And Then The Old Man Speaks Finally On The Salary Thingy....

Vulcann

Hmmm...so when LKY says "sacrifice children's future" in reference to lesser salary he is saying that unless got money cannot succeed in Singapore? I thought we were a meritocracy? But unless got money to send kids to international uni, then so sorry, cannot win?

by insisting on using money to lure 'talents' (quite a lame excuse, no matter how its being disguised), old man is insulting many who are able to servce the country without his 'legalised bribes' to stay clean and serve..........

:o

old man is full of contradictions these days, let him shout but leave him alone.... days are numbered, be pragmentic: dont waste time on him.... [:)]

Kong LJ lah....sound like broken record, and threaten again........oh well

dont play play, he will rise up as the hearse makes it's way to the cremetorium..... your customer soon? :o

I'd like to hear them playing Queen's "Another one bites the dust" along the way [laugh]

those who graduated fr the local unis, pls go n bang ur head against the wall.....becos the founding father of sg has implied tat "good uni" means muz go overseas, hence need the $$$ ! :o

after spending million dollars (tax payers' money) on building our four universities, now old man says these unis are no good...... must go overseas!! ......... what have the education ministers been doing all these decades?? collecting millions in salaries and producing lousy universities to belittled by the old man??!!

From CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1177624/1/.html

Lee Kuan Yew defends competitive ministerial salaries

By Imelda Saad | Posted: 18 January 2012 2136 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore's former Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has defended the need for a competitive ministerial pay to attract committed and capable people who will serve the country.

In a letter sent to the media on Wednesday after a parliamentary debate on political pay, Mr Lee, who had fought strongly for competitive political pay when he was in the Cabinet, noted how with a different generation, political attitudes change.

But he said unless Singapore has a steady stream of people to serve as ministers, Singapore as a little red dot will become a little black spot.

He pointed out that Singapore did not get from Third World to First by "head-hunting ministers willing to sacrifice their children's future when undertaking a public service duty."

He said the leadership took a "pragmatic course that does not require people of calibre to give up too much for the public good."

Mr Lee added that Singapore must not be reduced to another ordinary country in the Third World by dodging the issue of competitive ministerial remuneration.

Mr Lee said Singapore cannot underpay ministers and argues that their sole reward should be their contribution to public good.

"Every family wants to provide the best for their children, to go to a good university. We were pragmatic and also paid competitive salaries in order to have a continuous stream of high calibre people to become MPs, and then ministers. They put their careers at risk and undergo an uncertain and unpredictable election process," he said.

He pointed to the heavy responsibilities of ministers in making Singapore a success.

"A PM and his ministers carry heavy responsibilities for the nation. If they make a serious mistake, the damage to Singapore will be incalculable and permanent. Their macroeconomic policies will decide the GDP of the country, which was more than S$300 billion in 2010, with per capita GDP of S$59,000."

- CNA/ck

huge_roll_eyes.gif

Qn: was LKY salary as entry politician peg to top earners in Singapore when he join politics?

He was from a different time and world when survival was the key issue... in a big way.. I felt we were lucky.. can we continue to depend on luck moving forward. I am now risking my children's future on the roll of a dice.

Pay these crown so much to lose billions in failed investment, flood, terrorist disappearance etc... and hear them defend themselves with "you misunderstood me", "it is taken out of context", "let's move on"...

Give me a break.. greedy say greedy lah.. at least, I respect your honesty [;)]

Honest contextual understanding instead of flippant disregard for rationale should be applied..

Must prepare a 1000 tons 99.99 pure Golden Coffin with diamond coffin nails ...hor [:p]

Edited by Jasonjst

so many of ministers' kids are on scholarships.... their millionaire dads didnt have to fork out a cent for their tertiary studies.... like that how? more cuts for such ministers as they need less money?

After seeing how the rest kena left right center.

This old man very smart to send a worded letter. Check n counter check, no misunderstanding analogy or loose lips situation.

Very water tight. He is indeed the smart one!

Kong LJ lah....sound like broken record, and threaten again........oh well

To think I once had respect for this ah pek. [rolleyes]

If he'd come out and said - the old guards (the generation serving when he was PM) deserved higher pay, but the new gen haven't proven themselves worthy (which is the HARD TRUTH), then I would've respected his words.

As it stands, he's just a geriatric apologist for indefensible policies.

To think I once had respect for this ah pek. [rolleyes]

If he'd come out and said - the old guards (the generation serving when he was PM) deserved higher pay, but the new gen haven't proven themselves worthy (which is the HARD TRUTH), then I would've respected his words.

As it stands, he's just a geriatric apologist for indefensible policies.

Agree. Perhaps this is his parting gift to his son. After dictating 60 years of his son's life, i think it's natural that he is hopeful that there some weight in his words and can still help his son secure the future when he moves on to join his wife. His son lacks the charisma and the current social and economic circumstances are not as favorable to rally the masses. The locals were angry with the British and most favorable to him when he went into politics. On the other hand, his son's era of PAP is viewed by many as the dynasty of elitist imperial system much like the hated British colonial master of the 60s... You notice he dropped the word burden and emphasized on responsibilities? Perhaps indirectly he is telling the son that the current situation is due to lack of accountability and responsibility. 反清复明有何用?安居乐业较实际。清政明决共人心,安抚民心共国富...

Lau Lee got better things to do than to hear all this gin na kia talking about cutting pay.

Frankly, how much cut is enough? At what level is satisfactory? My feeling is even if ministers are taking zero pay and only receive pay if the economy grows 10% and above, there will still be unhappy people around.

I am not political observer. But my reading of the event is that people are just very very very unhappy with the incumbent. And the seed of unhappiness is not sow just the last ten years. Is much longer than that. Maybe the seed of unhappiness was sowed 20 ~30 years ago. But during that time, there wasn't enough critical mass to force a review of politics that caused the unhappiness. Now, there is enough quality people to champion the motion in parliament and many more dare to speak out outside parliament.

Time has changed.

[sleeping] When is this going to end? One by one appear to say the same thing over & over. The fact is that ppl are unhappy over their pay and that cannot be changed. For CNY sake give it a rest and get ready to loose some more seats on the next GE. [lipsrsealed]

One thing for sure is obvious.

There is no Indian chief in this new leader team that is able to stand up as strong as LKY.

Still need LKY to give the final say in everything in parliament is not a good thing.

This may mean singaporen is really going to be a black spot in the near future.

I am worried.

old fark is telling us that if you have the POTENTIAL to earn millions, it means you must be ministerial material, and therefore, must pay you millions..

he is also telling us that if you have the POTENTIAL to earn millions, you definitely don't want to go into public service because it's a sacrifice on your paycheck..

*note the word in bold

**now where did CSM come out from???

Edited by Shull