Be Caution Opening Bonnet During Smoking Engine

2BDriver

Had an experience with W210, in law forgot to replace radiator cap after refilling. Drove all the way up to Genting from Melaka, by the time reach mountain top, the water dries up. Smoke coming out from the rad cap mouth.

The thing is, he fill it up when it's hot, quite harmful to the engine block, of course there are some minor fountain.

When the engine is very hot and without water; and you pour cold water in, it's probably going to crack or develop crack lines due to thermal shock.

If you lose all the coolant, you should let the engine cool off first at least one hour before attempting to fix it by adding cold water.

When the engine is very hot and without water; and you pour cold water in, it's probably going to crack or develop crack lines due to thermal shock.

If you lose all the coolant, you should let the engine cool off first at least one hour before attempting to fix it by adding cold water.

Yep, it's actually good to share this piece of info as not a lot knows about this.

Kana once when going up Genting ..coolant boiled in reservoir... went to the ws at top of genting... the uncle said is the pressure cap not releasing pressure and changed one...after the change.. seem to be OK but ..... on way back....temp still climb up.... kept driving back to sgp at 80km/hr.... to keep the temp below red line..any speed above 80km/hr..the temp will shoot up close to redline .. once temp hit red line......air-conditioning stop blowing cold air...this is the most painful trip of my life and I took almost 8 hrs to reach sgp.... went to AD next day and found out radiator blocked.... coolant flow was restricted.... must be wrong coolant used by a ws I visit months ago... I still wonder how I made it back to sgp without having to tow the car.....

Edited by LoverofCar

Hi, Bro SimonTan,

It is not wise to drive with car bonnet in unsecure or loose conditions, the car grille is designed good enough for in-taking air-flows to cool down our engine compartment, please watch below at 0:19 windscreen shocking moment. :o

still can drive if hv good co-driver and pace notes :D

see fm 1:26

i am obviously joking only... dun try...

All these cross country rally ang mo gao's are dare devil's, very scary type of rides for any men on the street. [dizzy]

hehe... i had the privilege of going to see WRC NZ... seeing the action (and crashes) up close, kena spray by granite chips, rain etc.

Oh, and spectators drive around to view the different stages of the rally as it progresses. So we had to chiong the gravel roads in the forest to follow the action [drivingcar] . I thought i was driving fast through these roads (my passengers would agree) but the local Kiwis were overtaking me :blink:

oops ot [lipsrsealed]

hehe... i had the privilege of going to see WRC NZ... seeing the action (and crashes) up close, kena spray by granite chips, rain etc.

Oh, and spectators drive around to view the different stages of the rally as it progresses. So we had to chiong the gravel roads in the forest to follow the action [drivingcar] . I thought i was driving fast through these roads (my passengers would agree) but the local Kiwis were overtaking me :blink:

oops ot [lipsrsealed]

You are a 7 Star's Subaru AWD Super Turbo Fast Driver indeed [thumbsup][nod]

Wouldn't it be better just to keep the steam/water in even it's hot in the radiator? You can't add cold water when it's hot so there's nothing you can do, just let it cool by itself with bonnet open.

Like I said...for whatever reason lah...

EG...

I was driving at NSH late one nite and exit at Taman Perling...when I wind down my window to pay toll...I smell the sick smell of coolant and suspected something bad liao...once I hit the Shell station...my temp started to climb...

Pop my bonnet and wah lah...coolant was leaking...bad...can't tell from where but can see it was leaking from below. So call AAM...and I had to wait 3 freaking hours then they can come...so decided to take a risk and drive back to SG...so took the town route in case really kaput until cannot move...

Pop the radiator cap and started to pour water into the radiator (since I suspected it was leaking somewhere...dun care liao)...when I pour in the water...almost immediately...it comes out below....so top up...and started to drive....every 2km or so...I had to stop to top up water...and when I come to traffic light...engine will be off.

Struggle struggle....4 hours later...I was safely in Singapore Customs....slight jam...but luckily the customs officers let me go thru the lorry customs lane as I told them that my engine is overheating badly....

