[Help] Decide whether to change car

Dahawk

Dont waste time. CRV is a better car to ride in. Maintainance for a NA car is easier on the pocket. Give you an analogy.

Now you got a wife already, but you see one widow on the street. You think this widow looks like sex-pot, good at humping, good at cooking. But you didn't realised this widow may need a Gucci bag every month as maintenance. Now, your current wife can hump, can cook. Already fulfil your desire, why commit for a Gucci bag every month? This Gucci bag can be better spend at humping outside instead of commiting full time, isn't it?

but what if current wife costs 10x more than 1 gucci bag a month?

From what I can see, our bro here is trying to realized his value. If he sells his car now, he gets back some $$. Use the $$ buy a cheaper car, and balance keep in the bank.

But, yes there are risk...2nd hand car may spend more time in the garage than on the road, also need to come down on the expectation of the ride and comfort....

Planning to do this as well, anyone interested to buy my car?? [cool][:p] Pm me

Althought there is a risk of buying 2nd hand car, but the chance of getting a lemon or problematic 2nd hand car also not very high. I have so many friends and colleagues recently bought 2nd hand car, so far didnt hear any problem with their cars. [:p]

Right now getting about 8-9km/l on the crv.

Hmm reason for change, maybe just to lower running costs and a change of environment?

Is the 2.0XT really that thirsty? Before the CRV, used to drive the 2.0NA forester.

Your CRV is about $10K depreciation a year. To make a worthwhile savings, you have to get a car around half of your current dep/yr.

So those cars in that $5K to $6K/yr will be year 2005, 1.6L models. If you can accept it, do the change. You probably can pay cash for those 2005 cars and invest your monthly installment into something else.

Currently driving CRV and then "downgraded" to a 2005 car, wonder whether can accept or not?! Since the car is brand new from start, i dont really see a need to change to a 2nd hand car. Unless the current car giving problems or the cost of maintaining the current car very very high. If not, no point changing to a 4-5 years old used car. Unless you are buying 2 year or less used car, then maybe can consider changing.

Thanks to all for your replies. Looks like the majority is against changing.

I gather from your replies that one of the main reasons is due to the poor choice of car selected.

What about downgrading to a same age (plus minus 1 year) civic 1.8 or 2.0? Does the reasoning still stand?

if you are able to buy private and sell private without incurring additional spread taken by the dealers than it's fine.

most of the time people cant do it due to having not enough money to buy full cash.

1.8 or 2l civic? how much can you safe or earn? due to current coe now 2nd car also sell high. stupit Jazz brand new already almost 100k. wanna see big diff get jazz or city or fit or airwave lol they runs, not much problem, got problem also easy to fit.

What make you say Jazz is stupid? :wub::wacko:

TS,

I support downgrading, but are you ready to downgrade? if you can sell your 2007 2.4L CRV at around 70k, clear the 50k loan and then buy a 40k with 20k deposit from the CRV, you have effectively downgraded and save yourself 30k in loans.

but as some bros have noted, are you ready to go from 5 yo car to 6-7 yo car? I have gone this route before, buying older cars and taking shorter loans. by next month, both my cars are fully paid up (my quantum is 2 yr, 30% loans). the question you shd ask yourself is whether you have the stomach for this.

if not, just pay off the remaining 50k loan and enjoy the Honda brand.

Edited by Gz0707

On the contrary, I would do a upgrade. Change to a second hand Hyundai Azera 3.3A. It's dirt cheap second hand. FC is reasonable for such a big engine car.

Even if you downgrade from CRV to Getz or QQ, there is not much savings when total cost is taken into consideration.

Edited by Kangadrool

not going to happen. normal thinking will say too high cc, waste petrol blah blah . I have seen azera selling for 30+k before, only 3-4 yr old. too bad I am driving a V6 liao. but i can get 11km/L on my ride. But pp really dunno much abt cars, so they stick to the usual 1.6L butter cars.

Thanks for your reply on this. Helps put my choice into perspective.

Looks like i have some serious considering to do!

no problem, some pp treat cars as nos, some treat as prestige and branded, some as transport. so it depends on which category you belong to. there's no right or wrong answer .... :D

but what if current wife costs 10x more than 1 gucci bag a month?

Then change to a Charles and Keith will do. Please lah, in the first place you wouldn't want to marry her right if she ask for a Gucci?

I think the Gucci represents maintenance. You won't know until you get the car.

The car/girl is easy/cheap to get but once you have, the 'breakdown' and 'parts' is gonna cost you big time monthly.

Edited by Lucaswh

Hi gents,

Looking to seek opinions and advice whether to change cars or not.

Reason being is to attain lower running cost and see if i'm able to recoup some loss.

Currently driving a Dec 07 registered CRV 2.4 from KM. COE was about 17K then? Going to hit 100K mileage soon. No issues thus far, fully serviced on time at KM.

Outstanding loan left about 50+K.

Thinking of switching to a older used car of lower capacity etc.

Currently looking at something like a 2.0XT used forester; example given below.

SG Carmart Subaru Forester 2.0XT

Would like to seek your opinions and advice if it's wise to do so or to just stick with my CRV till the COE expires.

Thanks in advance for your help! :D

Bro, if the car is not giving you problem than no point right? Subaru is not cheap to run. FC is bad cos of the AWD. I know cos I am driving the Legacy 2.5 GT. it is a fun car. traction is fantastic. the turbo is siok just dont expect the running cost to be cheaper than your CRV.

Honda is make to last. you coe only 17K where got lost? you brought new and now you want to change to a used. IMO, not worth.

my 2 cents only.

Bro, if the car is not giving you problem than no point right? Subaru is not cheap to run. FC is bad cos of the AWD. I know cos I am driving the Legacy 2.5 GT. it is a fun car. traction is fantastic. the turbo is siok just dont expect the running cost to be cheaper than your CRV.

Honda is make to last. you coe only 17K where got lost? you brought new and now you want to change to a used. IMO, not worth.

my 2 cents only.

Agreed, if current car is bought new from start, really no point in changing car, esp to an used car which is 4 years and more. Regardless what car you are driving now, be it jap or korea car. If the car doesnt have any major problems or got into accident, better to continue driving.

Edited by 13177

bro, it's me..

no point downgrading unless it's a drastic change. our crv is really low maintenance (never breakdown) and you dun save much changing to a forester. calculate the mthly road tax savings. not much. say even if fc got diff of 20% (which not true on forester), it's only $80 on a mthly $400 bill.

unless u change to an allion or premio, which is well known to be about 14-15km/l. then you save almost 40% in petrol and half your road tax. dun forget there's penalty on redeeming your loan early, and also potential repair on the 2nd hand car. all these have to take into consideration.