ST interview with Chen Show Mao

Fcw75

I tot there's a showroom for the buyers to see first b4 committing on the units?

WTF is she complaining?Like that I also want to complain how come the new flats dun have squatting bowl -_-

Safety should come before style in flat design

23 June 2012

Straits Times

I AGREE with Mr Ang Chin Guan's letter ('Focus on safety first in building HDB flats'; Forum Online, Wednesday).

My family and I, owners of a new Design, Build and Sell Scheme (DBSS) flat in The Peak @ Toa Payoh, discovered designs that create safety concerns.

The bay windows in the bedroom, while pleasing to the eye, act as a step to the window grilles comprising a series of four horizontal bars that lead to a huge gap at the top. Active children who love to climb may regard it as a children's gym meant for exploration. Diagonal bars, or even floral design grilles would have been safer.

The three- and four-room units have master bedroom toilet doors through which pregnant women, or larger people, cannot squeeze.

A folding or sliding door would have been more practical.

The gates of the flats are oddly designed. The padlock holders are not on the inside of the gate facing the interior of the flat, but outside the unit. The design makes it hard to lock and unlock the gate. If a fire breaks out, the occupants will have a hard time escaping because the padlock is located outside and at a height above the shoulders.

Residents whose units are perpendicular to each other have discovered that they cannot open their gates at the same time or keep the gates open as this will impede the movement of people from the other unit. The gates should have opened not towards each other but in different directions.

Huge planters are provided but not everyone has a green thumb, and as the planters are like drains, they are a hazard for children.

The HDB, the developer Hoi Hup, and the Bishan-Toa Payoh Town Council should take a good hard look at how the units are designed.

Tan Xiu-Yin (Ms)

Results mean nothing for medical school.

Don't ask me how the select for medical school...

Among my classmates, I have seen they accept someone whom I would not trust my hamster with. SERIOUSLY, that guy is not stable. I have seen they reject someone who is like the most responsible guy in my class.

I think you may be right.

I have a supplier, his son also got same good results as other classmates but his son din manage to go into medical. This supplier says other students parents got some background or themselves are doctors.

He won't use mee Siam or Peach Garden as examples.......

Dear Bro Donut,

I've been taken back with great shocks with the below statements, and would like to share your opinion too.

Honest mistake & move-on, I have a pair of steady hand to manage National Reserves, GST are to help the poor, potong pasir free breakfast & abalone porridge, S$8.00 heart bypass, cheaper to retire in JB, COE/ERP are for easing traffic jams, HDB still affortable to everyone, cheaper,faster & better, feel rich to see my cpf, oppositon are rojak, opposition are poisonous mushrooms, only happens once in 50 years, mee siam mai hum, peach garden pan fried carrot cake, what do you think....etc, please help to name out the list further...

All these are lame remarks from arrogant & playful jokers but not mindful Country Leader's, Singaporeans wisdom had been badly insulted in listenings these nonsense.

The worst of all that I couldn't swallow into my throad are: your flat devalue without up grading, no more foreign investments, property crash, economy doom, National reserves finish in 1~2 terms by opposition ruiling, your mother & sisters will be maid in foreign country, Aljunied voters 5 years to repent.....etc, these are scare crow tactics, threatening and blackmail voters basic Election Rights, are we the ONLY FIRST in this world to be call "GUTTER POLITIC" ?

I hope Singaporeans opens up mindset to look at other neigbouring countries progress well and normal with New Ruiling Government, it's like our NS Guard Duty changing parade, the new Guard Commander will still perform with his mindful duties with all his camp mates good cares, true concerns and kind interest.

Cheers for your brand new weekend. [wave]

Edited by Fongmy

Not forgetting we also have a ex-surgeon heading the defence portfolio.

And with a mathematician in-charge, an "what-do-you-think" ex-admiral & one ok-so-far chap as his side-kicks, it makes an interesting lot as the executive branch of this land...

[rolleyes]

Kinda boring giving the model answers to the questions. He also avoided answering the question on Yaw what. Ppl here have double standards for sure. Not ok for ruling party to avoid questions but ok for the opposition party to do so. Dun tell me nobody is curious as to what exactly happen to Yaw?

Speak well or not all are playing the political bullocks game.

Not forgetting we also have a ex-surgeon heading the defence portfolio.

And with a mathematician in-charge, an "what-do-you-think" ex-admiral & one ok-so-far chap as his side-kicks, it makes an interesting lot as the executive branch of this land...

[rolleyes]

It's exactly sounds like "Alice in Wonderland" :angry:

I think ppl are very naive in a way, easily impressed by the way ppl speak.