So...there you go...one of the times when you had to open a hot radiator cap.

EG...

I was driving at NSH late one nite and exit at Taman Perling...when I wind down my window to pay toll...I smell the sick smell of coolant and suspected something bad liao...once I hit the Shell station...my temp started to climb...

Pop my bonnet and wah lah...coolant was leaking...bad...can't tell from where but can see it was leaking from below. So call AAM...and I had to wait 3 freaking hours then they can come...so decided to take a risk and drive back to SG...so took the town route in case really kaput until cannot move...

Pop the radiator cap and started to pour water into the radiator (since I suspected it was leaking somewhere...dun care liao)...when I pour in the water...almost immediately...it comes out below....so top up...and started to drive....every 2km or so...I had to stop to top up water...and when I come to traffic light...engine will be off.

Struggle struggle....4 hours later...I was safely in Singapore Customs....slight jam...but luckily the customs officers let me go thru the lorry customs lane as I told them that my engine is overheating badly....

U never try the egg in radiator method by Mythbuster???

You are a 7 Star's Subaru AWD Super Turbo Fast Driver indeed [thumbsup][nod]

no lah, that was when i was much younger and more reckless [pirate]

Unless one knows how to repair a breakdown car.

Or even has the tools on the road to service the car.

If not then opening the car bonnet is useless. What does one expect to see?

A naked lady or missing engine?

I don't see people opening up their fridge or washing machine or HP or Laptop when it does not work.

Why should anyone open up the car bonnet? It's a weird phenomenon.

that's a very broad generalisation.

my own experience:

1) one night, my car suddenly overheat near chinatown. Saw my water temp suddenly rise and alarm sounded on my defi gauge (even before car dashboard gauge went up). Stopped at carpark in front, open bonnet to help cool down. After 45min, cooled down enough to open radiator cap and top up water fm a bottle in my boot. Saw a small leak in radidator top hose. Still can drive home. Next day, top up again before driving to mechanic to replace the hose. Mechanic said i was fortunate to catch it before severe overheating.

2) while driving back fm KL one evening, car suddenly lost boost while driving. Car had similiar problem before and mechanic had showed me the problem - a loose vaccum hose. I drove home with no boost, let the car cool overnight and plugged back the hose in the morning using pliers, securing it with zip tie. No, i do not work for Smrt or mustafa [laugh]

cheers~

I never dare to do this stunt, I rather waits abit longer to allows the engine temperature drops for my inspections [sweatdrop]

Not stunt lah...it was a desperate move on my part...was late for a presentation....so by hook by crook needed to get to the customer place asap...so LPPL...my aim was to get to customer place asap...that is why I pop the radiator cap even when I see my temp gauge was overheating....

After that...I learn of this trick...and use it when I needed too.

EG...

I feel for you, I had another experience like yours, but was really unlucky no water on board and we are in the middle of a very busy street, die die have to wait for tow truck near mid valley KL.

that's a very broad generalisation.

my own experience:

1) one night, my car suddenly overheat near chinatown. Saw my water temp suddenly rise and alarm sounded on my defi gauge (even before car dashboard gauge went up). Stopped at carpark in front, open bonnet to help cool down. After 45min, cooled down enough to open radiator cap and top up water fm a bottle in my boot. Saw a small leak in radidator top hose. Still can drive home. Next day, top up again before driving to mechanic to replace the hose. Mechanic said i was fortunate to catch it before severe overheating.

2) while driving back fm KL one evening, car suddenly lost boost while driving. Car had similiar problem before and mechanic had showed me the problem - a loose vaccum hose. I drove home with no boost, let the car cool overnight and plugged back the hose in the morning using pliers, securing it with zip tie. No, i do not work for Smrt or mustafa [laugh]

cheers~

Hi, John,

Good Afternoon.

You should work for Madame Saw of Ex-Ceo MRT, she used nylon wire ties to fixed her broken-down trains caused by many dropping metal claws, instead MRT had becomes "Wire Tie Laughing Stock", you are able to turn and boost our local MRT reputation to "7 Star's Undisputed Trains" [laugh][laugh][laugh][:p]