Qn on copying iphone contacts/notes to gmail

Lala81

Thinking of switching to S3 soon.

I already my gmail synced previously when setting up the accounts in Settings -> Mails/contacts/calender.

But it only sync notes, calendar + mail. It has no option to sync my contacts straightaway.

After I did some reading, if u choose the option of setting up Microsoft Exchange account but use your gmail address and login after adding m.google.com to the server, u can sync calendar, contacts and mail.

BUT it doesn't sync my notes.

Is there a workaround for this problem? Am i doing anything wrong?

Or should i manually just export the contacts to Win 7 contacts then just export to gmail when i get it?

Any advice?

There is an app to do it. My wife switched to s3 also. Forgot the app name. It allows u to sync ur contact direct fm iphone to gmail. Google "how to sync fromiphone to android".

Download Google Sync from the App Store. Run it to associate your phone contacts with your chosen gmail account. Once done, go to your computer and navigate to Google Contacts and cleanup your contacts. This is important and useful as your new android phone will draw its contacts and sync with google contacts.

In your android phone, set up and associate the same google account as mentioned. There are many third party apps and goarounds to accomplish the same task but I find this method the most streamlined and cleanest since you are doing via Google Cloud which means your google contacts are surely associated with the Google ecosystem properly. Third party apps may work properly now but if Google revamps the way things are done, the APIs used by the third party apps will be broken.

Edited by Happily1986

There is an app to do it. My wife switched to s3 also. Forgot the app name. It allows u to sync ur contact direct fm iphone to gmail. Google "how to sync fromiphone to android".

thanks.

Download Google Sync from the App Store. Run it to associate your phone contacts with your chosen gmail account. Once done, go to your computer and navigate to Google Contacts and cleanup your contacts. This is important and useful as your new android phone will draw its contacts and sync with google contacts.

In your android phone, set up and associate the same google account as mentioned. There are many third party apps and goarounds to accomplish the same task but I find this method the most streamlined and cleanest since you are doing via Google Cloud which means your google contacts are surely associated with the Google ecosystem properly. Third party apps may work properly now but if Google revamps the way things are done, the APIs used by the third party apps will be broken.

Google sync is an android app? Can't find on iphone app store.

Dont remember I DL Google sync...but once I sign in my S3 using same gmail and do a sync (phone function)... every contacts from gmail account all auto DL to S3... sweet.... but of course gmail contacts must clean up... else will be very messy... and only need to do it 1 time..... next time, so long using Andriod phone.... use same gmail, sync, everything go in.... sweet...

i realised that Google Sync is not an iphone app. see my reply to Lala81 above. You are right, need to clean up your Google Contacts. Best way is using com to do it if not when you sync, SMLJ mother and son contact will appear in your phone. We can opt to display contacts with phone numbers only but still sibeh messy. [dizzy]

company bought me an S3, very happy when I got it...

Carefully edit and enter my existing contacts into the S3 one by one as I yet to sort for years....

Delete all contacts from iphone and try to sync...

My worst nightmare.......

Day 1 in the morning, after finally removing everyone in my iphone, I want to copy S3 contacts to sim....

Somehow, it got sync into google (lucky my gmail is new so no contacts)....

Then I cannot pull the names out from google and I went to M1 shop for help....

The m1 dealer representing S3 had....

Duplicate all existing S3 contacts and from 500odd to 1000!

Then I ask him to reinstate back and he wanted to delete one by one

hate it so much?? let me know when you are ready to throw it out of the window [laugh] [laugh]

company's asset... will pass down to my new colleagues and get myself a BB.

8 months later, you will come back and KPKB why the battery life suddenly from 5 days charge once to 1 day charge 2 time. [:(]

well... still better than S3, 4 hours usage, KIA [:p]

better dont get BB lah [laugh] for your own mental health welfare 8 months later. [sweatdrop]

Phone contacts migrating la....

So many hands doing the phone...

i very curious leh, how come you cannot sync the Iphone contact to the Gmail then from there sync over to your S3?

on top of that, you can actually one time whip out all contacts on iphone by resetting to factory setting. dont need to delete one at a time

Edited by Joseph22