Let me give you an example. I think everyone knows him. He is also used to be a lawyer by profession. He definitely speaks well...in 3 languages no less. He's popular during his time. Ppl at that time are also very impressed by his speeches. That's why till now he's still in power. :D

Now that you see the similarities stop saying the person is like damn great like that. Especially when we do not know his true colours yet.

I think ppl are very naive in a way, easily impressed by the way ppl speak.

Let me give you an example. I think everyone knows him. He is also used to be a lawyer by profession. He definitely speaks well...in 3 languages no less. He's popular during his time. Ppl at that time are also very impressed by his speeches. That's why till now he's still in power. :D

Now that you see the similarities stop saying the person is like damn great like that. Especially when we do not know his true colours yet.

Exactly the point I had made in my earlier post.

All talk, but still no action [rolleyes]

Yes - we still don't know his true colors yet.

His perpetual smile may be deceitful, to say the least.

Kinda boring giving the model answers to the questions. He also avoided answering the question on Yaw what. Ppl here have double standards for sure. Not ok for ruling party to avoid questions but ok for the opposition party to do so. Dun tell me nobody is curious as to what exactly happen to Yaw?

Speak well or not all are playing the political bullocks game.

Yes, we need the ruling party govt that can inject true quality into cabinet.

Action, to put thoughts into actionable deeds.

Tok is cheep and its worse when 'model answers' are memorized!

Avoid answering direct questions?

Now that's not being straight ain't it? :angry:

Isn't that worse than Bill Cinton? <_<

totally agree , look at our PM [:p]

LOL, but his case not his fault, he didnt choose who to be his lao pek...... :o

but his lao pek did say he's the best :D

ya i very shallow i jus care that he is more handsome and photogenic. ^_^

who in miw can beat him as our political poster boy, kee chiu!

Dear Bro Donut,

I've been taken back with great shocks with the below statements, and would like to share your opinion too.

Honest mistake & move-on, I have a pair of steady hand to manage National Reserves, GST are to help the poor, potong pasir free breakfast & abalone porridge, S$8.00 heart bypass, cheaper to retire in JB, COE/ERP are for easing traffic jams, HDB still affortable to everyone, cheaper,faster & better, feel rich to see my cpf, oppositon are rojak, opposition are poisonous mushrooms, only happens once in 50 years, mee siam mai hum, peach garden pan fried carrot cake, what do you think....etc, please help to name out the list further...

All these are lame remarks from arrogant & playful jokers but not mindful Country Leader's, Singaporeans wisdom had been badly insulted in listenings these nonsense.

The worst of all that I couldn't swallow into my throad are: your flat devalue without up grading, no more foreign investments, property crash, economy doom, National reserves finish in 1~2 terms by opposition ruiling, your mother & sisters will be maid in foreign country, Aljunied voters 5 years to repent.....etc, these are scare crow tactics, threatening and blackmail voters basic Election Rights, are we the ONLY FIRST in this world to be call "GUTTER POLITIC" ?

I hope Singaporeans opens up mindset to look at other neigbouring countries progress well and normal with New Ruiling Government, it's like our NS Guard Duty changing parade, the new Guard Commander will still perform with his mindful duties with all his camp mates good cares, true concerns and kind interest.

Cheers for your brand new weekend. [wave]

Dear Bro Fong,

May I add one "small" point:- in a dynasty, its not the change of guard, it's passing of "inheritance" to the next generation.

Another equally small one:- the more pxp's supporters flood them with praises and "loyal" supports, the more pxp is decieved into believing they can do no wrongs, only the alternative parties are wrong.

ya i very shallow i jus care that he is more handsome and photogenic. ^_^

who in miw can beat him as our political poster boy, kee chiu!

zorro not handsum meh? [;)] mbt also has his sexy mole

I think you may be right.

I have a supplier, his son also got same good results as other classmates but his son din manage to go into medical. This supplier says other students parents got some background or themselves are doctors.

this has been an on-going 'tradition' in the local medical circle :o ....

The public pays you $15,000 p.m. to officiate your MP duties, preese show more of your presence in parliamentary debates.

Change Singapore, change the world!

You must repeat this to pxp mps who pocket the same 15k every month. Dont forget those ministers who pocket millions....... why you no ask them? [laugh]:D in fact they 'rule' the country, their tangible contributions, not empty promises, are much needed, they owe it to the people... unless those, including yourself, who supported them are not bothered with their performance after voting them in, which looks like the case... giving them a blank cheque without checking if they deliver

maybe train breakdown, floods, run-away public housing prices, etc are considered superb results

Edited by KARTer