Electric cars

Expertz

On 10/7/2025 at 5:47 PM, Gnahp said:

I also drive 41km in one hour 

does it mean 

if I drive X hour, I need to charge X hour to replenish it?

That 41km is based on Atto2.

Not necessary do what you said.

Essentially, most of us optimise our time with both charging and doing something else.

Rather than just sit there and wait.

On 10/7/2025 at 5:58 PM, inlinesix said:

That 41km is based on Atto2.

Not necessary do what you said.

Essentially, most of us optimise our time with both charging and doing something else.

Rather than just sit there and wait.

got to change the habits if switching to EV

On 10/7/2025 at 6:00 PM, Gnahp said:

It is very easy to adapt if you are a multitasker.

I am driving ICE and EV (sometime)

Yes the change would be a lot easier if you have easy access to chargers in your estate/house. I rarely charge my car outside.

Edited by Rickster

Not only need to change habits but also mindset and driving style if switch to EV.

If the person still live in full petrol habits and mindset, life would become miserable when driving EV.

On 10/7/2025 at 6:30 PM, Rickster said:

Yes the change would be a lot easier if you have easy access to chargers in your estate/house. I rarely charge my car outside.

Nowadays default most HDB MSCP has chargers.

Actually chargers could be quite easy to find them now. Maybe charges rate difference only.

On 10/7/2025 at 6:50 PM, 13177 said:

Not only need to change habits but also mindset and driving style if switch to EV.

If the person still live in full petrol habits and mindset, life would become miserable when driving EV.

I can tell you

my wife will drive the EV until battery flat

and call me from the road side

she did this to EVERY car we owned

how har?

bring power bank or generator to charge the car at the road side?

or got emergency mobile charging service in Singapore?

• Haha! 8

On 10/7/2025 at 8:12 PM, Gnahp said:

I can tell you

how har?

Like that cannot help liao if she closed her eyes whenever she drives without looking what is happening on the speedometer. 😅

• Sad 1

On 10/7/2025 at 8:12 PM, Gnahp said:

I can tell you

how har?

Change wife ...😆😆

Keep the new EV 😁😁

:a-m1212:

• Haha! 7

On 10/7/2025 at 10:11 PM, Tohto said:

Change wife ...😆😆

Keep the new EV 😁😁

:a-m1212:

I'll stay single if I am going that route 😁

change wife is like jumping from one pit to another pit

same same, maybe worse

Recently intrigued by a EV van when looking for possible option to support my wife's fledging craft business.

After spending extensive time on sgcarmart, really think it is such a shame not to share it here. But basically it is a van, so you do have to have a registered company if want to get it. It comes with some negative aspects such as speed limit of 70km/hr and legally ferrying 2 passengers on top of the driver, so definitely not for everyone.

Allow me to list out the positive aspects about this ID Buzz Cargo:

- retails brand new at $135k vs passenger variant at > $300k (through VWS appointed agent)

- comes with same standard freebies as buying from VWS (go back VWS workshop for 5 year warranty and servicing, and 8 year battery warranty)

- the only van with multilink suspension so drive exactly like a passenger car (vs van with leaf springs or rigid axles)

- has exactly same drive train as its passenger variants (210kW and 560Nm torque with 7.9s century sprint, same as Enyaq also)

- has exactly same EV battery and charging design (79Ahr with range of 460km)

- very low annual road tax of around $650 (for van only)

- similar cabin sand dashboard design as passenger variants (with some hard plastics)

- the side panels can be replaced with glass at around $2k to complete the passenger look if with tail gate rear hatch (can choose barn door rear hatch but then will not have glass panel)

- can install rear bench at < $1k

- can pay more to get auto sliding doors and tail gate

I nearly pulled the trigger to get one, but then my wife is very concerned about the 2m car width as she worries about bringing it to MSCPs with narrow turning space, thus I have to abandon the plan for now.  Granted this ride is not for everyone but if you in the market looking for a van to support your business needs, then do give it a look to see if feasible. You do have to pay more, but the amount is reasonable given that you will have an iconic van that is built as a car with all the major features intact, infact also all the safety features, that is truly one and only in the market. Really a small price to pay for such an iconic design. And the look! Sure would not feel like driving a van if get one.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/volkswagen-idbuzz-electric-cargo-1426176?dl=3768

The pictures in the link above are for illustration only. You will get a brand new van from VWS directly. All the few months used vans are not for real.

