Fireball0088 5th Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 Our road traffic are shaped by our social behaviour. If beyond a certain percentage of road users (40% ? 50% ?) practice defensive driving, the social behaviour will also change. If we are locked in with "I win, you win" situation, it will go nowhere. I think honking is good precautionary measure, but I wouldn't agree with speeding up to block the lane, endanger oneself and also other road users just like the one TS mentioned. yes, only if the other guy understand you are so gracious and not otherwise. don't have to speed up to block him, just let him know by honking is enough. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 some ppl can signal forever, u giv way they oso scare to cut in... dan after pass by them, see them cut in slowly with TOTALLY no vehicle behind... some ppl signal dan cut in like tortoise, still remaining in the middle of 2 lanes... all sorts of drivers out there, u name it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 As above ... Met a SJE Altis (metallic greyish green) 3 cars (including mine at last) travelling at 120km/h on Lane 1 along KJE, with about 1 car length in between each other. Then I saw a fast coming Altis from rearview mirror. It tried to cut to lane 2, but a slower moving car was there, thus it cut back to lane 1 behind me. Then it cut to lane 2 again, but got close to mine at side. Next moment at 3/4 Altis length ahead of me, he signalled and cut in front of me. at 120km/h (some may say not fast etc) with abt 1 car length, I had to tap brake. But I gave hi-beam & honk. When I caught up with it at a traffic, I went towards it and told the driver how could he cut in just like that ... he said he signalled, and I only honk & hi-beam after he cut ... then the typical arguement errupted ... he then say he in rush thus no time to talk to me, unduly Singaporean. If want I can go report police! I told him signal means big deal and can go as wish ? So signal is really big F, that one can do anything after singalling? I took 2 pic of his lic plate, but unfortunately effort very blur. But I bet he could remember my plate as mine was much more easier to remember ... stay tune in MCF, for this "atas" uncle may put an complaint thread here against me ... 3 cars, so your car was the 1st of the 3? cut one car also shiok. lastly, if you are driving at 120, if he need to cut you, does that means after cutting you, he travelled at more than 120? (if not, he just stick behind you la....) (if yes, you must have accelerated to catch up with him at the traffic lights) bottom line... people just dunno how to queue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 3 cars, so your car was the 1st of the 3? cut one car also shiok. lastly, if you are driving at 120, if he need to cut you, does that means after cutting you, he travelled at more than 120? (if not, he just stick behind you la....) (if yes, you must have accelerated to catch up with him at the traffic lights) bottom line... people just dunno how to queue. and there are pple who just let others cut their queue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 some ppl can signal forever, u giv way they oso scare to cut in... dan after pass by them, see them cut in slowly with TOTALLY no vehicle behind... some ppl signal dan cut in like tortoise, still remaining in the middle of 2 lanes... all sorts of drivers out there, u name it... sometime they signal is ask you to go faster so they can cut in behind you. normally i do that when my speed is not up to par with the other lane speed. signal liao wait if the driver happen to give way then move in. if not normally i wait for that car to speed up over me then i cut in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 (edited) As above ... Met a SJE Altis (metallic greyish green) 3 cars (including mine at last) travelling at 120km/h on Lane 1 along KJE, with about 1 car length in between each other. Then I saw a fast coming Altis from rearview mirror. It tried to cut to lane 2, but a slower moving car was there, thus it cut back to lane 1 behind me. Then it cut to lane 2 again, but got close to mine at side. Next moment at 3/4 Altis length ahead of me, he signalled and cut in front of me. at 120km/h (some may say not fast etc) with abt 1 car length, I had to tap brake. But I gave hi-beam & honk. When I caught up with it at a traffic, I went towards it and told the driver how could he cut in just like that ... he said he signalled, and I only honk & hi-beam after he cut ... then the typical arguement errupted ... he then say he in rush thus no time to talk to me, unduly Singaporean. If want I can go report police! I told him signal means big deal and can go as wish ? So signal is really big F, that one can do anything after singalling? I took 2 pic of his lic plate, but unfortunately effort very blur. But I bet he could remember my plate as mine was much more easier to remember ... stay tune in MCF, for this "atas" uncle may put an complaint thread here against me ... That means u r still not fast enough for close up infront gap.. try harder next time..i Edited May 11, 2012 by Aaron_soh80 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 sometime they signal is ask you to go faster so they can cut in behind you. normally i do that when my speed is not up to par with the other lane speed. signal liao wait if the driver happen to give way then move in. if not normally i wait for that car to speed up over me then i cut in. dan can i suggest u dun signal until that vehicle pass u? it is misleading man... for such cases, if i dun give way ppl say i purposely one... if i give way, dan i kana fool around... iirc, 10yrs ago we were taught during our driving lesson to start signalling only when we feel safe to change lane? now no? now, ppl teaching u to signal even if so many cars behind u and after tat fool them when they give way to u? