Vulcann 6th Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 (edited) The policy makers are going bananas over the present low birth rate or the total fertility rate (TFR) of 1.2 amongst us which is well below the replacement rate of 2.1. As such, they are advocating bringing in immigrants of 25,000/yr to be on the safe side. Of course this is an emotive issue which does not really go down well with many citizens... Anyway having children to me is mainly a personal choice and I dare say many parents are not thinking of the BIG picture of having kids for the sake of the future of Singapore. I have friends or relatives who are mostly having at least 2 kids so the TFR of 1.2 is not prevalent amongst folks I know. In fact there are 4 young couples I know of having 3 kids each and tellingly they are affluent, with three of them staying in landed properties and with in-laws and maids helping out in the care-giving. There are of course couples I know who are adamant about not having kids and wanting to enjoy living out the DINKs aka 二人世界 lifestyle. To them personal freedom and enjoying their undisturbed lifesyle beats the h*ll outa having to have babies and painstakingly nurturing them to adulthood. Then there are those singles who does not even habour the thought of settling down or whom have not met the right one and like the DINK couples are earning their keeps and enjoy singlehood life as they know how. For us, we have two naughty chewren and is the best thing that has happened to us and though we are not staying in swanky condos or driving big cars, we are happy and contented with the HDB living and having a beat-up B&B car for transport. Life is not luxurious but we get by. Holidays are short family getaways to Malaysia and Thailand. What about you? For those who are married or cohabiting, care to share why you have kids or do not wish to have one? How is it affecting your lifestyle? Edited April 26, 2012 by Vulcann ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 time definitely sacrified a lot, since my kid was born, i had never slept through the entire night soundly except for when i was in ICT. now always wake up change diapers at least once in the middle of the night for kid. but, the joy, is watching them grow up, hmmm, won't trade that for anything else in the world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 like western medicine - 治标不治本. sigh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 here also got discussion: http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=13496 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 26, 2012 Author Share April 26, 2012 here also got discussion: http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=13496 [sweatdrop] Bro better dun go there. Aiyo wait mods think this is another gahment-bashing thread so better clarify again that this is a purely discussion forum on why folks are having or not having kids and the reaons behind them. 拜托,拜托! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 [sweatdrop] Bro better dun go there. Aiyo wait mods think this is another gahment-bashing thread so better clarify again that this is a purely discussion forum on why folks are having or not having kids and the reaons behind them. 拜托,拜托! no leh those guys on the other side are shouting ho sei liao!!! bec they get to rent out their property Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 (edited) Well first things first. Birth rate is not 1.2 It is fertility rate that was around 1.2 in 2011. This year in 2012, fertility rate is expected to sink to an all time world record low of 0.78 according to a CIA estimate. Previous years were characterized by low fertility rate but gradually declining 2007 > 1.29 2008 > 1.28 2009 > 1.22 2010 > 1.15 2011 > 1.20 but downtrend suddenly accelerated in 2012 and COLLAPSES TO 2012 > 0.78 (based on initial CIA Estimate) This move from 1.2 to 0.78 is a freaking big decrease that takes place over one year. So far so good, the people in charge here are very quiet about this exacerbating "crisis" Edited April 26, 2012 by CKP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 I only scare we will be another dubai, anything wrong with this country, all run road and left the local to fend ourselves, everywhere will become a ghost town.. So miw muz make sure this country for the next few decades bo tai ji, its like a gamble imo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 the CIA are ang mohs they miscalc the dragon year effect la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 Well first things first. Birth rate is not 1.2 It is fertility rate that was around 1.2 in 2011. This year in 2012, fertility rate is expected to sink to an all time world record low of 0.78 according to a CIA estimate. Previous years were characterized by low fertility rate but gradually declining 2007 > 1.29 2008 > 1.28 2009 > 1.22 2010 > 1.15 2011 > 1.20 but downtrend suddenly accelerated in 2012 and COLLAPSES TO 2012 > 0.78 (based on initial CIA Estimate) This move from 1.2 to 0.78 is a freaking big decrease that takes place over one year. So far so good, the people in charge here are very quiet about this exacerbating "crisis" Whoa!!!! you dont say, i also dont know!