How to make public toilet not so smelly?

KARTer

getting locals to pee properly in toilets is as difficult as it is to get locals to clear trays/plates/food from food establishment themselves..no amount of education can work if the parents do not set an example

Yes, every father should train his kids to aim properly, I am not sure what the mothers can teach her daughters....?

you very naughty.. got hidden message [laugh]

No leh, this dirty look is really dirty look, not naughty look, these two got difference....LOL :D

Construction sites toilets are not much better..... [:(]

Construction sites toilets are temporary only. Those in shipyard have been there for years yet no improvement.

During my days, had to do duties when ship in yard. Got to urine, sh!t n bath in that toilet. The smell was omg terrible. Then behind the cubicle doors, lots of phone numbers to call for horny ppl or a lot of undiscovered artists. [laugh]

Visit one n the kopitiam ones looks like a whole lot cleaner. [laugh]

Usually public toilet means loose woman [sly]

So you read this thread hoping the posts talk about such women? So how, dissappointed by not finding such posts so far?! :D

those kopitiams or food center must have their toilets hygiene standards up.can some NEA or authorities go stand by area them?if no meet standards then confine the shop owners in the toilets for the weekend.

The last part Best!! [thumbsup]

There are two basic problems to be managed:-

First: odour from unrine even when dried up as stains

Second: odour from urine vapour float upwards as warm air lighter than colder air

The types of ventilation currently available are not meant for odour evacuation [shakehead]

The types of urinals currently available are not meant for odourless performance [shakehead]

The Sanitary Plumbing practices today often left out odour management, for one reason or another [shakehead]

Exisiting building designs are not meant to have odourless toilet [shakehead]

Perhaps only solution left: engage me to renovate the place [laugh]

But what renovations can solve what you mentioned?

I still recall army open air field toilet:- very simple, just dig deep holes in the ground, pour lots of sulphur powder inside, use gunning-sack-cloth as partitions for a bit of privacy..... :D

I not too sure about yours but when mine mets the stainless sheet, the pressure will sent it everywhere [laugh]

Wow!! High pressure water jet!!.... Can be use for car wash?! :D

getting locals to pee properly in toilets is as difficult as it is to get locals to clear trays/plates/food from food establishment themselves..no amount of education can work if the parents do not set an example

Yup, it's really a matter of habits. It's gonna take hell of an effort to educate people to have good toilet habits.

But at the same time, I also believe that the design of toilets can be improved. For example, it makes no sense for the hand towels / hand dryer to be far away from the sink as it will only encourage people to wet the floor.

Used the toilet located at taiwan MTR station, the toilet is used by many people and yet the toilet is not smelly and quite clean. :blink:

Ya i used their toilets in mtr tats y v shocked also lol

But what renovations can solve what you mentioned?

I still recall army open air field toilet:- very simple, just dig deep holes in the ground, pour lots of sulphur powder inside, use gunning-sack-cloth as partitions for a bit of privacy..... :D

Most renovation contractors are not Plumbers. Most plumbers are not renovation contractors. They can understand half the theories, so deliver half-baked jobs, which most laymen have to accept out of ignorance

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

when i moved to new house in the 90s, i wasnt used to the sitting bowl until sometime later....now u ask me to squat i cant come out and also my legs will feel cramp and feel i stand up suddenly, i will feel giddy!

That squatting position may help you avoid some constipation/prostrate cancer and the likes. [laugh] You felt giddy because no xmm around. [laugh]

show me a post to say i am happily pissing on the floor please. :huh:

I only know Thread title, how to make public toilets less smelly.

model answer is to treat the toilet as your own. but we know, alot of ppl in singapore dont do that (although i do) so what is the next best option?? find ways to cover the smell.

I dont think i am wrong to suggest ioniser. -_-

Got more cheaper/effective method. ioniser needs operational cost [laugh]

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

Yes, every father should train his kids to aim properly, I am not sure what the mothers can teach her daughters....?

I believe many are taught by maids. So no maids help him to pee correctly? [laugh]

How to make public toilet not so smelly?

... allocate more resource to clean it lor.

If every hour still stink, make it every half hour lor. If still stink... every minute lor.

Yup, it's really a matter of habits. It's gonna take hell of an effort to educate people to have good toilet habits.

But at the same time, I also believe that the design of toilets can be improved. For example, it makes no sense for the hand towels / hand dryer to be far away from the sink as it will only encourage people to wet the floor.

I believe the people who 'design' never wash hand type [laugh]

Got more cheaper/effective method. ioniser needs operational cost [laugh]

hire FW to clean toilet every 30 min :ph34r: