Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 Yes. That's another one which can be tasty if cooked by the right mama. Good alternative and has its own unique taste. Similarly to the Indian beehoon goreng. Yum.. yumm... Have a nice day Bro. What I eat Today's lunch : 3 slices of Bread with Cheese spread. Where : Office Damage : Pride ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 No worry. You'll probably come across when I post it. Meanwhile, you moonshine har? Reminds me of those days when it was illegally done by those who needs cheap high processed through those big drums. After so many exchanges with you, it is not surprising that you know how to do it too. However, I'm pleasantly surprised that you know how to prepare food for those in confinement. Black chicken included??? Have fun cooking! I use a porcelain jug, not very big. Yes, black chicken too. I did my wife's confinement, from "Cow sar" to well.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 Bro, next time my wifey is preggy and baby pop out, i know who to look for confinement food. Cannot lah bro. wine own consumption ok, not for sale, wait kana tangkap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 What I eat Today's lunch : 3 slices of Bread with Cheese spread. Where : Office Damage : Pride I worse, no makan, waiting to go gym then dinner at home. Lagi no pride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 2, 2012 Author Share May 2, 2012 I use a porcelain jug, not very big. Yes, black chicken too. I did my wife's confinement, from "Cow sar" to well.... Hi Bro, below's the pic of the grengseng which you may or may not recognise. Used for nyonya chang, agar agar (seaweed collected from the beach, dried under the sun and boiled with rock sugar in this cauldron before being poured into the porcelain mould of various designs), sasagoon etc.. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 I used to enjoy good Indian mee goreng which used to be very tasty back in the 60s and 70s. However, I find it difficult to find similar tasty mee goreng today which at the same time tend to be more oily. The earlier mee goreng had simple ingredients such as: a) big onion b) chye sim c) potatoe d) taukwa (yellow beancurd) e) fresh tomato f) green chilli fried together with tomato and red chilli sauce and with or without egg. However, today's mee goreng ingredients tend to consist of: a) big onion b) cabbage c) corn d) fish cake e) prawn (yes and no) f) potatoe g) fresh green or red chilli fried together with tomato and red chilli sauce and with or without egg Apparently, the additional ingredients tend to have an adverse affect on the taste of today's mee goreng as opposed to what I used to have. Therefore, can anyone recommend where good mee goreng can currently be found within Singapore as I've yet to find one to date? Cheers! I know the one at Tekka used to come from Satay Club.. The one with purple signboard.. Name is something like Ajmar Sharif .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 2, 2012 Author Share May 2, 2012 I know the one at Tekka used to come from Satay Club.. The one with purple signboard.. Name is something like Ajmar Sharif .. Hi SGP1965G, thank you for the reference. Raymondism gave me a link which led me to consider that same stall which I mentioned in Post No. 115. Have you tried the stall and can you share your views? Have a nice day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 Hi SGP1965G, thank you for the reference. Raymondism gave me a link which led me to consider that same stall which I mentioned in Post No. 115. Have you tried the stall and can you share your views? Have a nice day! haha.. I am their regular customer.. I go there at least twice a week.. No , I am not affiliated with them.. Since young , I have tried at Beach Road , Opposite Textile centre , Adam Road , Boon Keng food centre.. Nothing comes close to this taste.. The mee is cooked just nice,.. not too oily.. not too dry.. just right.. portions are generous though they dont put much mutton pieces into it.. pricing wise.. $4 for a packet,,, which 2 can makan shiok.. Hope you find it good too bro.. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 2, 2012 Author Share May 2, 2012 haha.. I am their regular customer.. I go there at least twice a week.. No , I am not affiliated with them.. Since young , I have tried at Beach Road , Opposite Textile centre , Adam Road , Boon Keng food centre.. Nothing comes close to this taste.. The mee is cooked just nice,.. not too oily.. not too dry.. just right.. portions are generous though they dont put much mutton pieces into it.. pricing wise.. $4 for a packet,,, which 2 can makan shiok.. Hope you find it good too bro.. Thanks for the views. Will definitely make a trip there and share my views here. Just dislike meat or any extra ingredients than the original mee goreng I used to have. Just need to ask them to leave out the extras when they cook. