Cb la this one maybe meet at funeral and be chicken curry🪦

😅

KNN, okok my bad my bad. [:p]

Jan 26 MU prata. ^_^ [laugh] [laugh]

5th Gear
On 12/6/2025 at 8:46 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

And most importantly it’s the ability for me to stop completely, smoothly without that abrupt stop at the end.

For many cars, the brake pedal is very difficult to modulate until complete braking is very smooth. You almost can see every head bob forward at that final stop cos most drivers step on the brakes harder and harder until the car stops.

With OPD, stopping is so smooth and it also lets drivers brake sooner with the added benefit of regen to add range back.

Plus, rims are not soiled cos the actual brake sanitary pads are so seldom used.

But some drivers in the chat say that their foot sng cos they dun need to rotate their foot between the accelerator and brake. I dunno if they’re for real or saying in jest 😅

Tesla's OPD is one of the best, especially at the end. Smooth operator. 😍

I also realised OPD is also safer. That 1 second faster full regen brake + split second later physical brake during emergencies makes a world diff between contact or non-contact. This applies to both tesla and chinese EVs at highest regen.

On 12/6/2025 at 8:54 AM, Rskc said:

Cannot agree more with your post, especially the above. If I may add on the humble pie, I donno how many times I have eaten. Lol!

1. How to charge when no charger at home? Nvr a problem since 1st day - just charge as you go. Now I have chargers at home car park. Lagi better. 

2. Buttons - I was a buttons guy! With flower eyes some more. 🫠 Realise I have been too conservative due to fear of this massive change and human can adapt really well. No doubt buttons are still better in few cases, but buttonless is much less fearful or troublesome than it is protrayed. Being there, done that, with flower eyes. 😁

3. Tesla vs chinese EV. I am fortunate to have tesla and chinese EV (got some buttons one) in my family. To me, it is really ios vs andriod. One thing I love abt tesla is their connectivity to the car and their fast fast fix in fixing bugs OTA. It is 100% connected every time I access my car. Connection to chinese EV has been at best spotty.

4. One strange thing abt EV. It made me wanna relax and enjoy the drive more now vs ICE, taking things easy. Maybe it is the serenity after a day's work. 

I loved my ICEs. But... I love my EVs more. [drivingcar]Time to move on. 😊

Totally concur. There are many solutions to the ownership concerns of EV but end of the day, it’s all our own preferences, biases and personality that drives our decisions.

No wonder I gained weight after getting the MYJ.. cos of all the humble pies I’ve eaten! Knn cheese pie :grin:

On 12/6/2025 at 7:56 AM, Lala81 said:

On the charging port location. 

Byd cars are all FWD. But there is rear charging port for the M6 and atto 3 is in front. 

Anyway for countries with big car parks, head in parking lots makes sense (aussie/usa/cn). For countries with small car parks, rear in is the most sensible. Which is most Asian countries outside CN. 

So design perspective, it can be either way. 

I won't buy a car with a charging port at the front. 

The M6 is front wheel drive, and comes with no frunk (but I think you showed a video before on the DIY mod),  but since you mentioned the position of the charging port is in behind, you must have paid attention to it, so that is not as what the SE said. Atto 3 is cfm FWD, no Frunk, and charging port in front. 

Not all BYD cars are FWD, I believe the seal, seal 6, sealion 7 are RWD, the rest are mostly FWD.

Actually I think the charging cables are long enough. So even charing port in front by the side also can charge without issue. I don't know about now, but I remember I saw some MG cars have their charing port right at the front bumper, that's is worst. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

But my new car to be is RWD, charging port behind, so no issues, still normal reverse parking into the lot. ^_^ [laugh] [laugh]

On 12/6/2025 at 9:33 AM, Tianmo said:

The M6 is front wheel drive, and comes with no frunk (but I think you showed a video before on the DIY mod),  but since you mentioned the position of the charging port is in behind, you must have paid attention to it, so that is not as what the SE said. Atto 3 is cfm FWD, no Frunk, and charging port in front. 

Not all BYD cars are FWD, I believe the seal, seal 6, sealion 7 are RWD, the rest are mostly FWD. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

The basic B&B models are all FWD. Seal and above may have AWD. They don't have any RWD cars for now. So just pointing out not really true.

The only time I park head in is at Australia in front of the shops. 

Only Europeans and people who like cars demand RWD. 

On 12/6/2025 at 9:40 AM, Tianmo said:

But my new car to be is RWD, charging port behind, so no issues, still normal reverse parking into the lot. ^_^ [laugh] [laugh]

If non tesla and non European then Very few leh. Zeekr, MG5. Leap motor. 

European then a lot of choices. Like Tohto or those polestar. 

On 12/6/2025 at 9:40 AM, Tianmo said:

Then u got Drift option available liao loh😉👍

4th Gear
On 12/6/2025 at 8:41 AM, Solar said:

Many times get blocked by irritating bikes that squirm in front of you at the lights then hog the front when he rides off.

For those faster ones some do give way when they see the behind is able to keep up

It's true, you just voiced out my biggest pet peeve. Sometimes, you will even get one whole bunch of bikes lined up at the traffic lights encroaching into the pedestrian crossing, hogging all lanes and cars don't dare to move off until all the bikes leisurely move off cos they are squeezed so tightly all around the cars. Even worse, sometimes i have to jam brake while going straight, cos a bike in the rightmost lane suddenly slows to a crawl without signalling, cos he wants to join the turning right queue at junction right in front of the first turning car. I really don't understand the obsessive need for them to squirm right to the front of the queue. 

