Car camera recommendation

Pelican

In my experience, the Viofo A229 Plus Duo has proven to be the most dependable dashcam to date in my testing over the past 12 months. Even after lengthy journeys in the sun, the supercapacitor, Sony STARVIS sensors, and dual-channel (2K front + 1080p rear) setup prevent overheating.

On 6/19/2025 at 3:15 PM, Dashcameras said:

In my experience, the Viofo A229 Plus Duo has proven to be the most dependable dashcam to date in my testing over the past 12 months. Even after lengthy journeys in the sun, the supercapacitor, Sony STARVIS sensors, and dual-channel (2K front + 1080p rear) setup prevent overheating.

Sure going to get this Viofo when my Ding Ding Pai cams kaput.  8 years already still going strong....

On 6/19/2025 at 5:04 PM, Volvobrick said:

Sure going to get this Viofo when my Ding Ding Pai cams kaput.  8 years already still going strong....

I have the viofo 119. But i think the higher end models not easily found on aliexpress.

cos i searched a bit before deciding on 70mai.

anyway with the ease of use of wifi access, i'm willing to accept the more easily spoilt battery instead of capacitor.

On 7/24/2025 at 2:13 PM, Lala81 said:

tesla got own inbuilt cameras right? haha 

I'm just using regular 70mai basic model. Don't see the need for too good spec dashcam in sg.

Ya but id still want to install a cam to record better videos and for parking mode too. Sentry mode sucks battery.

On 7/24/2025 at 5:19 PM, Mkl22 said:

the taobao version has only 1080p for the rear camera. sorry for the error. 

Just use a front 4k cam for the rear windscreen lah.... I do that (without screen compact type).

hi people, for those with a 4G connectivity for their dashcam, may I know if any of those contract free 4g plan sim cards would suffice? or need those data only (without talk time plans) sim cards?

how much data does the dashcam use? cos i have a 1GB data only sim from starhub that's FOC for my home internet which i'm currently using on an old ipad. if 1GB is sufficient then i won't subscribe to a new plan just for the dashcam liao.

thanks for sharing your experiences and advice.

On 7/28/2025 at 11:13 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

hi people, for those with a 4G connectivity for their dashcam, may I know if any of those contract free 4g plan sim cards would suffice? or need those data only (without talk time plans) sim cards?

how much data does the dashcam use? cos i have a 1GB data only sim from starhub that's FOC for my home internet which i'm currently using on an old ipad. if 1GB is sufficient then i won't subscribe to a new plan just for the dashcam liao.

thanks for sharing your experiences and advice.

For dashcam, 1 GB should be more than enough unless it is uploaded to cloud.

On 7/28/2025 at 11:38 AM, inlinesix said:

For dashcam, 1 GB should be more than enough unless it is uploaded to cloud.

thanks bro