Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) That is how the ANA see our forces, as part of the Coalition Force - fighting shoulder to shoulder. Operations in Afghanistan include intelligence, int analysis, force preparation and generation, training the trainers, frontline defence against IDF, medical aid, and guess what, our boys were or are in these high risks operations. It is still very much unsettled in Afghanistan, and our people are taking risks. In the same camps, our soldiers see flags lowered when the ultimate sacrifices were made. It is fortunate our Singapore flag has not been lowered in such a fashion. I hope keyboard warriors here do not undermine what they are doing for Singapore. Edited August 15, 2012 by Vblaster_w211 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 I think could taking the comments wrongly. While the SAF has made some significant contributions to the country and has achievements, it is simply wrong to assume that someone who is successful in SAF will be successful in the corporate setting. Would you allow the top brain surgeon in Singapore to do heart bypass for your love ones? I mean the brain surgeon is also a brilliant doctor and is smart and has achievements or would you have a heart specialist? If you say no to the brain surgeon, would it not be strange if someone lecture you on looking down on the brain surgeon's achievements? valid point. It is indeed a fallacious argument as evident by the appeal to authority (a type of fallacious argument). Fact is, no matter how incredible the SAF is, it is a military organisation and not a transport operator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) valid point. It is indeed a fallacious argument as evident by the appeal to authority (a type of fallacious argument). Fact is, no matter how incredible the SAF is, it is a military organisation and not a transport operator. Ya. It is better for him to actually work in Senior posting 1st and understand how SMRT work better and than see whether is he the really suitable calibare before promoting him to CEO of SMRT, than he will gain more respect and also to make sure he is really the correct person to handle the job. Like some said, Military organisation is very different from cooperate world and a person who do excellent in military organisation not necessery can perform well in cooperate world. Sometimes start lower 1st can also see something that CEO may not even have chance so see and learn from it too.. * If everytime a military person straight away jump to become CEO, how would people respect the CEO ?? And also it is quite dangerous as what if really the person is not suitable candidate's but only shows when he assume the job than we should blame who?? Edited August 15, 2012 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) <deleted> *Double post Edited August 15, 2012 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 I wonder why there are so many criticism over the new appointment. Why not suggest names on who better to take the role rather just complaining behind the computer? Complain as though you have the qualities to take on this job. Is complaining at every small fark thing the only thing Singaporeans can do? haaaa like that one lar..... whoever take over also will comprain one lar... even get the best person from oversea MNC... will knea comprain why SIN no people already meh, must pay so much to get a foreigner.... when get a local, why must be this guy, he qualified meh..... The only time peole wont comprain is when they find a CEO no need to pay, somemore announce reduction in fare and at the same time, bring in profit for the company and yet increase pay for the worker, change the fleet every other year..... Tell me who can do that think we make him the next PM.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 haaaa like that one lar..... whoever take over also will comprain one lar... even get the best person from oversea MNC... will knea comprain why SIN no people already meh, must pay so much to get a foreigner.... when get a local, why must be this guy, he qualified meh..... The only time peole wont comprain is when they find a CEO no need to pay, somemore announce reduction in fare and at the same time, bring in profit for the company and yet increase pay for the worker, change the fleet every other year..... Tell me who can do that think we make him the next PM.... U oso forgot to add: the new CEO muz ban all foreigners from using the mrt and provide free rides for s'poreans. At the same time, he muz oso gib high-high dividends to shareholders (triple if one has gone thru NS) and confiscate all shareholdings held by others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 haaaa like that one lar..... whoever take over also will comprain one lar... even get the best person from oversea MNC... will knea comprain why SIN no people already meh, must pay so much to get a foreigner.... when get a local, why must be this guy, he qualified meh..... The only time peole wont comprain is when they find a CEO no need to pay, somemore announce reduction in fare and at the same time, bring in profit for the company and yet increase pay for the worker, change the fleet every other year..... Tell me who can do that think we make him the next PM.... Complain is good actually. As complain can cause people to be more on the ball, if not kanna complain and may lose the job position and it will thus get job done better. Same things goes to people who complain even with best candidates around. As complain may sometimes lead to top management see things from fresh new look and maybe even great ideas are form though the complain itself. When Singaporeans no complain, than the management should be the one that should worry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary469 1st Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 whoever is CEO, confirm will do a better job than SAW. i mean, what else could go worse? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Complain is good actually. As complain can cause people to be more on the ball, if not kanna complain and may lose the job position and it will thus get job done better. Same things goes to people who complain even with best candidates around. As complain may sometimes lead to top management see things from fresh new look and maybe even great ideas are form though the complain itself. When Singaporeans no complain, than the management should be the one that should worry. Constructive criticism I totally agree is good...... but the type of cristicism esp in MCF... one must take it with a pail of salt..