Puiru 2nd Gear March 3, 2016 Share March 3, 2016 I have not test drive XV yet. But base on website, I also think QQ looks nicer, bigger, more rugged. But I kind of like the interior of XV (base on website 360 look). I like what I read about AWD. Think it might give a better, comfort ride. My advise is please visit the showroom to look and feel the cars before you comment. My friends and I totally changed our impressions after visiting Subaru and Nissan. QQ interior and boot size are smaller than XV. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged March 3, 2016 Share March 3, 2016 My advise is please visit the showroom to look and feel the cars before you comment. My friends and I totally changed our impressions after visiting Subaru and Nissan. QQ interior and boot size are smaller than XV.Not only that, qq less comfy at the rear due to lesser headroom n smaller view outside. But qq pickup fr standstill is faster than xv. Surprisingly, the more spartan design of xv grows on me, whereas the modern design of qq doesnt impact me as much after a while. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged March 3, 2016 Share March 3, 2016 Wanna buy buy la. We human beings always bias once we like a car. We will criticise the other choice and praise the one we "desire or can only afford".. Haiz.. Be happy. You like the QQ get the QQ. U like the XV get the XV. Stop lamenting. Coz both cars can't be compared to the Macan. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flanforever 1st Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 With CEVS, still more expensive than XV. How is the OMV value of QQ? XV: $17,973 QQ:$18,456 according to sgcarmart. QQ Roadtax is ~$250 cheaper thou. Wanna buy buy la. We human beings always bias once we like a car. We will criticise the other choice and praise the one we "desire or can only afford".. Haiz.. Be happy. You like the QQ get the QQ. U like the XV get the XV. Stop lamenting. Coz both cars can't be compared to the Macan. There's got to be pros and cons for each car. You are spending 100k on a car, won't hurt if you do a bit of research and hear from others. Not everyone rich like you...want to buy then can buy...we can't afford to buy every car we like :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 XV: $17,973 QQ:$18,456 according to sgcarmart. QQ Roadtax is ~$250 cheaper thou. There's got to be pros and cons for each car. You are spending 100k on a car, won't hurt if you do a bit of research and hear from others. Not everyone rich like you...want to buy then can buy...we can't afford to buy every car we like :) COE for both cars same same la.ARF also.one have CEV the other don't. I wish I could own a Macan. It's just that the 2 most important ladies in the household. One drives a QQ the other just got an XV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jg2000 4th Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 (edited) Anyone change the mind from Qashqai to XV? I was eyeing Qashqai 1.2. But the more I read here about XV, I start to have a change in mind. I compared both and decided on XV. Both have plus and minus. In the end, my personal reasons for why XV are: - XV made in Japan whereas QQ made in England and with French-made engine. Feel more chance of better reliability with Japan made. - Also XV is almost all factory installed with minimal local installation unlike QQ where HU is local installed and seems from QQ forum, it end up somehow impact engine ECU (cause engine no power) and panel noises due to poor local workmanship etc - QQ rear seat too upright - not comfortable for me. XV just nice. Seat comfort very important to me as that is main interface to car - XV very smooth boxer engine/CVT combination (can't tell you have accelerated to speed limit unless look at speedometer) - XV better all round visibility (due to car bonnet taper downwards so car bonnet don't block road view, and bigger windows all round plus side mirror not attached to A pillar and so does not cause blockage of view) - XV nicer driving feel due to its AWD, better suspension (similar setup as most higher-end cars or sports cars - MacPherson strut and Double wishbone whereas QQ is using basic Torsion beam in the rear) and low CG due to its boxer engine. Edited March 4, 2016 by jg2000 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruennchai 1st Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Hi all, Just to share some of my recent purchase from taobao. cabin air filter RMB21 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=38865291472&toSite=main&skuId=88113112641 engine air filter RMB27 