Losing faith in our police

Wind30

There was no call for the 1st 2 months from the IO, till we directed the lawyer's letter to the IO. 1st question from IO: How is your father and what is his condition in details?

In any case, the culprit's family was absurd. Met up the 1st time in the police station where they told us that they need time to think over what they could do for this incident. Proposed a cool-off period and to meet up one month later..no reply, and after nearly 2 months they refused to meet up and told us through the IO to go through lawyer if we want to talk further. This is one stuck-up & irresponsible family who believes in telling their offspring that 'it's perfectly ok to knock down someone, keep quiet and things will go away'. And we have today a less than half-page official letter from the SPF on their investigation closure with the warning given to the boy, with 'weighty' reference to the AG Dept 'due consideration in the subject matter. psss...

My father survived the ordeal, but cannot walk and need constant assistance for toileting, bathing etc, from a domestic helper, plus his renal failure condition, it's a real challenge, mentally & financially...

wah.. its sounds pretty fxxk up.

but i dun wan to be rude. they can't jail the boy oso.

i dun kw wat's the best thing to do but can u see the bicycle boy's family private and settle it on ur own?

and i suppose it is best now to channel ur energy now to looking after ur dad.. although i understand how frustrated you feel now.. seeing no closure to this issue.

My sympathies.

So are you looking at a civil suit to at least offset the financial portion of it?

Yes. Hope to initiate action before/by the end of the statute of limitation of 3 years.

wah.. its sounds pretty fxxk up.

but i dun wan to be rude. they can't jail the boy oso.

i dun kw wat's the best thing to do but can u see the bicycle boy's family private and settle it on ur own?

and i suppose it is best now to channel ur energy now to looking after ur dad.. although i understand how frustrated you feel now.. seeing no closure to this issue.

Dad's the priority. The boy's family had outrightly refused to meet us for the 2nd time at the police station for a private settlement, and which they agreed during the first meeting but backed out after making us wait for 2 months. Guess the only way is to 'invite' them through the lawyer.

How I view the SPF since my father's incident? [hur][whip][rifle][knife][mad]

Dad's the priority. The boy's family had outrightly refused to meet us for the 2nd time at the police station for a private settlement, and which they agreed during the first meeting but backed out after making us wait for 2 months. Guess the only way is to 'invite' them through the lawyer.

How I view the SPF since my father's incident? [hur][whip][rifle][knife][mad]

Talk...talk...talk...so much. Complain complain complain.

What you expect the police to do. Very obvious it was an accident. No criminal intent. So police action is correct.

Not happy get yr lawyers to sue for the money...money.....money that you want.

The boy has no insurance cover and his family is totally not at fault legally and does not need to compensate you in any way.

Blame yr dad for not buying accident insurance cover. [:p]

My father was hit by a young cyclist down his HDB block over a year ago, and was hospitalised over 240 days due to the severe brain injuries. Our family was angry over the way how the accident was handled by the SPF. There was no attempt by them to even drop by the hospital to follow up on my father's medical status despite the distance between their station and the hospital is less than 5KM away. Eventually, they relied on my update of my father's condition. Neither did they inform the culprit's family on the case severity, which they found out directly from us after we issue a lawyer's letter directed to the SPF and that's when both families meet up. The case kept silence over 7 mths, and eventually 'closed casually' with a letter from the SPF that the case is closed with the boy given a warning by the AG. Looks like justice is likely provided you can afford it via alternative legal means. I wonder how they close the case without even a visit of assessment of my father's condition, or till today they do not know that my father has to be assisted (probably for life), with his basic mobility taken away by the errant 11-year-old cyclist. Perhaps this is not severe in their perspective. "May the Force be with you"....ie. They may or may not be with you. Junk administration.

Frankly, if the cyclist crashed into us, they only get an AG warning.

Wonder if it were the other way round, what will happen?

I'm always on the alert for reckless cyclist round my blocks, especially those FTs...

I have kids and certainly do not want any of these reckless b*****ds near us.