Anyway, i think most bikes still cannot comprehend the fact that it is not uncommon for EVs to out-accelerate bikes off the traffic lights without any drama whatsoever. I find bigger cc scooters that some food delivery riders use are usually the fastest off the lights from 0-50km/h, I think they got auto transmission or something. 

But some bikes, especially the larger capacity ones, will think you are trying to play with them and start to ride recklessly swerving here and there when they get out-accelerated off the lights. By then, I usually hit the road speed limit +/-10km/h liao, and will see them vanish into the distance. Haha...

On 12/6/2025 at 9:41 AM, Lala81 said:

The basic B&B models are all FWD. Seal and above may have AWD. They don't have any RWD cars for now. So just pointing out not really true.

Have lah, only their performance top tier cars are AWD, those CAT B premium and CAT A Dynamic ones are RWD, this one I am very sure. 

M6, E6 MPVs are FWD, Atto 3 and below are all FWD, that's true. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

On 12/6/2025 at 9:57 AM, Tianmo said:

Have lah, only their performance top tier cars are AWD, those CAT B premium and CAT A Dynamic ones are RWD, this one I am very sure. 

M6, E6 MPVs are FWD, Atto 3 and below are all FWD, that's true. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Yeah stand corrected. Actually knew this but never checked when I typed. 

B&B cars are appliances. RWD is a very minor good to have for me. But really far down in consideration list. 

On 12/6/2025 at 9:43 AM, Lala81 said:

If non tesla and non European then Very few leh. Zeekr, MG5. Leap motor. 

Unless u like Tohto. 

Have quite a number lah. Like BYD seal, sealion 7, seal 6, Dongfeng 007,  IM5 EV, Hyundai Ioniq 6, kia EV6, Aion Hyptec. 

And I cfm chop not like Tohto, at least I no print out excel sheet and throw CC on the table. I tell the SE, 应该你赚的,你赚, but give me a better than avg deal. Deal done, scan the QR quote and paid the deposit, never even bring wallet out. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

On 12/6/2025 at 8:46 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

And most importantly it’s the ability for me to stop completely, smoothly without that abrupt stop at the end.

For many cars, the brake pedal is very difficult to modulate until complete braking is very smooth. You almost can see every head bob forward at that final stop cos most drivers step on the brakes harder and harder until the car stops.

With OPD, stopping is so smooth and it also lets drivers brake sooner with the added benefit of regen to add range back.

Plus, rims are not soiled cos the actual brake sanitary pads are so seldom used.

But some drivers in the chat say that their foot sng cos they dun need to rotate their foot between the accelerator and brake. I dunno if they’re for real or saying in jest 😅

One thing.. With OPD, once I couldn't scratch my leg when it was itchy.. in ICE I could let go and do a quick scratch while letting the car coast 😬

On 12/6/2025 at 9:41 AM, Lala81 said:

I nearly got my back end busted during one of the rare cases when I parked front in.  Couldn't see the aisle when I was reversing out and next thing I knew, a car zoomed past just inches away from my rear bumper.  Any idea whether the rear cross traffic alert feature will be of use in this case ?

On 12/6/2025 at 10:09 AM, Lala81 said:

Yeah stand corrected. Actually knew this but never checked when I typed. 

B&B cars are appliances. RWD is a very minor good to have for me. But really far down in consideration list. 

Actually RWD is not a requirement for me, I have shortlisted and test drove a few FWD EVs which I must say drive well,  and honestly they get dropped not because of the drive. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

On 12/3/2025 at 10:44 AM, Rickster said:

I'm in 2 minds on all these fast DC chargers. As an EV driver, if I go to a shopping mall, I hardly even bother to use the DC charger unless really no choice and I'm out of juice.

1. Price. Usually DC chargers are more expensive than those AC chargers found in residential areas.
  2. Idle fees (will be everywhere sooner or later). That means my car will probably be fully charged in under an hour... which means I'll need to shift my car shortly after nicely seated down at a restaurant waiting for my food... and spend some time hunting and waiting for a parking lot while my family is happily enjoying a hot meal😑
  3. Battery health. While this is technically not really applicable for sg because of our low mileage and 10 years lifespan of cars, it's still human nature that many of us will prefer to baby our battery especially when our cars are still generally new.

An additional task to baby our batteries. 

Once a month do a manual battery maintenance.

Charge it to to 100% and keep the charger connected for about 2 hours. 

This will help the BMS rebalance the charge to ensure all the cells get the same charge as the rest.

I read that in our daily use, some cells that are discharged don't get charged while some other keeps getting charged. Over time the cells that don't get charged can degrade.

Edited by Solar

On 12/6/2025 at 10:14 AM, Tianmo said:

Have quite a number lah. Like BYD seal, sealion 7, seal 6, Dongfeng 007,  IM5 EV, Hyundai Ioniq 6, kia EV6, Aion Hyptec. 

And I cfm chop not like Tohto, at least I no print out excel sheet and throw CC on the table. I tell the SE, 应该你赚的,你赚, but give me a better than avg deal. Deal done, scan the QR quote and paid the deposit, never even bring wallet out. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Ioniq 5 not rwd ar.