Tay Ping Hui being a dick

Mockngbrd

http://sg.entertainment.yahoo.com/blogs/si...-083659735.html

630yahoo_tay.jpg

Actor Tay Ping Hui is embroiled in a petty online tiff with a Twitter user.

On 23 December, the star who is also a young PAP member, posted a tweet on his account, calling for SMRT to implement a "Free Transport Day" to make up for the massive train breakdowns.

A user, who goes by the Twitter username of smrtsg responded to his tweet, with a snide "@taypinghui is a cheapskate".

He also described Tay's attempt to make his 'Free Transport Day' idea viral as "pathetic" and said to the actor, "What we do know is you don't take the train."

Tay then replied in a series of harsh-sounding tweets.

He questioned "the authenticity" of the the twitter user, and described the user's "attempt at humour" pathetic.

SMRT's official Twitter account is SMRT_Singapore.

He continued with "I should just let you embarrass yourself, but I feel obliged to open your tiny mind. One does not need to be in war to know its atrocities."

"And since I'm in a giving mood, this is my feedback to you: you need to get a life and stop pretending to be something you are obviously not."

Meanwhile, netizens seem amused by the exchange.

Said ZC Hoong, 31, an engineer, "Tay Ping Hui's original post had good intentions but I think that as a public figure, he should act more professionally and react in a more polite manner.

"He shouldn't be rude, just because the other Twitter user is."

i dont take the mrt but i agree, 1 day free transport to make up for the downtime is fair

TPH is a hero in my opinion for stepping up to take the lead for a just and fair cause

We will be better off if MRT is free. As a nation, we can afford that and it will do us more good than bad.

can i add free only for citizens. [:p]

Fair enough but I rather not as this smacks of nationalism. A free MRT will keep other mode of privatised public transportation in check. Due to our unique situation, the MRT system serves the entire nation, so everyone benefits from the arrangement.

Fark lar.... free free free..... nothing is for free....... the $$$ will cum from somewhere...... you wanna work for free... obviously not..... so do the SMRT staff and every working people..... stop dreaming and get back to work... [laugh][:p]

Go geyland wonderland and have fun and tell them gibe you free lor... [laugh][:p]

We will be better off if MRT is free. As a nation, we can afford that and it will do us more good than bad.

OMG! MERCY PLS.... Many Pple Will sell their cars leading to big drop in used car prices! How to sell mine to take free train? mai lah

Fark lar.... free free free..... nothing is for free....... the $$$ will cum from somewhere...... you wanna work for free... obviously not..... so do the SMRT staff and every working people..... stop dreaming and get back to work... [laugh][:p]

Go geyland wonderland and have fun and tell them gibe you free lor... [laugh][:p]

I mean free as in the consumers don't have to pay. The budget to run the MRT will come from our national coffers, particular LTA's collection. I believe the taxation collected from road users i.e COE, PARF, Custom Excise, road tax, fines, ERP will contribute significantly to that budget.

If MRT free, then everybody will sell their cars and take MRT - so COE will drop, no ERP collection, no PARF, no custom excise, no road tax, no fines.... then... where the moolah to fund the free MRT come from? Cigarette tax?

Mai lar bro...... that time they gibe $100 then take back $1000 in no time..... they gibe this one free..... I fear for the worst.... electricity, tax, water, road tax, summon, erp..... [knife][shakehead] .....

Next time 1 cup of kopi O at $5... 1 plate of chicken rice at $20..... [shakehead]

do you understand what is public goods?

the street lamps at night, you need to pay meh?

indirectly yes.

you press traffic light for green man,

do you tap your card and pay $0.20 each time u press?

FREE RIDE*

*but pay for fuel surcharge and other related charges. (including CEO bonus)

hahaha

false advertising ....

If MRT free, then everybody will sell their cars and take MRT - so COE will drop, no ERP collection, no PARF, no custom excise, no road tax, no fines.... then... where the moolah to fund the free MRT come from? Cigarette tax?

Compared to what we are paying for our car, the cost for MRT is rather insignificant. Why do we not see "everybody" selling their car to take the MRT? :huh:

Mai lar bro...... that time they gibe $100 then take back $1000 in no time..... they gibe this one free..... I fear for the worst.... electricity, tax, water, road tax, summon, erp..... [knife][shakehead] .....

Next time 1 cup of kopi O at $5... 1 plate of chicken rice at $20..... [shakehead]

That is somethint else we can address on another level but for transportation, a free MRT will be beneficial to our transportation problems in general.

do you understand what is public goods?

the street lamps at night, you need to pay meh?

indirectly yes.

you press traffic light for green man,

do you tap your card and pay $0.20 each time u press?

Where they get the $$$.... directly or indirectly... it is still us that is paying... so is it still free???

the difference is

if Town council forget to off the street lamp on a bright sunny morning 10am,

will you be upset since u paid for it?

once the burden is shared and cost disassociated from individual,

one will feel its FOC.

of cos if Free SMRT = high personal income tax rate,

i will disagree

but if SMRT is nationalised,

revenue plough back into operation cost,

i think its fair.

and its free.

Edited by Sk65