Maybe one day, someone should run into the side of a reckless cyclist accidentally, and see what's the investigation outcome from our useless officers...

Anyway, we all know justice are only meant for certain class of ppl here.

Lesser mortals and the poor can only suck their thumbs...

Anyone of you here want to be a policeman ? if not then STFU ! Being police is the most unpleasant and thankless job. imagine if no one works as policemen what will the society become ? crimes like murder, rape, kidnap will become rampant. Before you criticise pls think of the good they have done. I salute all the police officers in Singapore, without their contribution and dilligence, we will not be like what we are today, but a lawless african state.

I salute the Singapore Police Force , for they hold the most noble, respectable and important job, even more so than doctors and teachers.

Edited by Vextan

Anyone of you here want to be a policeman ? if not then STFU ! Being police is the most unpleasant and thankless job. imagine if no one works as policemen what will the society become ? crimes like murder, rape, kidnap will become rampant. Before you criticise pls think of the good they have done. I salute all the police officers in Singapore, without their contribution and dilligence, we will not be like what we are today, but a lawless african state.

I salute the Singapore Police Force , for they hold the most noble, respectable and important job, even more so than doctors and teachers.

some policemen are gangster in uniform. i've had the bad fortune to encounter one before. so dont you dare tell me that policemen are all good and holy.

Edited by Little_prince

some policemen are gangster in uniform. i've had the bad fortune to encounter one before. so dont you dare tell me that policemen are all good and holy.

That's the problem with you and alike. For al the good policemen and their contributions, just because of a few black sheep and inadequacies along the way and you condemn them all and discredit them. No wonder Singaporeans are a spoilt and ungrateful lot.

That's the problem with you and alike. For al the good policemen and their contributions, just because of a few black sheep and inadequacies along the way and you condemn them all and discredit them. No wonder many young Singaporeans are a spoilt and ungrateful lot.

Edited by Vextan

That's the problem with you and alike. For al the good policemen and their contributions, just because of a few black sheep and inadequacies along the way and you condemn them all and discredit them. No wonder Singaporeans are a spoilt and ungrateful lot.

im pretty sure it's more than a few black sheeps.

r u from the spf?

a few black sheep + a few couple corrupt + some inadequacies = quite a number of bad policemen

The question is, how should the police treat this case? Where the 11 year old cyclist knock into a pedestrian causing injuries. Should the police arrest the boy? Should the police charge the boy in court? Under what Act? Should the police force the boy's family to compensate? Under what powers do they do this?

I think sometimes its easy to lose sight of the real issue. We have come to rely on gahmen for a lot of things and we take it for granted that police action covers everything. I for one feel for the family of the pedestrian, but I am glad the police are not involved in getting compensation or charging the boy. We do not want a situation where the police is imbued with so much power that we become a police state!

Fully agree! [thumbsup]

The question is, how should the police treat this case? Where the 11 year old cyclist knock into a pedestrian causing injuries. Should the police arrest the boy? Should the police charge the boy in court? Under what Act? Should the police force the boy's family to compensate? Under what powers do they do this?

I think sometimes its easy to lose sight of the real issue. We have come to rely on gahmen for a lot of things and we take it for granted that police action covers everything. I for one feel for the family of the pedestrian, but I am glad the police are not involved in getting compensation or charging the boy. We do not want a situation where the police is imbued with so much power that we become a police state!

Dont expect too much from the IO la. Afterall they are all at most ITE or poly diploma holders. IF they are really damn soild, they will start businesses and driving GTRs or Bentley now rather than hiding in the police canteen to shake legs and watch porn. You see how the CNB and SCDF chief got themselves into such mess and u know that thes people have very interesting lifestyle. My friend who is IO arrived in office @ 11am. Work till 12pm then lunch till 2-3 pm. Shake leg and make a few calls to witnesses or accused. 5pm go and pick his wife. You calcuate just how many hours he work.

IF not for the low salary of S$3k-$4k, I would hav joined the police force as ASP already. Everyday ask sales girl to entertain me in Hort Park.