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=38616548709&toSite=main&skuId=3101544879941 front wiper rubber RMB18 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=35877362142&toSite=main&sku_properties=21433:10122 This is my second purchase, very satisfied with my first purchase, can't tell/feel the difference from the original one. I also bought brakepad from AE subaru (malaysia, find it in facebook), akebono japan brand, front brake pad RM160 plus shipping is RM185 (to JB). Just changed, can't tell the difference from original too (which cost SGD2++ !!!!) for those who look for XV accessories, you can find a lot of good deal from taobao also, such as https://sibalu8.world.taobao.com/shop/view_shop.htm?spm=a1z0k.7630242.1997989141.d4915209.1Zu6D1&shop_id=62403780 Just to share~~ enjoy! my XV's mileage is 138xxx km now...! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shuseido 1st Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Hi all, Just to share some of my recent purchase from taobao. cabin air filter RMB21 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=38865291472&toSite=main&skuId=88113112641 engine air filter RMB27 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=38616548709&toSite=main&skuId=3101544879941 front wiper rubber RMB18 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=35877362142&toSite=main&sku_properties=21433:10122 This is my second purchase, very satisfied with my first purchase, can't tell/feel the difference from the original one. I also bought brakepad from AE subaru (malaysia, find it in facebook), akebono japan brand, front brake pad RM160 plus shipping is RM185 (to JB). Just changed, can't tell the difference from original too (which cost SGD2++ !!!!) for those who look for XV accessories, you can find a lot of good deal from taobao also, such as https://sibalu8.world.taobao.com/shop/view_shop.htm?spm=a1z0k.7630242.1997989141.d4915209.1Zu6D1&shop_id=62403780 Just to share~~ enjoy! my XV's mileage is 138xxx km now...! Sound like good deal... Btw, you engaged technician outside to install for you? If yes, what is the labour cost? Also, does changing all these parts void the warranty? Thanks in advance! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
milynot 1st Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Test drove XV today at Leng Kee showroom. The ride is definitely smoother, comfortable, better feel from the steering wheel. Turning is also better. Interior layout looks good to me. However, it has more plastic feel than QQ. The SE ask me to consider Forester I-L since I come with a QQ budget (QQ is 101,988), which is not too far way. XV is 98,800, IL is 107,800, only 9K difference. The 9K difference will get you a bigger, more spacious car at 2.0L, sunroof, HID lamps, electric seats for two front seats, spare tire (xv, like QQ 1.2, got no spare tire), etc. Is it worth the 9K upgrade? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 (edited) Test drove XV today at Leng Kee showroom. The ride is definitely smoother, comfortable, better feel from the steering wheel. Turning is also better. Interior layout looks good to me. However, it has more plastic feel than QQ. The SE ask me to consider Forester I-L since I come with a QQ budget (QQ is 101,988), which is not too far way. XV is 98,800, IL is 107,800, only 9K difference. The 9K difference will get you a bigger, more spacious car at 2.0L, sunroof, HID lamps, electric seats for two front seats, spare tire (xv, like QQ 1.2, got no spare tire), etc. Is it worth the 9K upgrade? If you can afford the price different and expect a slightly higher maintenance cost. Definitely worth the upgrade. Go and test drive the Forester, see whether you like it. Edited March 4, 2016 by Tohto 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puiru 2nd Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Test drove XV today at Leng Kee showroom. The ride is definitely smoother, comfortable, better feel from the steering wheel. Turning is also better. Interior layout looks good to me. However, it has more plastic feel than QQ. The SE ask me to consider Forester I-L since I come with a QQ budget (QQ is 101,988), which is not too far way. XV is 98,800, IL is 107,800, only 9K difference. The 9K difference will get you a bigger, more spacious car at 2.0L, sunroof, HID lamps, electric seats for two front seats, spare tire (xv, like QQ 1.2, got no spare tire), etc. Is it worth the 9K upgrade? Even if u can afford, you need to consider why need a bigger car and CC. Salesman will always ask you to buy something bigger and better. They need to meet numbers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 LOL... why not upgrade to XT, just another 9K niah... