once the burden is shared and cost disassociated from individual,

one will feel its FOC.

of cos if Free SMRT = high personal income tax rate,

i will disagree

but if SMRT is nationalised,

revenue plough back into operation cost,

i think its fair.

and its free.

Answer to Quest 1... yes of course... its a waste of resources, not just wasting $$$.....

"feel its FOC"..... feel is one thing... still need to pay right... so is it still free??

SMRT nationalised..... still need $$$ to run.... where $$$ cum from..... directly or indirectly.... still us..... so is it FOC?? So where $$$ cum from.... directly or indrectly, some thing else will need to increase.... and income tax and GST is the 2 ways to do that..... so really LPPL lar bro......

OMG! MERCY PLS.... Many Pple Will sell their cars leading to big drop in used car prices! How to sell mine to take free train? mai lah

iu shaddap lah u OPC driver......most of time hog the carpark [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Answer to Quest 1... yes of course... its a waste of resources, not just wasting $$$.....

"feel its FOC"..... feel is one thing... still need to pay right... so is it still free??

SMRT nationalised..... still need $$$ to run.... where $$$ cum from..... directly or indirectly.... still us..... so is it FOC?? So where $$$ cum from.... directly or indrectly, some thing else will need to increase.... and income tax and GST is the 2 ways to do that..... so really LPPL lar bro......

There are many taxes, directly and indirectly, to fund for public services and facilities. I understand where you are coming from. But for the purpose of this discussion, free is in relation to the users of the MRT meaning the users do not pay to ride the MRT. I hope we can put this to rest from this point onwards.

There need not necessarily be an increase in taxation, directly or indirectly, to run the MRT system. The majority of the cost is in the construction of the system (btw, who paid for that and what happened during the privatization phase?). We have a robust tax surplus and I am quite sure is more than enough to cover the cost of running a subway system islandwide.

I am not into social welfare as in hand-outs etc but a nationalised MRT systems will in fact be more transparent and accountable to the public. They will solely focus on the efficient running of the trains and not be distracted by other commercial issues such as rental of commercial premises to increase profit margins. Or worse, cost cutting measures against the interest of providing reliable and safe train services.

With the MRT free to commuters, the bus and taxi companies will fall in-line due to market forces, removing the artificially created competition that we are experiencing now. Bus and taxis companies will be forced to re-consider their pricing and routing strategies to be more competitive and efficient.

There might be some car drivers selling their cars and switching to public transport, which is something we are trying to encourage but that figure will not be so significant. More importantly, there will be more drivers using MRT when it is not absolutely necessary to drive, improving the congestion situation on the road.

There is no reason to believe that a state-run MRT will be worse off than the current arrangement. Our road system managed by LTA is doing fine, by large.

So a state-run MRT, provided free for all riders will improve our public transport system and at the same time, score points for the government with the people and let the people save some money on transportation.

I don't think TPH is being a dick. Everyone has a right to express their opinions and feelings. He may expressed himself with a rather strong stance but his words cannot be perceived as being rude.

The sad fact is that Singaporeans have been so supressed in the right to speak up for themselves, even a response like this is seen as being provacative.

Remember - you have a right to express yourselves!

Human pride and ego. TPH seems to be overwhelmed with both during the exchanges. I hope his good man image is real but then again, he's an actor.

iu shaddap lah u OPC driver......most of time hog the carpark [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

i am repenting and want to sell my OPC so that you guys can park ..... i m making sacrifice... :D

I don't think TPH is being a dick. Everyone has a right to express their opinions and feelings. He may expressed himself with a rather strong stance but his words cannot be perceived as being rude.

The sad fact is that Singaporeans have been so supressed in the right to speak up for themselves, even a response like this is seen as being provacative.

i also think so.... at least he speaks his mind out, direct, and loud, not talking behind others' back :D:D

There are many taxes, directly and indirectly, to fund for public services and facilities. I understand where you are coming from. But for the purpose of this discussion, free is in relation to the users of the MRT meaning the users do not pay to ride the MRT. I hope we can put this to rest from this point onwards.

There need not necessarily be an increase in taxation, directly or indirectly, to run the MRT system. The majority of the cost is in the construction of the system (btw, who paid for that and what happened during the privatization phase?). We have a robust tax surplus and I am quite sure is more than enough to cover the cost of running a subway system islandwide.

I am not into social welfare as in hand-outs etc but a nationalised MRT systems will in fact be more transparent and accountable to the public. They will solely focus on the efficient running of the trains and not be distracted by other commercial issues such as rental of commercial premises to increase profit margins. Or worse, cost cutting measures against the interest of providing reliable and safe train services.

With the MRT free to commuters, the bus and taxi companies will fall in-line due to market forces, removing the artificially created competition that we are experiencing now. Bus and taxis companies will be forced to re-consider their pricing and routing strategies to be more competitive and efficient.

There might be some car drivers selling their cars and switching to public transport, which is something we are trying to encourage but that figure will not be so significant. More importantly, there will be more drivers using MRT when it is not absolutely necessary to drive, improving the congestion situation on the road.

There is no reason to believe that a state-run MRT will be worse off than the current arrangement. Our road system managed by LTA is doing fine, by large.

So a state-run MRT, provided free for all riders will improve our public transport system and at the same time, score points for the government with the people and let the people save some money on transportation.

If it's state run, any surpluses are likely to be ploughed back to improve customer service or reduction in train fares etc etc... unlike the current situation where the surpluses go into a small group of people (ie shareholders)....

And u know who? -_-

LOL..... shy leh, i dont own any SMRT shares.......

their website may tell us who's the main shareholder... and we know who runs it.. :o

i also think so.... at least he speaks his mind out, direct, and loud, not talking behind others' back :D:D

you another one....you tell me where is the behind of the back??? never learn engrish proerri.....i prembaree tree oso noe [:p][:p]

:D "back" here refers to ka-chng.... so it's ok.... behind people's back means just that :D

ok, if you insist, let me modify and say "gossip behind pple's spine".... :D:D

think he want to become PM in 2016 <_<

Mai lar bro...... that time they gibe $100 then take back $1000 in no time..... they gibe this one free..... I fear for the worst.... electricity, tax, water, road tax, summon, erp..... [knife][shakehead] .....

Next time 1 cup of kopi O at $5... 1 plate of chicken rice at $20..... [shakehead]

LOL.... i wanted to say the same thing... another good example...give u 1 time off GST rebate, then charge you GST so long u live here... the different is like 100x in long term? [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tigershark1976