Edited by Heartlander
Added last paragraph.
  • Praise 12

On 10/7/2025 at 5:11 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

If you spent time and achieved nothing, that’s called waste time.

if you spent time and got something, then it’s not a waste of time.

think of it, 30 mins spent parking and charging while you eat. You are getting more than 1 thing done. How is that considered a waste time leh?

Actually it's there an apps that can notify u once your car is fully charge?

Because if we leave our car to charge while eating or shopping . And it charge fully before we return.

We need to pay the fine. And it's not nice manner also.

On 10/8/2025 at 9:04 AM, Beregond said:

Because if we leave our car to charge while eating or shopping . And it charge fully before we return.

For AC, you can reduce the charging AMP via in-car App

On 10/8/2025 at 8:44 AM, Heartlander said:

Recently intrigued by a EV van when looking for possible option to support my wife's fledging craft business.

After spending extensive time on sgcarmart, really think it is such a shame not to share it here. But basically it is a van, so you do have to have a registered company if want to get it. It comes with some negative aspects such as speed limit of 70km/hr and legally ferrying 2 passengers on top of the driver, so definitely not for everyone.

- retails brand new at $135k vs passenger variant at > $300k (through VWS appointed agent)

- comes with same standard freebies as buying from VWS (go back VWS workshop for 5 year warranty and servicing, and 8 year battery warranty)

- the only van with multilink suspension so drive exactly like a passenger car (vs van with leaf springs or rigid axles)

- has exactly same drive train as its passenger variants (210kW and 560Nm torque with 7.9s century sprint, same as Enyaq also)

- similar cabin sand dashboard design as passenger variants (with some hard plastics)

- the side panels can be replaced with glass at around $2k to complete the passenger look if with tail gate rear hatch (can choose barn door rear hatch but then will not have glass panel)

I nearly pulled the trigger to get one, but then my wife is very concerned about the 2m car width as she worries about bringing it to MSCPs with narrow turning space, thus I have to abandon the plan for now.  Granted this ride is not for everyone but if you in the market looking for a van to support your business needs, then do give it a look to see if feasible. You do have to pay more, but the amount is reasonable given that you will have an iconic van that is built as a car with all the major features intact, infact also all the safety features, that is truly one and only in the market. Really a small price to pay for such an iconic design. And the look! Sure would not feel like driving a van if get one.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used-cars/info/volkswagen-idbuzz-electric-cargo-1426176?dl=3768

The pictures in the link above are for illustration only. You will get a brand new van from VWS directly. All the few months used vans are not for real.

Yep this is a very nice vehicle. Funky looks and doesn’t spew black smoke. 

On 9/29/2025 at 11:49 AM, 13177 said:

So it was your wifey who give you dizziness rather than the EV itself ah?! Lol.

Ahhhh.... yes. 😉
It seemed very ironic, on those episodes when I wrote EVs (anyway, they were car-share EVs that i used when my car was laid-up or in-use),  the relative silence compared to an ICE car or ICE-hybrid car could be rather deafening.
Well, i suppose that a side-effect if one is driving BEV vehicles...

Edited by DOBIEMKZ

On 10/8/2025 at 9:04 AM, Beregond said:

The charge operator’s app should tell you when it’s fully charged.

For Tesla SC, it will notify you also, or if there’s incoming congestion fees.

I’m not sure about other EVs, but from my Tesla app I can slow down the charge rate to match the amount of time I plan to spend parked, so that I can avoid the situation you described.

On 10/8/2025 at 8:44 AM, Heartlander said:

For narrow-body electric van, you are left with 2 choice.

Either BYD or DFSK.

On 10/8/2025 at 10:56 AM, inlinesix said:

For narrow-body electric van, you are left with 2 choice.

Either BYD or DFSK.

Thanks but not keen on China EVs at all.