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jflcorp Neutral Newbie May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 Signal liao doesnt mean can cut in. its just a signal of intend and they still have to judge safety distant before switching lane. most driver in singapore are very lousy in this. Agreed. Some after turning only signal, kena bang, say "already signalled what?" Maybe licence buy from food court. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 They are not right, but don't be angry. I would try to practice defensive driving and give way, anyway. Even if don't signal, see them behaving strangely, moving in and out of lane, go slow and then pass them as soon as possible. Agreed yesterday at customer this jaybee's plate car reaching the immigration and he slow down while on the right n i on the left. knowingly he will turns left suddenly n he did, lucky keeping a car length i pon him. he got shock n sway back to his lane n nearly hit the divider.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 (edited) dan can i suggest u dun signal until that vehicle pass u? it is misleading man... for such cases, if i dun give way ppl say i purposely one... if i give way, dan i kana fool around... iirc, 10yrs ago we were taught during our driving lesson to start signalling only when we feel safe to change lane? now no? now, ppl teaching u to signal even if so many cars behind u and after tat fool them when they give way to u? 10 years ago they teach. signal for intend first. then see if safety to switch lane. if safety, then switch. anyway read my post, if you give way, i move in. if dont no hard feeling, it was for you to move forward. some dont move until they see signal. Also, if check liao clear then signal and move in. ppl will say signal and move?? that is inconsiderate. signal liao wait and see ppl say slow. Edited May 11, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheRationalVoice 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 I must say the act complained of appears to be more common by the day. What is needed is more TP on the roads. Another solution is to adopt a 2 tiered approach in granting licences, as is the case in Canada. No surprises why canada refuses to convert Singapore drivers licenses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 Haiz, Met plenty of this Type of kuku driver and if i were to post a video of every kuku driver, i think i will create 2-3 thread everyday :D One (Old Guy) even more power, He ignore my horn and force me all the way into a bus stop lol. I was like so WTF lol. Just Give and take ba, Sometimes not worth getting flare up, Not good for health and he also dont care u angry or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 Aiya forget it la. You avoided a likely accident and is safe. That is the most important. Who knows what might have happened if you tried to close the gap and wack him and end up both spin out of control cos a slight touch at 120km/hr is no joke. You or the altis guy could be dead, seriously hurt etc. Chill. The weekends just arrived. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stussyboy Neutral Newbie May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 My friend, a pedestrian was hit and run this morning at around 6am along Woodlands Ave 3 near Blk320 by an unknown vehicle at the pedestrian crossing. He is now in ICU. Im appealing here for eyewitness. Any info is of great help. Please contact me at 97949205 if u saw the accident. I'm posting here because my account has not enough privilege to post. Any kind soul can help me start a new thread. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 (edited) How to force you if your foot is not on the accelerator ? He point a gun at your head or shoe stick to pedal ? Just take it easy bro. He slowly slowly eat in even after i horn him, No choice to avoid an accident so i siam into a bus stop lo, [sweatdrop] Btw we are moving. not stationary lol, Edited May 11, 2012 by Bigbadguy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 what's new ??? good he never tell you that he already give face to you by signal...else can't even bother...this is singapore...we are always right.... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X3mblack Clutched May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 Forget it la, everyday you will see kuku drivers. I really give up. When I used to worked at changi business parl, every morning, vehicles will que up along Xilinx rd after ECP exit to turn into Changi Business Park. Every morning, without fail, a black Mazda 3 driven by a lady will just jump que and got right to the front. Some people are just ungracious and often caused other drivers to tulan. So what do they do? Can't beat her, join her and jump que. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aj2009 Neutral Newbie May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 Forget it la, everyday you will see kuku drivers. I really give up. When I used to worked at changi business parl, every morning, vehicles will que up along Xilinx rd after ECP exit to turn into Changi Business Park. Every morning, without fail, a black Mazda 3 driven by a lady will just jump que and got right to the front. Some people are just ungracious and often caused other drivers to tulan. So what do they do? Can't beat her, join her and jump que. she lady ma, then give way to her lo, if i signal i straight cut inside liao mai tu liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...