Nzy Twincharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 (edited) If you are not interested in reading what other had posted and try to see their point why bother posting? If you have to post, why post something as nonsensical that reeks of elitism as the above that will gather ill-will towards the same group you are trying to help? Or are you too obnoxious to notice? I think you don't get the point. So what if the drivers paid a premium to drive on the roads? Many cyclists also have cars and choose to cycle for health or some other reasons. Since drivers of bigger cars pays a higher road tax does that mean they have the right to complain about smaller cc cars not giving way to them? Do smaller cc cars have to let bigger cars have their way since they pay a premium over the smaller cars? If now I am at the lights and I see a Cat A car infront of me. Do I have the right to horn at him if he is unable to accelerate as fast as my car can just because I am in a rush? Edited June 11, 2012 by Nzy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 So bottomline... In presence of a safer alternatives, you guys would still prefer to inconvenience drivers. Your choice and I respect your decision. I will give you the 1.5m, but if any cyclist gets knocked down along coastal road due to the dangerous driving of other drivers, I will not stop and help or provide 1st aid, for I respect a cyclist's right to endanger his life when a safer alternative is available. You wanna stand in the sun, dun complain about getting a tan. Does this mean I should stop rendering aid to anyone who doesn't pay equal or more road tax to me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Cyclist talk so much about legal this and that.... why dun you make the cycling lane - a lane that is so underused - yours exclusively? why come into a space that is so congested? I cannot understand why can you enlighten? Because the paths are equally or more congested, and being the faster moving ones (esp those of us on road bikes), in an accident, we become the danger to others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Does this mean I should stop rendering aid to anyone who doesn't pay equal or more road tax to me? Look out for the sticker on the forehead that says "Help needed, I have paid Premium Taxes". Oops, Sticker Lady tio banned liao. my bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Because its their right to be on the road. Its already written there that cyclists are allowed on roads. There are many cyclists cycling on changi coastal road, but I am sure there are many more cyclists who are cycling along roads where there are no cycling tracks or pcn. So which is easier? Getting the authorities to enforce the 1.5m or getting them to build cycling tracks all over Singapore and then making them exclusive to bicycles? Still not answering the qn. But I see your point now. Cyclist demands concession to be made for them at the expense of other road users. Yes yes, the law says they can use the road, but even when there are cyclist lanes build for them and when the lanes are empty (I see them empty along coastal road most of the time), for the selfish desire for ABSOLUTE convenience, cyclist are unwilling to give and talk and stick to an empty path build for them. These very same people now wants drivers to respect their rights (yes legally you do sure). Ok good luck with you getting all that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Not answering my qn. Why are you guys not fighting for a right to used what is built for you? I dun care who it is under, you can still write in to whoever and where-ever to fight for your rights. No? Why choose to endanger your life? Built for us??? Did your mom drop you on your head when you were little? We've been saying that its not built for us. It was built to be shared between pedestrians, and non-motor vehicles, just like how the road are built for vehicles of ALL sorts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 To me cyclists are my most hated group of ppl on the roads. Not inconsiderate taxi drivers, not racers, not blur pedestrians, but just the damn cyclists who think they should be accorded all rights when they don't even pay a cent of road tax...... How much are you paying? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Because the paths are equally or more congested, and being the faster moving ones (esp those of us on road bikes), in an accident, we become the danger to others. Facts only... dun flame... Coastal Road ... I drive pass everyday... the cyclist path are empty at 5-6pm most of the time. But there are cyclist on the roads... then you have those lorrys driving aircraft parts to SIA that may not afford the 1.5m. Its for your safety sometimes.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 ok guys, we can agree to disagree. lets not drop too many babies on their heads either. lighten the mood abit, see how a bike can be fun. Danny is extreme on his bike. