Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 Wonder if any of you all have any experience?? Two of my 500GB HD brought around the same time...around two years ago decided to go dead together...one from Hitachi and one from WD...So I go online for warranty... Hitachi collection is with UPS inside cargo complex...so to go in...you need change pass all the trouble... WD I think is accessible to public... then they have all those packing instruction...anti-static bag...box...foam inside box...it seem that they discourage pple to exchange their defective HD by making the process very tedious.... any experience from anyone?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 If u find it tedious then don't do it lor. They will return u 1 x refurbished/new HDD if u follow the instructions. the drive should have came with antistatic bag. The foam stuff inside box i think u go post office they can advise u. <10 bucks if i remember Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 there is a UPS at changi south ... is that the one ?? i think its absurd that they will ask customers to go to the cargo complex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Author Share March 25, 2012 so is the process being make difficult ??? or all find the process easy...i am just lazy ??? [confused] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Author Share March 25, 2012 Hitachi Global Storage Technologies Singapore Pte Ltd. c/o UPS SCS (Singapore) Pte Ltd,RMA Dept 31 ALPS Avenue, #03-00 SINGAPORE 498784 SINGAPORE I think they probably don't like customer to send directly...They want you to courier!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 Wonder if any of you all have any experience?? Two of my 500GB HD brought around the same time...around two years ago decided to go dead together...one from Hitachi and one from WD...So I go online for warranty... Hitachi collection is with UPS inside cargo complex...so to go in...you need change pass all the trouble... WD I think is accessible to public... then they have all those packing instruction...anti-static bag...box...foam inside box...it seem that they discourage pple to exchange their defective HD by making the process very tedious.... any experience from anyone?? Seriously, unless their warranty is to replace a brand new hdd and not those refurnished hdd, with hdd so dirt cheap, I won't be bother to send for rma after 2yrs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Author Share March 25, 2012 Their packing procedure!!! When I buy it new also just come with the antistatic bag only...how come they never sell me with the box and protection etc...now that we sending back need all this rubbish ??? Packaging Please use the original packaging when possible in returning your product. Use the following approved packaging (http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/packaging2.htm) guidelines as applicable: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Author Share March 25, 2012 too many breaking down liao...that's why i thinking of warranty...and the thing is that did they purposely make returning difficult...if it is so...then they should not give 5 yrs warranty...cause it is not feasible...just a marketing thing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 I don't deny it's troublesome. Unfortunately, unless they have an area whereby u can physically drop it off. No choice. Nowadays, i might not bother and just buy a new one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 Hitachi Global Storage Technologies Singapore Pte Ltd. c/o UPS SCS (Singapore) Pte Ltd,RMA Dept 31 ALPS Avenue, #03-00 SINGAPORE 498784 SINGAPORE I think they probably don't like customer to send directly...They want you to courier!!! aiyoh !! ALPS avenue is not restricted area lah ... just drive to their building straight but when you enter their premises, you need to change i.c. for visitor pass (like mosts other places with own security). free parking. packing part, i cannot comment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 call their hotline for advice lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Author Share March 25, 2012 ya it is in the cargo complex area...need change visitor pass a bit troublesome leh...ha ha ha...ok ok...maybe i am really lazy [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Author Share March 25, 2012 ya..maybe will call and tell them I buy without box...so where to find box ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 ya it is in the cargo complex area...need change visitor pass a bit troublesome leh...ha ha ha...ok ok...maybe i am really lazy [laugh] its actually in the extended area outside the cargo complex ... no police will check on you ... but the building security will need you to change their own pass though. after that maybe can pop by the canteen nearby for some roast duck rice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 Alps la, not sats... Alps is a hasslefree place while sats is abit troublesome for the general public. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 25, 2012 Author Share March 25, 2012 humm....i'm confused...so there is no need to go in thru airline rd ?? can give some direction ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 Wonder if any of you all have any experience?? Two of my 500GB HD brought around the same time...around two years ago decided to go dead together...one from Hitachi and one from WD...So I go online for warranty... Hitachi collection is with UPS inside cargo complex...so to go in...you need change pass all the trouble... WD I think is accessible to public... then they have all those packing instruction...anti-static bag...box...foam inside box...it seem that they discourage pple to exchange their defective HD by making the process very tedious.... any experience from anyone?? hey i got 2 WD, 1x1TB & 1x500GB also problematic ... u got any link how to do the WD RMA thingies? was too busy & lazy to do it ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged March 25, 2012 Share March 25, 2012 Alps la, not sats... Alps is a hasslefree place while sats is abit troublesome for the general public. heheh ... i am not in the general public pool ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...