Ysc3 Twincharged July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 was reading the thread on those who open doors and hit other cars ... and it reminded me : today my aunt had birthday lunch at a restaurant in the hdb area ... reached there but the white lots were taken up only left red lot, so circled around the carpark until the third time when i saw a man carrying two plastic bags with him walk up to his blue lancer. so i drove up and waited 3 cars infront of his lot and waited for him to come out. at the same time, a Sunny had also come up behind but that Sunny knew i was waiting for the lot and parked further back. after waiting for almost 4 mins, the $%^!!@MF lancer still never come out. so it dawned upon my that this !@$#~MF was a carpark hogger and true enuff, once i drove off, he immediately came out of his lot !! KNNBCCB !! then the Sunny lucky lor ... just slip in ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 u should hv wait for 5 mins lor... period. *.* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 was reading the thread on those who open doors and hit other cars ... and it reminded me : today my aunt had birthday lunch at a restaurant in the hdb area ... reached there but the white lots were taken up only left red lot, so circled around the carpark until the third time when i saw a man carrying two plastic bags with him walk up to his blue lancer. so i drove up and waited 3 cars infront of his lot and waited for him to come out. at the same time, a Sunny had also come up behind but that Sunny knew i was waiting for the lot and parked further back. after waiting for almost 4 mins, the $%^!!@MF lancer still never come out. so it dawned upon my that this !@$#~MF was a carpark hogger and true enuff, once i drove off, he immediately came out of his lot !! KNNBCCB !! then the Sunny lucky lor ... just slip in ... If I can manage to make eye contact with the owner...I will wave or signal to ask whether he or she is leaving...it cut off the guessing game.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 getting into the car may not mean he is going off................he also has the right to stay in the car as long as he wants..............no reason for him to rush out of the lot because somebody is waiting .................anyone wants a lot.................wait...............quite simple leh............. [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged July 8, 2012 Author Share July 8, 2012 (edited) If I can manage to make eye contact with the owner...I will wave or signal to ask whether he or she is leaving...it cut off the guessing game.... i try not to do that ... coz when ppl do that to me, it feels like they are pressurizing me to let the lot to them faster. i will just wait but its not common for someone to get in and then also wait for so long then leave. Usually, i see is ppl will go to their cars, drop their things then then walk off, then i will know they are still occupying the lot. but it really pisses me off to see that the fella immediately move out immediately as i drove off. Edited July 8, 2012 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 I think ur paranoid. Why he wanna hog the lot. He is juz leaving as and when he wants to. usually i c ppl waiting i drive out stop at side and do my stuff like charge hp. on gps. etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleknown Clutched July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 I think ur paranoid. Why he wanna hog the lot. He is juz leaving as and when he wants to. usually i c ppl waiting i drive out stop at side and do my stuff like charge hp. on gps. etc. Not many are considerate these days. Always talk about rights. See the replies above you know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 i try not to do that ... coz when ppl do that to me, it feels like they are pressurizing me to let the lot to them faster. i will just wait but its not common for someone to get in and then also wait for so long then leave. Usually, i see is ppl will go to their cars, drop their things then then walk off, then i will know they are still occupying the lot. but it really pisses me off to see that the fella immediately move out immediately as i drove off. It depend how u gesture... a friendly thumb up and smile will diffuse a lot on the so call pressurizing mood....it works for me most of the time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 i try not to do that ... coz when ppl do that to me, it feels like they are pressurizing me to let the lot to them faster. i will just wait but its not common for someone to get in and then also wait for so long then leave. Usually, i see is ppl will go to their cars, drop their things then then walk off, then i will know they are still occupying the lot. but it really pisses me off to see that the fella immediately move out immediately as i drove off. gesture better than come here n start a thread right... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 In the car park, it all about luck. Why blame the lancer? I too always hog the lot. Cos im checking and replying email. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken_leong 2nd Gear July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 was reading the thread on those who open doors and hit other cars ... and it reminded me : today my aunt had birthday lunch at a restaurant in the hdb area ... reached there but the white lots were taken up only left red lot, so circled around the carpark until the third time when i saw a man carrying two plastic bags with him walk up to his blue lancer. so i drove up and waited 3 cars infront of his lot and waited for him to come out. at the same time, a Sunny had also come up behind but that Sunny knew i was waiting for the lot and parked further back. after waiting for almost 4 mins, the $%^!!@MF lancer still never come out. so it dawned upon my that this !