W210k 1st Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 But the perception of a Volvo seem not as good compare to a Merc. But I console my bro that he's getting his S60 which is benchmarked to the 5 series and E-class though at the lower rank on a puny 1.6T 180 hp engine No lah,Volvo is one 'level' below Merc, BMW and Audi ... cannot be benchmarked alike. Volvo is with VW, Ford, Saab (then), Opel and the French Marques. There is nothing 'luxury-premium' about the Volvo brand and it's certainly not viewed that way globally. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnixer 3rd Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 We used to have a car priced to a 3 RM or 4 RM HDB before in those early 90s days before right? the point is why letting history repeating itself again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 I am extremely happy when COE rise. It's like my Jazz will keep its resale value. This year I am sure my Jazz will retains its value, as August quota cut willbe major enough to cause Cat.A to shoot up. Not forgetting CnC small Class and BMW 1series are in Cat.A too. I foresee in 2013, the jap altis,vios, lancer, latio will die a slow death. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 Not forgetting CnC small Class and BMW 1series are in Cat.A too. I foresee in 2013, the jap altis,vios, lancer, latio will die a slow death. Yeah, agree. I foresee both Merc and BMW to continue being on top of Cat A, with the C180K and 116i respectively. Middle ground Cat A will come from VW. The bottom support level for Cat A will be the Koreans ... with the launch of the new KIA Rio and Hyundai i30 by year end. Japanese brands will continue to wither in this high-COE market. Especially sorry for Subaru, Suzuki, Nissan and Honda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 No lah,Volvo is one 'level' below Merc, BMW and Audi ... cannot be benchmarked alike. Volvo is with VW, Ford, Saab (then), Opel and the French Marques. There is nothing 'luxury-premium' about the Volvo brand and it's certainly not viewed that way globally. I agree that is why some rather buy BMW 1 series for the brand sake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ENG61043 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 the point is why letting history repeating itself again Can we control COE price? You may not want to repeat history but how about those who wants a Car now and buy a Car now at high COE price Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnixer 3rd Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 Can we control COE price? You may not want to repeat history but how about those who wants a Car now and buy a Car now at high COE price what to do? the fate lies under the hand of those AD or dealers. buyer don't get to call the shot for bidding. like throwing people money knowing the money doesn't belong to you. using buyer money to achieve target. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 (edited) No lah,Volvo is one 'level' below Merc, BMW and Audi ... cannot be benchmarked alike. Volvo is with VW, Ford, Saab (then), Opel and the French Marques. There is nothing 'luxury-premium' about the Volvo brand and it's certainly not viewed that way globally. My perception dated years back, remember in the 1990s, my friend was driving his dad Volvo 740GLE, I was like in awe, a huge tank. The benchmark I'm refering to, like BMW 3,5,7. Merc C,E,S and S40, S60, S80. Volvo same class as VW, Ford, Opel? Then my bro must have been short-changed, but he did exclaimed that current c-class a little feminine and will have gone for the e-class if budget permits. Alas, from the way you describe Volvo value, think he should have booked the $150K C180 last month, so I should equate a Volvo S60 to a Ford Focus and Opel Astra when I see one on the road. OMV figures are misleading then, S60 OMV $35K+ vs C180K $31K+ OMV... A friend of mine sold his 2yrs old C180 and went to get a 3.5 yrs old model BMW E60. Reason was car too small for his children Edited March 22, 2012 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 (edited) Not too sure, remember in the 1990s, my friend was driving his dad Volvo 740GLE, I was like in awe, a huge tank. The benchmark I'm refering to, like BMW 3,5,7. Merc C,E,S and S40, S60, S80. Volvo same class as VW, Ford, Opel? Then my bro must have been short-changed, but he did exclaimed that current c-class a little feminine and will have gone for the e-class if budget permits. Alas, from the way you describe Volvo value, think he should have booked the $150K C180 last month, so I should equate a Volvo S60 to a Ford Focus and Opel Astra when I see one on the road. I would say it really does not matter which brand. But to pay 56k for CAT A, just pick the car which you like. Edited March 22, 2012 by Princey_anne Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 23, 2012 Author Share March 23, 2012 Sillyporeans really have nothing better to do than complain. If you're so clever, why didn't you run for public office? Do something positive intead of just opening your mouths and moaning about this expensive, that expensive. To be honest, jobs that are taken up by "Foreign Talents", how many of you smart mouths want to take up? ANY Sillyporeans want to be Bus Captains? or Cleaners? or Cooks? Would you really provide better service at a restaurant knowing that your customers are a bunch of complain kings? Any of you guys willing to work long hours or shifts? I work in the IT industry and I can tell you that Singaporeans are the most spoiled bunch of employees there. When asked to put in some overtime, they start complaining about not having work-life balance etc. etc. The foreign talents never complain and they're paid less as well. Honestly, if you really don't like it that much, move out....if you think that the policies suck, join the opposition. Put your money where your mouth is, otherwise, stop whining. honestly. increase the pay of the above mentioned jobs and singaporeans will work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 23, 2012 Author Share March 23, 2012 (edited) Everyone seems to blame the Government for the rise in COE prices. Has it ever occured to you guys that this is Economics at work? Supply & Demand... For a country that's supposedly full of well-educated people, those that pound their chests here on the internet sure appear to be the dumbest of the lot. If nobody WANTs or claims that they NEED, prices will drop. It's as simple as that. Oh and FYI, I just signed up here because I secured my second CAT A COE @ $56501. Yes I feel the pinch but I can afford it and I want it, so I'm not COMPLAINING about it. then just increase the supply.. you cant lower demand. just increase supply Edited March 23, 2012 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TrumpCard Neutral Newbie March 23, 2012 Share March 23, 2012 honestly. increase the pay of the above mentioned jobs and singaporeans will work. So how much are you willing to pay for a local bus captain, cook or cleaner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 23, 2012 Share March 23, 2012 then just increase the supply.. you cant lower demand. just increase supply No lah, they should be reducing supply even more, to de-congest the jammed roads and always-full carparks. That ought to be the govt's primary objective. Not to enable more people to own cars! J.C.!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 23, 2012 Share March 23, 2012 I am extremely happy when COE rise. It's like my Jazz will keep its resale value. This year I am sure my Jazz will retains its value, as August quota cut willbe major enough to cause Cat.A to shoot up. Not forgetting CnC small Class and BMW 1series are in Cat.A too. I foresee in 2013, the jap altis,vios, lancer, latio will die a slow death. Yeah keep rising.. Till your 10th year. See whether u can afford another car anot. Retain paper value.. For what? U wanna sell ur jazz and take public transport? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 23, 2012 Author Share March 23, 2012 So how much are you willing to pay for a local bus captain, cook or cleaner? up the pay till singaporeans take lor. 4k NETT for bus captain i sure take ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...