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 Yeah, family recipes, improved over the years. At least I had the privilege of cooking a nice meal for my 1st Uncle before he passed away 2 months ago. He always loved my ondeh ondeh. Well....I'm happy he enjoyed it. boss.. ondeh ondeh you have to boil it right? care to share methods? Long time I wanted to make my own.. thanks [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 Thanks for the views. Will definitely make a trip there and share my views here. Just dislike meat or any extra ingredients than the original mee goreng I used to have. Just need to ask them to leave out the extras when they cook. Cheers! haha.. sure man.. I am waiting for your view on it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 boss.. ondeh ondeh you have to boil it right? care to share methods? Long time I wanted to make my own.. thanks [laugh] My way of doing it, is tedious. The simpler way is use flour and sweet potatoes if you have the time, mashed up and mix with some water and pandan essence. Precut gula melaka roll into the dough and dump into boiling water, when it surfaces, it's cooked, then roll onto grated coconut, and pop into mouth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 4, 2012 Author Share May 4, 2012 (edited) haha.. sure man.. I am waiting for your view on it.. Had the mee goreng of Ajimer Sharif. The stall seemed well patronised. However, the mee goreng I had was ordinary and wasn't fried long enough. Perhaps, too quickly done and insufficient oil and egg. Further, the green chillies were not fried together with the mee. Didn't suit my taste bud. Suggest you try Telok Ayer Hawker Center (which I think is better) and share your views too. Will share with folks here after trying out another stall. Have a nice weekend and Happy Vesak Day! Edited May 4, 2012 by Neutralsg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Can provide the stall number or name for the one at Telok Ayer(Amoy Street) Food Centre??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 No bro. I don't recollect this item in the household. When we made nonya chang or steamed glutinous rice, my granny had the "tinker" (they had this skilled craftsman who made items out of Tin) make a steamer/cooker, out of old oil tin cans. (huge) they had a lid made, and a perforated tray rack for steaming. We'd boil water then cook the chang (lid covered, and very nice and tight) over charcoal fire. My family hardly made any desserts like agar agar, kuays yes, never heard of. Could be the different ethnic groups, as Peranakans have Hokkiens, Teochews, Haka etc... Hi Bro, below's the pic of the grengseng which you may or may not recognise. Used for nyonya chang, agar agar (seaweed collected from the beach, dried under the sun and boiled with rock sugar in this cauldron before being poured into the porcelain mould of various designs), sasagoon etc.. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Can provide the stall number or name for the one at Telok Ayer(Amoy Street) Food Centre??? I believe it should be the one on the second level, behind the famous lor mee stall, staircase up, past lor mee stall on the right, next row, first corner stall on your right. (Street view on your left) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 5, 2012 Author Share May 5, 2012 No bro. I don't recollect this item in the household. When we made nonya chang or steamed glutinous rice, my granny had the "tinker" (they had this skilled craftsman who made items out of Tin) make a steamer/cooker, out of old oil tin cans. (huge) they had a lid made, and a perforated tray rack for steaming. We'd boil water then cook the chang (lid covered, and very nice and tight) over charcoal fire. My family hardly made any desserts like agar agar, kuays yes, never heard of. Could be the different ethnic groups, as Peranakans have Hokkiens, Teochews, Haka etc... You're correct in that there are different ethnic groups of Peranakans. Hence, while the lingo may be shared, the slang may also differ. Talking about kuehs, those like pulot inti, kueh lapis, kueh baulu, kueh belanda (love letters) etc.. are usually commonly shared among the different ethnics and often similar to each other except kuehs like the lapis which could be of flour or glutinous rice. In the past, we usually use fire wood for cooking rather than charcoal which were more expensive. Anyway, thanks for sharing! Have a great weekend! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 I believe it should be the one on the second level, behind the famous lor mee stall, staircase up, past lor mee stall on the right, next row, first corner stall on your right. (Street view on your left) other than lormee..wat else is good there? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...