@$#~MF was a carpark hogger and true enuff, once i drove off, he immediately came out of his lot !! KNNBCCB !! then the Sunny lucky lor ... just slip in ... I think it's just coincidental. He may have some things to do or put in place before moving off. For me, if someone wants the lot and I'm leaving, then he or she gota wait. Firstly, I most probably gota buckle my kid in the child seat and let my family settle in before moving of. And if I didn't ask them to wait, then don't wait if you can't. Secondly, like someone said in this forum in a thread that I have forgotten what was it all about, he/she said something like this. 'I am not going to inconvenience myself to convenience you'. I totally agree with his or her saying. Why must I chiong out just bcos someone is waiting for the lot? I do agree there are people who deliberately don't want to move off when they know there's people waiting but do give the guy or others and me(if we do happen to chance upon in the future) a benefit of a doubt that we need abit longer time to move off than others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 is it a non-EPS hdb carpark? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superamazing Neutral Newbie July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 Looking at some of the answers and comments above, it is not difficult to understand as to why Singapore is far away from being a gracious society. People are just too self-centred thinking of themselves only. If I see someone waiting for my lot and I am done with my errands I will leave immediately for that someone to take over that lot. Even if I need to make a phone call or send a sms or short email, I will drive out of the lot first and stop the car at the side to do the above. That someone who needs your lot may be rushing for an appointment or may be late and to me its just a small matter vacating the lot a couple of minutes earlier. I do that all the time. Why should we even think that this is to make something inconvenience for ourself to benefit others? Imagine one day if you are at the receiving end, you will then appreciate such little thoughtfulness, little kind effort, little consideration that others are doing for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Autumnoid Neutral Newbie July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 Looking at some of the answers and comments above, it is not difficult to understand as to why Singapore is far away from being a gracious society. People are just too self-centred thinking of themselves only. If I see someone waiting for my lot and I am done with my errands I will leave immediately for that someone to take over that lot. Even if I need to make a phone call or send a sms or short email, I will drive out of the lot first and stop the car at the side to do the above. That someone who needs your lot may be rushing for an appointment or may be late and to me its just a small matter vacating the lot a couple of minutes earlier. I do that all the time. Why should we even think that this is to make something inconvenience for ourself to benefit others? Imagine one day if you are at the receiving end, you will then appreciate such little thoughtfulness, little kind effort, little consideration that others are doing for you. [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 Your logic that you are waiting for a lot, and therefore expect others to vacate it JUST BECAUSE you are there, is like those people who signal that they wish to change lanes and therefore EXPECT others to give way. It is up to you to seek clarification, politely, if you feel that the occupant of the parking lot is taking too long. No one owes you an explanation. If someone wants to sit in his car, and still continues to pay for it, WTF are you going to do about it? How is it any different from a car that is empty and occupying a lot? Who are you to say whether someone can or cannot just sit in his car, provided he is paying for the lot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 i have personally encountered a malaysia-registered car drove out of his lot for me immediately so that i can parked my car. only to realize that he then stopped his car at the side and waited for his family to board the car. I have also encountered singapore-registered car with driver sit inside his car, looking at his cashcard, putting on sunglasses (in MSCP), looking again at his cashcard, checking his fingers for good 15 minutes or more with my car waiting. end up cannot tahan and move off for me. as long as most of the singaporean think we are "superior" compared with ppl up North, action tells the whole story. sometimes, i feel paiseh in this kind of thing that show how bad manner we are compared to the rest from other countries. i even feel totally shameful when we can still think that we are totally righteous in our mind (our own world). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 If I can manage to make eye contact with the owner...I will wave or signal to ask whether he or she is leaving...it cut off the guessing game.... Not true. Ever kena one assh0e who waved no, he's not leaving and when I drove off he left the parking lot. KNN! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superamazing Neutral Newbie July 8, 2012 Share July 8, 2012 I fully agree with you. My son just came back with his friends on holidays from States. Before he left I was not quite agreeable to his driving there. When he came back he said driving was so easy and so much fun. He said drivers were giving way to one another readily. He said when a car signaled other drivers will give way but back in Singapore when one signals the drivers behind will drive faster to close the gap so that you can't cut in. But of course this is just in general as we also have many courteous drivers here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...