inlinesix Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Where is hui ge? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Where is hui ge? hiding under tarp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 ERP will never breakdown de. Lol. Never say never. Going by what being posted on SBF (by that Farhan), LTA have to place more order to make up for the defective train. In the case of our ERP system, maybe they (LTA / MOT) already discover fault / defect with the current system / reader, etc., which may potentially trigger a failure and resulted in lost of mil $$$, thus have to trigger te GPS based ERP system?? OK, I talk rubbish. TGIF 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 (edited) Never say never. Going by what being posted on SBF (by that Farhan), LTA have to place more order to make up for the defective train. In the case of our ERP system, maybe they (LTA / MOT) already discover fault / defect with the current system / reader, etc., which may potentially trigger a failure and resulted in lost of mil $$$, thus have to trigger te GPS based ERP system?? OK, I talk rubbish. TGIF HDB and LtA,.,, two of the biggest flaw of government under LhL. Run by same person... Edited July 8, 2016 by Joseph22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Virgin lah need time to break in. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Guys, need some advice I bought a Kanenabeh power drill from a China website sometime ago But after using them for a while, I realized that it started to strip my nuts badly When I looked further, I realized there were some cracks in the gear I contacted the shipper and they neogtiated a return to the manufacturer Now, the manufacturer was kind enough to pay for shipping But wanted 7 years to repair the parts He told me that the cracks did not affect the usage of the tools Do you think I should write off the tool Or should I send it back for repair? How badly are your nuts stripped off? Please send picture of your nuts so we can help advise you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 How badly are your nuts stripped off? Please send picture of your nuts so we can help advise you. Dear James, 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Dear James, We lied to you Please get used to it. This should be a weight off your shoulders or err some where else and should help you walk more easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Now (at least) we think we know why our current predicament of trains are as such. It explains why there is an apparent "slowness" in our train upgrading because resources are used for this now found exposed happening. The way the authorities go about seems to think that it know best and decide on almost everything including what information we should be informed. All I can say Singapore really lives to its ..... Uniquely Singapore. Can we change anything, I really doubt, the authorities now not only have one but two hands squeezing our bola. Don't believe, try to be funny and be a hero - you not only get special invitation to lim kopi but also specially arranged movers to move your stuff free, complain want answers - they answer even give ridiculous answer that borders on suggesting that we are stupid and we accept, we become so selfish as individuals and not as a nation - no need to explain just look around us, many have loans of more than 20 or 25years for a public housing flat (NOT Private) leaving almost nothing left for their retirement, cars if genuinely want to restrict numbers can be done easily especially when nobody dare to complains beyond the internet or Hong Lim Park - there is no need to milk car buyers dry with COE, ERP, Road Tax, increase parking charges, petrol with high government tax, 80 odd percent of population stay in HDB - upgrading is a useful tool to manage the masses and etc. So do we expect anything different with the MRTgate saga? No I don't think so. It will be business as usual. Give some reasons and move on. People will make a bit of noise for a period of time and soon forgotten. I am suspicious, that the authorities are very considerate and kind. Why I suspect, I think they realised that those uncles and aunties today have ran out of topics at kopitam to discuss about. So the authorities once in a while throw in one of these to humor them. But on a serious note: the question of whether should the public be informed of these problems? Personally, I think they should especially when it deals with a lot of people (using train as their main transport) and whatever they may say there are safety issues that are concerned that requires the entire train to be shipped back to manufacturer. Your views are not important. You want to give your views you go join a political party and come up with solutions! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Your views are not important. You want to give your views you go join a political party and come up with solutions! Need to come back to Singapore first right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Can any accountant sexplain how the trains are likely to be accounted for? 1) These trains are all capitalized as assets? No. They are liability. 2) They are sent back for repair as there are major defects and they are still under warranty. Does the entity recognize impairment now, or work-in-progress? I assume these trains have been paid for. No. Because we dont know the cost of manufacturing the train. It will be written off as goodwill 3) Since these assets are not in used, will they be subject to depreciation? No. See answer on question 1. The ROI of this entity will be kept artificially low for many years (until 2023) since these are effectively "cash" that is not generating any income right? Should the shareholders (Singaporeans) be concerned since our monies are not put into good use? Should the managers of this entity be sacked for poor ROI and trying to make the cause opaque? We are talking about 2bn of public funds. I am not accountant but I try to sexplain 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Let me start by saying that I too, take a charitable view of people's actions, and especially the government. I have defended COE, ERP, ministerial salaries and Pioneer Generation Package etc on this forum (accumulating dunno how many dislike points along the way). Check my posting history. I am not one to take a cynical view of the establishment. @Wishcumstrue, I believe your opinion is that we should not jump to conclusions that there has been a cover-up. Fair point. You also seem to believe that there is foreign intervention in this matter, by virtue of the media involved. Also acceptable. What would then be the objective of this foreign media? @Pinobii has said that there are HK-ers who want to prevent Chinese made products from entering their territory. A possible situation. They would then have the incentive to make this whole incident more shady and sow distrust among HK-ers. SMRT would then be a collateral damage in this whole saga. ... but that means the whole return-to-sender did happen, and LTA/SMRT/CSR Sifang indeed did not tell us. Which is the bulk of the contention here. Let's think more sinuous intentions, people who have a direct interest in seeing Singapore and China relations break down. Malaysians? Indonesians? Americans? People who will benefit from our lesser dependence on China. Maybe the Koreans who lost out on the contract for this batch of trains, perhaps? ... none of these people could have achieved this if the defects did not occur. These are facts, and facts acknowledged by LTA itself. I may be pro-establishment, but I cannot be wilfully blind. What would then be the objective of this foreign media ? You already pointed out that Elephant in the room - Politics. I mentioned this before, it isn't about Singapore, but HK's domestic politics. Why I said that ? Fact#1 - HK own MTR is buying trains for at over HK$6 billion contract for 93 new trains from the same Japanese-Chinese company based in China. Fact#2 - FactWire is a newly established online "independent" new media only a year ago. It started out after the pro-democracy Umbrella protests and riots over the last few years in the territory. https://viewhk.wordpress.com/2016/02/12/factwire-founder-ng-hiu-tung-and-hkfps-tom-grundy-on-hks-changing-media-landscape/ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Need to come back to Singapore first right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 (edited) Yes of course. Come back then lim kopi first Why u so bad... Edited July 8, 2016 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 ================================================= INSIDER INFO ON LTA COVER-UP OF CHINA MADE TRAINS Submitted by farhan on Thu, 07/07/2016 - 9:26am Cost me a prata supper plus teh tarik to get the details from an insider in Govt and it is shocking. By now you would have heard about expose by a HK New Agency that did groundwork in China and Singapore including tracking of defective trains from Bishan Depot to Jurong Port after midnight. Here are details.... LOL! Not another "Farhan" story, this time about "cover up " and "secrets". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 LOL! Not another "Farhan" story, this time about "cover up " and "secrets". This actually post a problem... Our government have no expert in those area... How many Engineers we have in he parliament. I heard only Son of Ponggol is engineer.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 To be fair... These are fact even if they use sensualizing heading like secretly.... hmm.. I don't know if a reporting can be considered as fair when editors tried sensationalizing news with those words like "secret". This is like what tabloids papers usually do to gain readership... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 This actually post a problem... Our government have no expert in those area... How many Engineers we have in he parliament. I heard only Son of Ponggol is engineer.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...