A Plea to Drivers who install aftermarket headlights/bulbs

Ak7887

Dear Fellow SG Drivers,

We all like to dress up our cars to look the best and one of them are the headlights and bulb changes. For the past few years, those newer white lighted bulbs or headlights have been a favorite for many as it really gives the car a nice cosmetic boost. However, pls note that some of these lights are very bright and super blinding and I believe many drivers have experienced irritating blinding lights coming from behind or the other side of the road. Some of them even turned on their super blinding fog lights to boast, making their cars really monster looking.

I sincerely ask our fellow drivers to think about these lights and not to get them so so bright and blinding to other road users. I almost got into an accident, when a Subaru turned into my opposite lane and caused a momentarily blinding that made me turned my head away and almost knocked into another car. It is really painful to be shone at when you have to concentrate on the road. Its really not friendly to other drivers during night driving.

Thanks for reading :)

Dear Fellow SG Drivers,

We all like to dress up our cars to look the best and one of them are the headlights and bulb changes. For the past few years, those newer white lighted bulbs or headlights have been a favorite for many as it really gives the car a nice cosmetic boost. However, pls note that some of these lights are very bright and super blinding and I believe many drivers have experienced irritating blinding lights coming from behind or the other side of the road. Some of them even turned on their super blinding fog lights to boast, making their cars really monster looking.

I sincerely ask our fellow drivers to think about these lights and not to get them so so bright and blinding to other road users. I almost got into an accident, when a Subaru turned into my opposite lane and caused a momentarily blinding that made me turned my head away and almost knocked into another car. It is really painful to be shone at when you have to concentrate on the road. Its really not friendly to other drivers during night driving.

I believe you are right, as I seldom drive at night these days. However, there is also this possiblility such owner-drivers may have mild night-blindness (can hardly see with poor visiblility). LTA may need to look into this.

After-thought: perhaps those who have the habit of tail-gating/rear-ended others, may suspect yourself to be having such mild night-blindness symptom. Do not panic. Just consult doctor. I believe some diet change, some physical exercise would help (I am not a doctor).

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

Dear Fellow SG Drivers,

Like!!!!!!

Dear Fellow SG Drivers,

Actually, this is exactly why some driver install aftermarket HID on their non projector headlights - To blind other road users.

To those kind of people, your plea is like an endorsement to their actions.

Actually, this is exactly why some driver install aftermarket HID on their non projector headlights - To blind other road users.

To those kind of people, your plea is like an endorsement to their actions.

to these drivers did on purpose, I say good luck in their life. For those who installed or wants to install and did not know its hurting other drivers, at least they can choose something more considerate.

Dear Fellow SG Drivers,

LIKE!

I think some are a result of poor installation rather than deliberate.

Ever seen one 'lazy eye' - one higher than the other <_<

Dont pee here , useless one, if want to pee go pee to TP .

maybe all who think its an issue shd all tell TP or LTA. Just hoping some who read this thread is now aware of how many drivers suffer in silence.

lets hope our concerns are heard.

this are all those stupid owner who install stupid bright white light without a projector head light.......want to install white light then go n replace your head light with projector head light la. no money mai act atas....and LTA also sleeping.

Edited by Atec1267

I do not think it is a matter of projector or not. Rather it is the design of the headlight reflectors. Civic, Accord and Teana comes with HID but not projectors.

Proper adjustment of the headlight is the key

Edited by Blueraven

c'mon, singapore so bright, every street got streetlights, drive with lights off also can see clearly - where is there a real need for HID lights? Not like we have fog on the roads.

95% of those driver who install HID purposely want to blind others... the other 5% are blur sotong who dunno how irritating their lights can be.

to these drivers who want their car head lamp to look cool and they are not the one looking into the light....

so you should also get a pair stronger one to blind them back -_-

You are writing to the wrong place.

Should write to ST etc.

bro, if they dun read the forum, dun think they read ST. Its ok lah, just to encourage awareness and discussion :)

it is ok to have white and bright light, just make sure the light are not projecting too high... sometimes you can see the the headlight actually shine on the whole rear of the car (roof to bumper) obviously this will blind the person in front or opposite traffic. it is more the attitude of the driver more than anything else. not considerate at all...