Sabbie Clutched December 7, 2011 Author Share December 7, 2011 so you think you are a talent? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightsky 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 so you think you are a talent? The question is.. does Lockheed Martin think he is? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 7, 2011 Author Share December 7, 2011 The question is.. does Lockheed Martin think he is? Haha, who knows, maybe a few years later, he will cum here haolian that he is..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightsky 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Haha, who knows, maybe a few years later, he will cum here haolian that he is..... Maybe, but in the meantime Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Haha, who knows, maybe a few years later, he will cum here haolian that he is..... dont need lockheed martin la... ask him support our local DTC can liaos Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 (edited) http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/feat...50_resumes.html No need to study so much, and better study the right thing, and think of what you want to do before you study.....I have invited I have invited him to join me as an insurance agent.....4 O levels qualify leow... Must see what kind of Masters degree lah... in Literature, what for? Worse, in Singapore... Can only be teacher or lecturer, limited positions available. At least if it's a technical Masters degree like in the Sciences or Engineering... still got some demand. There some misconception about professional library job... it needs special qualification as well, so irrelevant degree will find it quite difficult to join. As for the other jobs that this guy tried to apply... he's overqualified. One avenue he can try is to go for part-time lecturing position, or private tutor, or take up a job with those private tuition centres. He just doesn't know where to dig for opportunities. Edited December 7, 2011 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Qualification helps a lot...only if it contributes to one's job expertise. Let me cite one good example. I have this friend who is 29 this yr. He had only N level to begin with. He joined the Army after enlistment and was a regular for many years till he left the army at 26 years old. After that...he took all kinds of IT related courses you can think of...he's fully certified in ALL Microsoft/Cisco/and-what-have-you courses. Today he's earning 5k a month. Like I told him many a times, he should be proud of himself and I am sure his wife is proud of him too. Many of his peers with degree in IT don't earn that much too. IT industry is talking mostly on skillsets and inter-personnal communication skills. Most importantly is how fast you can solve a problem. Just like a farmer or hawker, they don't need a degree to learn how to grow crops or cook food that draws crowds yet can earn. Regret to say, our mindset here had been tuned to the elite thinking, no cert you're condemmed, so all go for the paper chase. Most if not all are academic smart, but without skills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 I suppose u r rite, IT is a constantly changing subject/core, ie if ur qualification is 3 years old, what u learn during then must be a lot different from what is the IT today You're right, in a 4-5 years IT degree programme, by the time you reach the 3rd year, what you study in the 1st year is already obselete. CISCO certifications on average got to renew every 3 years, some 2 years. Microsoft certs used to follow the EOL of their products like MCSE, but now they seem to follow the industry practice of having a 2-3 years lifespan before you need to renew. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Not HOD but he is about 40 now....so about 13 years in this line.... yes, is true. Just normal classroom teacher. My wife is a teacher for about 13 years. My pay always lags behind her until I start my own business 2 years ago. And I got honours degree from NTU some more. She just a normal degree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 i know someone who is the head of engineering for a company that repairs air planes. he is not even a degree holder. if not wrong he only have "o" levels, after NS he signed on trainee with SIA and he works from there till now, almost 20 years in this trade. he is drawing almost 11k. This is common if you joined SIAEC more than 20yrs ago. O lvl and Dip go for course in company untill become LAE, easily can draw 7k. Now...1 word..suxxx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Must see what kind of Masters degree lah... in Literature, what for? Worse, in Singapore... Can only be teacher or lecturer, limited positions available. At least if it's a technical Masters degree like in the Sciences or Engineering... still got some demand. There some misconception about professional library job... it needs special qualification as well, so irrelevant degree will find it quite difficult to join. As for the other jobs that this guy tried to apply... he's overqualified. One avenue he can try is to go for part-time lecturing position, or private tutor, or take up a job with those private tuition centres. He just doesn't know where to dig for opportunities. I heard that MSc is no longer as lakgu as MEng nowadays. Might as well go for MBA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 IT industry is talking mostly on skillsets and inter-personnal communication skills. Most importantly is how fast you can solve a problem. Just like a farmer or hawker, they don't need a degree to learn how to grow crops or cook food that draws crowds yet can earn. Regret to say, our mindset here had been tuned to the elite thinking, no cert you're condemmed, so all go for the paper chase. Most if not all are academic smart, but without skills. Hmm.. i tot not only IT industry u need those skills mentioned...Well, if you are working in a corporate world and as u advance in your career..u do more managing and skill set will only supplement n tell others what you know but will not 100% useful... U need to hv good presentation skill n able to put your pt n gain buy in... this type of skill not easily replace.. but those certifications, ultimately someone with more will replace u easily.. in short it voice down to how u want to carve out a niche for urself in this ever changing environment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 i know someone who is the head of engineering for a company that repairs air planes. he is not even a degree holder. if not wrong he only have "o" levels, after NS he signed on trainee with SIA and he works from there till now, almost 20 years in this trade. he is drawing almost 11k. This is the main difference between working in a kachang puteh company for 20 yrs and a reputable big company for 20 yrs. Dun get conned in drawing higher pay in a small company. Look and aim far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 7, 2011 Author Share December 7, 2011 Yeah,I think he did not think about the right fit of jobs when he did his masters, or simply did not apply for the right jobs, of cos a1 also sensationalized the news with a caption like that, this type may be useful in the arts/drama/media industry or else teaching Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 7, 2011 Author Share December 7, 2011 This is the main difference between working in a kachang puteh company for 20 yrs and a reputable big company for 20 yrs. Dun get conned in drawing higher pay in a small company. Look and aim far. Don't think it is easy surviving in a mnc too, alot of stress and not much work life balance if you want to make it big, he competition is keen and one wrong move you are out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 agree with u IT not only IT itself there's many range in IT...even my ex colleagues teaching MBAs or specialised courses, they not a overall person like a programmer can be server person? can a security person be a framework architect? even programmer also got a few languages to learn... must see what kind of IT are they in... even do a corporate website, need a group of people,to look after..from design to usage etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 7, 2011 Author Share December 7, 2011 yes, is true. Just normal classroom teacher. My wife is a teacher for about 13 years. My pay always lags behind her until I start my own business 2 years ago. And I got honours degree from NTU some more. She just a normal degree Ya sabbie always speak the truth, actually being a teacher is not that bad except for marking and tutorials and a steel rice bowl, so what biz you doing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 (edited) Ya sabbie always speak the truth, actually being a teacher is not that bad except for marking and tutorials and a steel rice bowl, so what biz you doing? U think so easy meh, sat and sun stuck at home marking pieces of homework, Monday-Friday Teach and scold students, still must give student supplementary lessons etc etc after work still must mark Worksheets/Workbooks etc....Student go for holiday, teacher bzi prepare student stuff for next year... almost no free time one Edited December 7, 2011 by I-LOVE-CARS ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...