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=playe...p;v=Z19zFlPah-o Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Facts only... dun flame... Coastal Road ... I drive pass everyday... the cyclist path are empty at 5-6pm most of the time. But there are cyclist on the roads... then you have those lorrys driving aircraft parts to SIA that may not afford the 1.5m. Its for your safety sometimes.... From my experience the more empty the more likely a fast cyclist will get into an accident on these kind of paths. You'll never know when someone suddenly let go of their dog's leash, or a child running around or a group of new cyclists/skaters learning veers into your path. If its congested the cyclist can't even go fast so they'll stick to the road. When it looks empty its worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 My fav quote from George Takei - "Lets have a moment of silence for all those who are stuck in traffic on their way to the gym to ride the stationary bike. " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 And my point is: it is bad as it is. We dun need cyclist to make it worse. How is the above saying anything that contradicts mine? I am ignorant about cycling or you? Let me be very very obvious. You cycle on the road, you may die. You cycle on pavements you are less likely to die. Now choose. After you choose, dun whine. If you wanna lobby for more rights, start with making the cyclist paths meant for you yours, utilize it then move on to other issues. Thats all. - looks like you dun understand my point at all. its ok. you cycle, you die. you drive, oso die. stand at bus stip, oso can die. take taxi , oso can get hit and die. lets leave at that. simpler for you. :) Maybe you should walk everywhere. Statistically you have a lower chance of dying by walking than driving. Not to mention it improves your health. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Still not answering my qn. In presence of pedestrian AND cyclist path and road, why are cyclist whinning and writing to forums to ask for the 1.5m when they could lobby for the cyclist path to be made exclusive. The refusal to take this path of least resistance is telling a story. Have you ever tried to lobby for something with the govt? This is the path of least resistance. The 1.5m is a guide, basically its there to tell drivers that in most scenarios, they stand a risk of getting fined for dangerous or inconsiderate driving if they're any closer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 I think you don't get the point. So what if the drivers paid a premium to drive on the roads? Many cyclists also have cars and choose to cycle for health or some other reasons. Since drivers of bigger cars pays a higher road tax does that mean they have the right to complain about smaller cc cars not giving way to them? Do smaller cc cars have to let bigger cars have their way since they pay a premium over the smaller cars? If now I am at the lights and I see a Cat A car infront of me. Do I have the right to horn at him if he is unable to accelerate as fast as my car can just because I am in a rush? And you failed to see mine. What I want to say is simple. I am not talking about the right to exist because of taxes paid. I am appealing to you guys to be considerate. Everyone is paying so much to ensure smoother traffic. When there are cyclist lanes, cyclist should stick to it so that all the cost shouldered by everyone is not nullified. In the absence of alternatives, yes cyclist should use the road. Its the same as roadhogging... get off the right lane so people faster can move. Its an act of being a considerate road user. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Isn't that trolling you attention whore [bigcry] you bully me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 If you are not interested in reading what other had posted and try to see their point why bother posting? If you have to post, why post something as nonsensical that reeks of elitism as the above that will gather ill-will towards the same group you are trying to help? Or are you too obnoxious to notice? Yup, definitely been dropped on your head coz you can't tell its sarcasm (not to mention IMHO its a perfect pun on your exact arguments against cyclists). So if you feel aggrieved by elitist statements, perhaps you may want to re-consider your "i've paid a premium to be on the road while cyclist don't pay a thing" and "i've paid a premium for smooth roads and cyclists who don't pay a thing are preventing me from having it" statements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 I think you don't get the point. So what if the drivers paid a premium to drive on the roads? Many cyclists also have cars and choose to cycle for health or some other reasons. Since drivers of bigger cars pays a higher road tax does that mean they have the right to complain about smaller cc cars not giving way to them? Do smaller cc cars have to let bigger cars have their way since they pay a premium over the smaller cars? If now I am at the lights and I see a Cat A car infront of me. Do I have the right to horn at him if he is unable to accelerate as fast as my car can just because I am in a rush? sorry cant help but i keep seeing this statement. does this mean i if i already have cars and intend to buy another car, i dont need to pay for road tax?? road tax is for car not for human. so not really blend in well in your example. although i agree with what you mention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 From my experience the more empty the more likely a fast cyclist will get into an accident on these kind of paths. You'll never know when someone suddenly let go of their dog's leash, or a child running around or a group of new cyclists/skaters learning veers into your path. If its congested the cyclist can't even go fast so they'll stick to the road. When it looks empty its worse. Really go drive past coastal road at that time... really bo lang one... deserted. Not a soul in sight.. If there are ppl there I can understand... If there are none? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...