Scb11980 1st Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 the back-up guy why we always want to see only the negative the back-up guy is so passionate about his political party that he is willing to be ridicule to ensure his party wins ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 the back-up guy why we always want to see only the negative the back-up guy is so passionate about his political party that he is willing to be ridicule to ensure his party wins In this society, a lot of ppl only look at quality. But nobody looks at PASSION. Technical skiill can be pick up if one has the passion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 Ok the first shell has landed. More to come... From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1201644/1/.html Hougang voters urged to give PAP's Choo mandate to serve them better By Vimita Mohandas | Posted: 16 May 2012 SINGAPORE: National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said the People's Action Party (PAP) fully endorses Mr Desmond Choo as its candidate for the by-election in Hougang. He told reporters at the nomination centre on Wednesday that the party has watched him at very close range, especially after he became Chairman of its Hougang branch. "He's a very good-hearted man although he describes himself sometimes as 'how seh kia' - that means very young kid but actually he's very mature and competent and has distinguished himself in all his previous careers including now in the NTUC," said Mr Khaw. "So the last General Election has not daunted him - neither his fighting spirit nor his passion to serve. So he stays on and reaches out to as many homes as he can in Hougang and is helping them. And in the short one year, he has initiated several initiatives; just imagine what more he can do if he got the mandate from the people from Hougang." Mr Khaw said the party stands fully behind Mr Choo and will assist him where it can. But he's his own man and knows the ground better. Mr Khaw said this is an opportunity for the voters of Hougang to give an honest and competent man with good ideas the mandate, so that he can do even more to serve them. Asked about Mr Choo's chances in the by-election, Mr Khaw said: "He told me he will be fighting uphill but whatever the fight, he is a fighting man." He said Mr Choo is passionate about wanting to serve in what he described as a difficult environment. "Knock on every door, some doors don't open to him, did not open to him, but in recent months, more open to him now. So people can see, connect. He meant well, he's sincere and he has ideas. So within a short one year, he has tried various things and I'm sure if he has got the mandate of the people, he can do even more. The party stands fully in support behind him, both as a candidate as well as an elected MP, should he get the support of the people and the mandate from the people of Hougang," said Mr Khaw. Mr Khaw noted that Hougang has been served by the Workers' Party's (WP) Low Thia Khiang for 20 years. "Last year, he moved on and handed it over to Yaw Shin Leong. Unfortunately, Mr Yaw got into trouble, disgraced himself and disappointed all the voters. And the worse thing is leave just like that without a word - not a single word of explanation or apology. I find that utterly irresponsible and in fact, arrogant, taking the voters for granted," said Mr Khaw. Asked how the issue of Dr Poh Lee Guan, another WP member, affects Mr Choo's chances, Mr Khaw replied that he's not familiar the situation in the WP. "It sounds very complicated and it sounds exciting too for people looking in. One by one, some resign, some get sacked for whatever the reason, some become unhappy with the leadership. It's too complicated for us. For us, we come to politics to serve. So we have a common cause. So you decide what's important for Singaporeans and as a party, we stay united. Of course, if you come in and don't share a common goal, that's very hard to be together. Because if within the party, if you can't stay united, can you imagine if you're in power, how do you run a country? Every day, some ministers are resigning or sacked, I think that's very troublesome for Singapore," said Mr Khaw. - CNA/ck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 It sounds very complicated and it sounds exciting too for people looking in. One by one, some resign, some get sacked for whatever the reason, some become unhappy with the leadership. It's too complicated for us. For us, we come to politics to serve. So we have a common cause. So you decide what's important for Singaporeans and as a party, we stay united. Of course, if you come in and don't share a common goal, that's very hard to be together. Because if within the party, if you can't stay united, can you imagine if you're in power, how do you run a country? Every day, some ministers are resigning or sacked, I think that's very troublesome for Singapore," said Mr Khaw. Err I beg to differ. Those who resigned were not elected MPs who abandon the constituents. Those who were sacked, well, it shows accontability that they were willing to sack non performers which i think is good or better than those who carry on staying at their posts while non performing yet still touted as the world's best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 Actually from another point of view, PAP is no better. Those who were not elected, they all left. Ppl like DC, well they are given posts with the salary to carry on a comfortable life with but those from OPP have no such fall back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 err.... one very practical question... Can I now anyhow park in Hougang and no sermmon will be issued to me?? :D And go rally got free dinner and transport or not huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 err.... one very practical question... Can I now anyhow park in Hougang and no sermmon will be issued to me?? :D And go rally got free dinner and transport or not huh? from my usual experience, most of the time no summon is issued. but if you kena summon, dun blame me hor.. nope, no free dinner or transport if you are attending opp rally... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 yeah we very confident because most HG resident i know always say they will make sure WP remain opposition ward Agreed. My relatives, colleague and ex-colleague stay in the ward. Ah Choo has no chance whatsoever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 C c b , puppy say he is young so big fxxk! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limitedspeed Neutral Newbie May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 Its not about WP winning. Its about WP winning by a bigger margin than GE2011! Go WP go! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 KBW should just zip up and mind his own party business. Who he thinks he is to comment on other party's affair........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 Its not about WP winning. Its about WP winning by a bigger margin than GE2011! Go WP go! Frankly after YSL's case, most supporters will be thrilled if the previous GE11's winning margin maintains and will settle for PEH winning with a simple majority if that's the outcome. My guess is that he will win around 60% of the votes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 KBW should just zip up and mind his own party business. Who he thinks he is to comment on other party's affair........... I thought it's their "norm" to do all these stuff during erections??? We should be surprised if they did not........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 I thought it's their "norm" to do all these stuff during erections??? We should be surprised if they did not........ i frown on people that belittles others........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 i frown on people that belittles others........ You have been here long enough to know that's their pattern...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 KBW should just zip up and mind his own party business. Who he thinks he is to comment on other party's affair........... Notice the trend? After the big boss started with his opening salvo, the two DPMs quickly followed up with their criticisms of the handling of the YSL case by YSL himself and the tan tui tong. Now our MND head also chipped in. I believe more heavy weights will follow up on it. And our yan dao friend seems to be playing the good cop-part by not wanting to comment on it. To me it is beginning to look like another "J Gomez"-episode again... [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 Agreed. My relatives, colleague and ex-colleague stay in the ward. Ah Choo has no chance whatsoever. this itself might give rise to a problem that might happened with Potong Pasir.. everyone has the impression that the next person will vote for the incumbent so ownself just put a tick for the lightning party lor ended up lost the election and want to have re-vote this should be raised to erase such thoughts if any Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 You have been here long enough to know that's their pattern...... Can't they see it does not work anymore? Thot they know what is the new norm. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...