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 (edited) the CIA are ang mohs they miscalc the dragon year effect la Dragon year does not only affect Singapore. Other Far East countries which also follow the chinese lunar calendar like Singapore, shows no such large drop off in fertility rate of 1.2 to 0.78. 219 Taiwan 1.16 2012 est. 220 Hong Kong 1.09 2012 est. (previous years were 1.05 region) 221 Macau 0.92 2012 est. (previous years were 0.9 to 1.05 region) Edited April 26, 2012 by CKP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 (edited) Whoa!!!! you dont say, i also dont know!!!! Like I said, the people in charge here are not known for upfront/full transparency when it comes to the state of affairs. The standard release for fertility rate 2012 will be released by the PM in Jan of 2013, about 9 months from now. Do you prefer to know NOW or next year Jan from official public figures??? Edited April 26, 2012 by CKP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 Like I said, the people in charge here are not known for upfront/full transparency when it comes to the state of affairs. The standard release for fertility rate 2012 will be released by the PM in Jan of 2013, about 9 months from now. Do you prefer to know NOW or next year Jan from official public figures??? no wonder they wanna import so many people Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 Road they say crowded, scared get worse, so use COE control. Singapore also crowded but they not scared get worse, in fact want to make it more crowded. End up natives get squeezed on all sides. Are immigrants really a substitute for children? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevelim82 Clutched April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 The policy makers are going bananas over the present low birth rate or the total fertility rate (TFR) of 1.2 amongst us which is well below the replacement rate of 2.1. As such, they are advocating bringing in immigrants of 25,000/yr to be on the safe side. Of course this is an emotive issue which does not really go down well with many citizens... Anyway having children to me is mainly a personal choice and I dare say many parents are not thinking of the BIG picture of having kids for the sake of the future of Singapore. I have friends or relatives who are mostly having at least 2 kids so the TFR of 1.2 is not prevalent amongst folks I know. In fact there are 4 young couples I know of having 3 kids each and tellingly they are affluent, with three of them staying in landed properties and with in-laws and maids helping out in the care-giving. There are of course couples I know who are adamant about not having kids and wanting to enjoy living out the DINKs aka 二人世界 lifestyle. To them personal freedom and enjoying their undisturbed lifesyle beats the h*ll outa having to have babies and painstakingly nurturing them to adulthood. Then there are those singles who does not even habour the thought of settling down or whom have not met the right one and like the DINK couples are earning their keeps and enjoy singlehood life as they know how. For us, we have two naughty chewren and is the best thing that has happened to us and though we are not staying in swanky condos or driving big cars, we are happy and contented with the HDB living and having a beat-up B&B car for transport. Life is not luxurious but we get by. Holidays are short family getaways to Malaysia and Thailand. What about you? For those who are married or cohabiting, care to share why you have kids or do not wish to have one? How is it affecting your lifestyle? y make so much noise after the election. the 60% vote for PAP and delightful being puppets of PAP. They are making millions out of our sufferings but still there are people agreed to their policy. So ymake so much noise again and again. We should realise long ago we are being taken advantage by them. Too much of sacrifies and little gains. U people make the choice right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 I believe once most HDB owners feel rich. They will be more willing to have more children. I think 2012 onwards we will have higher figures, not forgetting contributions from those news citizens that gov allowed in huge numbers in the past five years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 Everyday see traffic jam still not enough. 20 yrs ago with low COE, traffic was much better. Guess where all the jam comes from ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 no wonder they wanna import so many people Actually low births and low fertility rates NOW in 2012 only affect working population size 25 years later. The importing now of working age immigrants is to make up for the "deficiency" of births some 25 years ago in 1987. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...