Dfx16 6th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 Hong Kong, where an Audi A6 2.8 FSI quattro costs slightly less at HK$560,000 (S$93,400). My HK director was chauffeur in a A6 2.8 back in HK Last week when i was in HK for a regional meeting he was saying that my Japan bread and butter car was the price of 2 x Porsche Boxster Spyder over in HK In his words he was trying to say "U s'porean are richer than Hongkie" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nonetheless Clutched June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 i dun think the data is right... 1 in 6 singaporeans are millionaires... think they forgot to deduct the outstanding loans.... and imagine without COE... we won't even have space to enjoy any ride... we would have to wait hours to get a parking lot... but on the other hand... instead of a coe system... other initiatives could be implemented to at least allow each household (minus the PRs and FTs) to own a ride... bearing in mind of our aging population... just my $0.02 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 this one better Nice comparison. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 they compare QQ with Porches, but the Porsche is the most common supercar in Singapore... and even if our HDB flats can by acres of land overseas, the queues for new condos are still forming... we have 1-in-6 households that are millionaires leh... donch pray pray... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wson 1st Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 (edited) This is not even an apple to apple comparison,because ................................................................................ ........................................................we pay $X for QQ for ONLY 10 years, they pay $X for Boxster for 10+n years. So technically speaking, our QQ is not the same price, but way way way MORE EX than their Boxster. Edited June 4, 2012 by Wson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 they compare QQ with Porches, but the Porsche is the most common supercar in Singapore... and even if our HDB flats can by acres of land overseas, the queues for new condos are still forming... we have 1-in-6 households that are millionaires leh... donch pray pray... We, (at least the 1 in 6 household) feel rich in monetery value of our assert, but poor in actual value of assert. You feel rich because the condo (or HDB) you bought cost millions (or close to million), but at the end of the day, its an apartment in a flat. An apartment of 120 square meters that cost a bomb in Singapore does not feel different than one that cost a faction of the cost somewhere else (others things being equal), just like your 250k 5 series is does not come with an hot model that wash your car every weekend, compare to the one bought in say USA for 70k. But a house somewhere else that cost the same amount as an apartment in Singapore, now that is actual differences, & very big. You can enjoy high quality of life in Sinagpore, but you need to be a lot richer comparatively! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 in US buy 5-series got hot model to wash your car ah??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 Hong Kong, where an Audi A6 2.8 FSI quattro costs slightly less at HK$560,000 (S$93,400). My HK director was chauffeur in a A6 2.8 back in HK Last week when i was in HK for a regional meeting he was saying that my Japan bread and butter car was the price of 2 x Porsche Boxster Spyder over in HK In his words he was trying to say "U s'porean are richer than Hongkie" I guess your HK director was indirectly trying to hint you that you s'porean are dumb and silly having to pay such a ridiculous price for your B&B car in sillypore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 Hong Kong, where an Audi A6 2.8 FSI quattro costs slightly less at HK$560,000 (S$93,400). My HK director was chauffeur in a A6 2.8 back in HK Last week when i was in HK for a regional meeting he was saying that my Japan bread and butter car was the price of 2 x Porsche Boxster Spyder over in HK In his words he was trying to say "U s'porean are richer than Hongkie" but in hk, the price of the car isnt everything right? i tot i hear many says that u hv to buy a parkig space, which cost as much or if not more than the car itself.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 5, 2012 Author Share June 5, 2012 HK has lots of underground carparks. Most stay in condos or houses with free carparks anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 but in hk, the price of the car isnt everything right? i tot i hear many says that u hv to buy a parkig space, which cost as much or if not more than the car itself.. Parking is a killer in HK. And yet you still able to find many cars in HK. Same like sillypore, although cars so expensive and yet there are still so many cars! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 As far as car pricing concerned, we've been the laughing stock for 22 years.. Not to mention +1 mth taken to 'tweak' the laugh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 Singapore Family Sedan Matches Cost of a U.S. Home By Wes Goodman - Jun 5, 2012 7:27 AM GMT+0800 Vinay Mathur gave up on buying a new car in Singapore as the cost of a permit rose to the highest in 17 years. He settled for a two-year-old BMW 3-series. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 "When I look at MY COE, I feel rich" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 (edited) Don't worry. The inflation figures are making the government scramble to fix it a little, otherwise our cost of living index will fall against many other countries. Hence the delay in COE quota cut. You think they really want to reduce our COE? Hehehe... Edited June 5, 2012 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 More likely the QQ owner should feel silly to tell any Amercian what car he bought in sillypore! I think the American should be laughing until he die! No lah! The American having no idea what a QQ is would probably thought it is a super hot hatch that could out-run the Boxter he could have bought in US. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Escksu Clutched June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 Song bo sinkies..... gEt PWNED by PAP......... PWNED till song song gao jurong..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 No lah! The American having no idea what a QQ is would probably thought it is a super hot hatch that could out-run the Boxter he could have bought in US. Your are probably right, the American should though that QQ is something like super sports car, that's why price is expensive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...