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roadhogger 2nd Gear March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Price increase 1k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 While you at it go next door see the mini! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shoelevy 2nd Gear March 5, 2016 Share March 5, 2016 (edited) Anyone change the mind from Qashqai to XV? I was eyeing Qashqai 1.2. But the more I read here about XV, I start to have a change in mind. me and wife! biggest problem with QQ1.2 is it's a renault engine...my family have bad experience with french reliability, the interior space also obviously smaller than xv. the car only looks bigger because it's taller (i know cos my carpark got QQ and i parked beside once and could compare) that said, the turbo quite shiok. i test drove w 5 passengers and the pick up no problem. Edited March 5, 2016 by Shoelevy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klchua 1st Gear March 5, 2016 Share March 5, 2016 How is the pick up for 1.6 XV?? able to keep up with expressway traffic if merging from the side? Thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vwguy77 3rd Gear March 6, 2016 Share March 6, 2016 Manage to test drive Subaru XV yesterday. It was an uphill task for me to bring my OC there as she never has a good impression about the Subaru (you know... the whole ah beng thing). I just drove across from VW showroom and say lets check it out. Oh... and she gave me the "look". Anyway, things totally changed when we went stepped in the showroom. She was absolutely impressed by the design, features and (best of all) the price of all models. Heng ah.... I had my eyes set on XV few months ago as it has almost everything that I look for in a crossover. The rugged look, good ride hide, spacious interior, integrated touch screen entertainment, decent FC, made in Japan.... And I have to say the test drive did not disappoint me a single bit! The engine and road noise is minimal. The handling is solid and the view from both side mirrors are covers a good range. In short, it ticks almost all boxes! I wish it does have sunroof, electric seats and bigger boot size. I know I can get those in Forester but that car is just too darn big for me. The XV currently sits at the top of my shopping list for that price range and the HRV (aka Vezel) is a distance 2nd now... I just need to tahan a bit more until my trusty ol Jazz ends next June. Or COE drops to $20K .... Or tio TOTO 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shoelevy 2nd Gear March 6, 2016 Share March 6, 2016 (edited) Hi all, Just to share some of my recent purchase from taobao. cabin air filter RMB21 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=38865291472&toSite=main&skuId=88113112641 engine air filter RMB27 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=38616548709&toSite=main&skuId=3101544879941 front wiper rubber RMB18 buy 2 free 1 https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=35877362142&toSite=main&sku_properties=21433:10122 This is my second purchase, very satisfied with my first purchase, can't tell/feel the difference from the original one. I also bought brakepad from AE subaru (malaysia, find it in facebook), akebono japan brand, front brake pad RM160 plus shipping is RM185 (to JB). Just changed, can't tell the difference from original too (which cost SGD2++ !!!!) for those who look for XV accessories, you can find a lot of good deal from taobao also, such as https://sibalu8.world.taobao.com/shop/view_shop.htm?spm=a1z0k.7630242.1997989141.d4915209.1Zu6D1&shop_id=62403780 Just to share~~ enjoy! my XV's mileage is 138xxx km now...! Wanna share my recent replacement of the stock wiper blade with silicone ones. I don't have good experience with rubber wipers durability...streaks after 6-12 months. Did a bit of research online and got convinced on trying out silicone ones (heat and uv resistant) and autobac sells the refill blades from PIAA Japan. Long story short, just pull the old wiper blade out, retain the stock wiper metal strip and slide the refill wiper blade back in. It Is important to retain the stock wiper metal strip for clean swipe (metal strip that comes with the new blade is too flimsy). No need to throw the whole wiper frame which is so wasteful. Will need one wiper blade for right side, then cut a long refill for left and rear wipers. Hopefully, will last long and good like what ppl claim online, 2-5 years. Edited March 6, 2016 by Shoelevy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...