Good To Seek 2nd Opinion On Terminal Illness...

Vulcann

Two interesting and related articles on hospital care in ST Forum which may affect folks like you & me.

My take is that it

Brain infection is not easy to diagnose sometimes and scan findings can be similar to invasive brain tumors.

Brain biopsy is a moderate to high risk procedure given the medical state of the patient.

The doctors ruled out a second opinion because medical treatment would be similar anywhere else as it would be based on the same data.

More likely the doctors say its most likely the same diagnosis that will be the outcome of the available data. Doctors don't usually stop patients from 2nd opinions.

Well it was true, until the brain biopsy was done. No one could say otherwise.

If the patient died during the brain biopsy, there will also be another forum letter. That's the way life goes in the medical profession -_-

I thought lumbar puncture is simple to do and the NNI doctor did it anyway. How you explain that?

Stupid CGH wrote off a patient like that. Could be anyone of our own mothers.

You doctors fark lah..

playing with ppl's life just becos it ain't your own..

still dare to make money from such acts...

Most pf the time just guessing this and that..

got no farking clue as to what is really wrong and what are the root causes...

it really makes me wonder the stupidity of most ppl ..

PAYING ppl like you to fark around with their bodies... :D

I thought lumbar puncture is simple to do and the NNI doctor did it anyway. How you explain that?

Stupid CGH wrote off a patient like that. Could be anyone of our own mothers.

LP is fairly straight forward. They said they proceeded later when the condition of the patient is better.

I don't have all the details. I wouldn't comment. Clinical opinion is subjective.

I believe all the neurology consult from the start are from NNI doctors as stated. But the management of the patient in CGH would be under CGH's medical team.

You doctors fark lah..

playing with ppl's life just becos it ain't your own..

still dare to make money from such acts...

Most pf the time just guessing this and that..

got no farking clue as to what is really wrong and what are the root causes...

it really makes me wonder the stupidity of most ppl ..

PAYING ppl like you to fark around with their bodies... :D

You go be your own internet doctor lah, internet troll. :D

i will be very afraid going to those rookies docs infested hospital.most likely case of walking into the hospital but come out in a body bag.

Lol feel free not to go hospital and end up in body bag -_-

LP is fairly straight forward. They said they proceeded later when the condition of the patient is better.

I don't have all the details. I wouldn't comment. Clinical opinion is subjective.

I believe all the neurology consult from the start are from NNI doctors as stated. But the management of the patient in CGH would be under CGH's medical team.

Lumbar puncture is simple test that can be done even when patient is sick. I see enough House/ER/Grey to know that.

So "to proceed when condition of patient is better" is really bulls__t.

You dont need all the details to know bulls__t when you see one.

You go be your own internet doctor lah, internet troll. :D

Why?

The truth hurts and hit a soft spot ..

didn't it?

In a way...if there were no VICES...which most ppl engages in

you doctors ..

WOULD BE OUT OF A JOB!

and your best bet would be a dispensing medicine over the counter or..

try your hand at treating animals instead...

as they can't complain! [laugh]

Why?

The truth hurts and hit a soft spot ..

didn't it?

In a way...if there were no VICES...which most ppl engages in

you doctors ..

WOULD BE OUT OF A JOB!

and your best bet would be a dispensing medicine over the counter or..

try your hand at treating animals instead...

as they can't complain! [laugh]

Lol u lead a sad and pathetic life.

no vices? Just die young lor in your 30s to 50s like in Africa. you think bacteria/parasites/viruses give a s--t whether u have vices ar haha

Simple minded fool [laugh]

Lol u lead a sad and pathetic life.

no vices? Just die young lor in your 30s to 50s like in Africa. you think bacteria/parasites/viruses give a s--t whether u have vices ar haha

Simple minded fool [laugh]

I have a much higher chance of NOT hitting shxt like bacteria/parasites ( including doctors that suck money)/viruses ..

If I stay far away form the shxt place which you doctors tend work in..

And that place is called a hospital.. :D

Lumbar puncture is simple test that can be done even when patient is sick. I see enough House/ER/Grey to know that.

So "to proceed when condition of patient is better" is really bulls__t.

You dont need all the details to know bulls__t when you see one.

Yes LP is straightforward. But unless I'm the principal doctor or the one conducting the investigation, i will not comment cos i dun have the full details. What we have now are just 2 letters from different sides.

House and Grey's we watch for comedy. Don't believe too much [cool]

CGH doesn't have very good reputation to begin with...

The trouble is Docs are people who see all kind of different cases everyday. Your case is just another one of them. They will not be bothered to offer very perosonalised opinion on each case unless you are in some ways related to them. So, based on what's written above, they probably don't see the merit of probing further since the patient is already very old. They are also taking the more conservative approach after weighing the pros & cons. If the patient is to pass on, they will use the age as major factor & hope that the family will buy that. If they went ahead & perform whatever procedure & it did not turn out well, most likely the family will use that to 'blame' the Docs. So the earlier choice is the easier one to make. So I guess the take-away here is to take what the Docs say with a pinch of salt. They are only slightly more informed than us with the tons of info available on-line. It'll make sense to seek 2nd or even 3rd opinion.

Again, don't go to CGH if you can. If you stay around there, get a private ambulance & tell them to go to the hospital of you choice. Civil defence ambulance must follow the protocol of sending patients to the nearest hospital.

Brain infection is not easy to diagnose sometimes and scan findings can be similar to invasive brain tumors.

Brain biopsy is a moderate to high risk procedure given the medical state of the patient.

The doctors ruled out a second opinion because medical treatment would be similar anywhere else as it would be based on the same data.

More likely the doctors say its most likely the same diagnosis that will be the outcome of the available data. Doctors don't usually stop patients from 2nd opinions.

Well it was true, until the brain biopsy was done. No one could say otherwise.

The medical report(few papers) needed to be purchased cost almost $90....they post to u

whatever it is, it is still the patient or the family members to decide.

i would say it is still good to seek 2nd or even 3rd, 4th opinion, nowadays some rookie doctor rather play safe to protect themselve. small small thing, they ask you to cut! [laugh] [laugh]