Discussion on Gout problem

LoverofCar

Does it only affect the feet?

I got it on my left ankle, that's partly why I choose to drive an auto vehicle..... [laugh]

One of my friends got it on his big toe while another on his fingers...... [bigcry]

go veggie diet?

Nah.......just eat every thing in moderation.....no need to completely give up your favourite food but just keep it low in vol.....but must really avoid alcohol..... [laugh]

Basically the uric acid got too saturated and became crystallised stuffs in the joints which hurts like hell when it forms...

Best way is to drink lots of water so that the uric acid becomes diluted, in fact, that's what my doc recommends..

Of course avoid high purine stuffs like red meat (beef, duck, intestinal organs), bean stuffs, alcohol..

Works for me... Cheers!!

Edited by Heng51

If you have Gout, chances are you will have high blood pressure as well, buy more insurance lah.

it'll be too late then 'cos the new insurance will exclude coverage arising due to gout...... [laugh]

Don't buy worse, high blood will lead to stroke, best case cannot move, worst case die on the spot.

hey friend you not consistent leh

how come you never ask TS

what has this thread got anything to do with car forum

oh oh forgot

cars get gout too

sorry sorri

pai seh

hi are you C78

I hear that tart and black cherries are good.

My brother living in US. I asked him to mail back a box of cherry supplements (~$7 a bottle. Damn cheap. About...$50 a bottle here?).

I've been taking them for about 2 months already. Haven't had an attack since. But still a bit too early to draw conclusion. Either way.....you might want to give it a try.

But, yeah, keep some colchine (however you spell it) with you.....and those NSAD as well.

I heard eat bitter gourd is good for curing gout.

I also heard should avoid bean curd too.

Also should exercise more.

I have gout since 25 and though it's more like you get it after 40 years old. Discover it gene related and run in the family. You have to look at your family tree and if either the father side or mother side have it , you may inherit it. It's quite painful and as some one put it , you may take colchicine but that's more a preventative medication and if Gout flare out , cochichine may not be useful and you have to go for anti-inflammatory medication. I used to take Indomethachine but nowadays not easy to find . Btw , if cant tahan the pain, you can drop by any clinic for a painkiller jab. This is very effective and the pain can be gone almost immediately However, you may get resistance to the painkiller , meaning that it's get less and less effective . Other than the common food like red meat and nuts and beans related food to avoid , I find 100 plus to be a real trigger for me. I used to do lots of sports and takes lots of 100 plus and my gout trigger almost every week. I realize once I stop taking 100 plus and just take plain water , my frequency of attack drop to almost nil.. However , that's my experience and your mileage or trigger could e different. Btw one interesting aspect of Gout is that it's always happens at or after midnight. I later found out that because our stomach stopped working in the night and thats when the Gout flare up. The gout crystal would travel through our blood stream and would deposit at the lowest part of our body due to gravity ie normally the right or left toe. Gout happens becoz our pancrea could not process the Purin in the food and this would leads to a high production of Uris acid. Purin are mostly find in the skin of nuts and beans etc..hopes that's help for any new gout sufferer.

oh oh forgot

cars get gout too

sorry sorri

pai seh

If this is about your post on the dentist, alright I'll jump in as the dispassionate observer.

The forum has a topic structure. You posted the dentist story under

Singapore No. 1 Car Forum & Car Club - MyCarForum > MCF Forum Related > Feedback & Suggestions

Hence the question about what that has to do with a car forum.

This story is under

Singapore No. 1 Car Forum & Car Club - MyCarForum > Others > Lite & EZ

Edited by Nostalgia

oh oh forgot

cars get gout too

sorry sorri

pai seh

hi are you C78

what friend? what consistent?

This is Lite & Ez, he is asking something serious.

what the f--k is a dentist thread doing in Feedback & Suggestions?

cars got gout? And you got a f--king problem.

what C78? C250 I am driving one.

food to avoid (in priority)

- seafood, internal body parts, alcohol, all beans & nuts especially groundnut, soya bean, bean curd, etc

- chicken broth, any kind of essence, soup with high purine (chinese saying "old fire soup")

- brocolli, asparagus, etc

- mooncake, durian, etc

- basically all good food cannot be taken by gout patient. gout = good life disease because eat too much good food

cure

- allopurinol, no permanent solution. have to keep taking the tablet for life.

pain

- colchicine + indomethacin, in worst condition have to take injection of pain killer

People

As we know, in this modern world, Gout problem is a common disease for city people...Some call it the ''rich man'' sickness...well of course I don't agree as I'm not rich and yet kana it...The issue of this sickness is that it will affect your daily movement when it attacks and you live a life that is so miserable and at times, you feel like dying....It will go away with some medicine after some days but it is undestood that the root cause is very hard to cure.....Let's share your expensive on this..

1) What food to avoid?

2) What alternative cure, beside western medicine, that you seek to prevent it?

3) How you deal with the pain and what happen to you when it attacks...

Open discussion...Hope this helps to share useful info for all...

4th Gear

food to avoid (in priority)

- seafood, internal body parts, alcohol, all beans & nuts especially groundnut, soya bean, bean curd, etc

- chicken broth, any kind of essence, soup with high purine (chinese saying "old fire soup")

- brocolli, asparagus, etc

- mooncake, durian, etc

- basically all good food cannot be taken by gout patient. gout = good life disease because eat too much good food

cure

- allopurinol, no permanent solution. have to keep taking the tablet for life.

pain

- colchicine + indomethacin, in worst condition have to take injection of pain killer

I only take allo when I feel that the gout is flaring up, else just lots of water.......

Actually Indomethacine or in a more serious flare up, Colchicine is what you should take. Allopurinol is a slow acting drug that reduces the production of uric acid and needs to be taken long term. During a flare up, allopurinol could actually aggravate the symptoms.

Yup. colchicine is better. However, tends to induce diarrhoea, cos it detoxifies the body