years, he asked me to join him than but i did not. now i see his peers, just normal technician also earning around 5-6k with at least 3 months bonus. damn shoik. every year got free tix to travel anywhere some more. Edited December 7, 2011 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 (edited) Agree, thats what I heard from my friend in from HR industry. Another thing is that in most companies, master degree will be needed/advantageous for senior positions and such positions don't usually take in fresh/little experience master degree holders. If u fresh n got very good master...garmen will sure take u in...bcos u can study mah... but in pte banking if u really good n spotted by big banks...they will offer u & very bright career..jus make sure u can study n can work type...but in garmen..u cannot work still ok as u hv a good master...facts of life... Edited December 7, 2011 by Cars08 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Master in Literature do what one ah? Write scripts for opera?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...