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 whoever is CEO, confirm will do a better job than SAW. i mean, what else could go worse? errrr dont say too early can.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Constructive criticism I totally agree is good...... but the type of cristicism esp in MCF... one must take it with a pail of salt..... Not necessery leh. I learn a lot stuff from MCF.. Depends on how you look at things lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MLS Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 haaaa like that one lar..... whoever take over also will comprain one lar... even get the best person from oversea MNC... will knea comprain why SIN no people already meh, must pay so much to get a foreigner.... when get a local, why must be this guy, he qualified meh..... The only time peole wont comprain is when they find a CEO no need to pay, somemore announce reduction in fare and at the same time, bring in profit for the company and yet increase pay for the worker, change the fleet every other year..... Tell me who can do that think we make him the next PM.... True also la. Give everyone a fare reduction and all these qualifications and army or no army concerns will disappear instantly. Seriously speaking, a company without a Chief is in a terrible position. No corporate direction and causes a sense of disillusion to all employees. To suggest assigning someone with a senior position instead is akin to having a relief teacher in school. No power, just stand in only. Feel that singaporeans have everything to complain. To colleagues, friends or even online. But when camera come out, all cover face and siam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) True also la. Give everyone a fare reduction and all these qualifications and army or no army concerns will disappear instantly. Seriously speaking, a company without a Chief is in a terrible position. No corporate direction and causes a sense of disillusion to all employees. To suggest assigning someone with a senior position instead is akin to having a relief teacher in school. No power, just stand in only. Feel that singaporeans have everything to complain. To colleagues, friends or even online. But when camera come out, all cover face and siam. i came back from a coffee break, 3 office girls was complaining non stop, worst than pasar malam [laugh] Edited August 15, 2012 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Quite sad to note many talk down on our SAF's capabilities, while the freigners that have benefitted from our SAF's help have nothing but praise for our Armed Forces. It is fact that SAF took over operations that contained SARS for Singapore. It is fact that only SAF could muster 3 LST's worth of food, medical and infrastructural aid, combining military and NGO's expertise and resources for boxing day tsunami. Our soldiers arrived first and had to clear the debris and sadly, dead bodies, to make the first landing possible. It is fact that when Christchurch was hit with earthquake, our Bde, which was there for normal training, immediately reconfigured itself into No Duff operations and started relief efforts, again, before anyone else. It is fact when Katrina struck, our airboys were, again, the first foreign aid to arrive. The SAF commanded JTF151 against piracy in Gulf of Aden, and also Timor Leste peacekeeping efforts. Our soldiers are still fighting shoulder to shoulder with Australian, US, British and Canadian forces in Afghanistan, and have received accolades for what they have done. And the thanks the SAF personnel could see on the eyes of those we've helped meant millions, a testamount of SAF's true capability. Yes, we take it not everyone has had the best of times over your 2 to 2.5 yrs (older) of Full Time NS. But we should not doubt what the SAF can do when rallied. This is the 3G SAF, our SAF. Most of us are/were from SAF, assumingly of course, at least as NSF or NSmen. I never doubt the committement of our soldiers when called upon. I have been in NS for a long time, & all the in-camp and oversea training are more or less run by us & always went smoothly & meet timing/target/goals etc (except IPPT lol). We are able to do that becuase everyone of us (mots anyway) are professional & know exactly what need to be done, & get on with our job. Whats I am saying is most of the operations are colleborated effort of all the people, not just one or a few people on top. For sure leadership is important, but IMO, you cannot fully judge a person capability base on something base on team effort, like the SAF operation for instance. I have no doubt that he is capable & credit to the operation he lead, but its hard to comprehensively judge somone like that IMO. Just saying. But anyway, time will tell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MLS Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 i went came back from a coffee break, 3 office girls was complaining non stop, worst than pasar malam [laugh] Best was yesterday when I going to work and at the lobby, 2 OL were talking and halfway they turned and looked around. Continued secret talk and turned again. They don't know it's obvious ah? 9am only gossip already started. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2012 Neutral Newbie August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Most of us are/were from SAF, assumingly of course, at least as NSF or NSmen. I never doubt the committement of our soldiers when called upon. I have been in NS for a long time, & all the in-camp and oversea training are more or less run by us & always went smoothly & meet timing/target/goals etc (except IPPT lol). We are able to do that becuase everyone of us (mots anyway) are professional & know exactly what need to be done, & get on with our job. Whats I am saying is most of the operations are colleborated effort of all the people, not just one or a few people on top. For sure leadership is important, but IMO, you cannot fully judge a person capability base on something base on team effort, like the SAF operation for instance. I have no doubt that he is capable & credit to the operation he lead, but its hard to comprehensively judge somone like that IMO. Just saying. But anyway, time will tell. The military has its rank structure and regimental line of commands and controls to get things done. Even if the peers or subordinates disagree with the guy making decisions, they still have to follow him and the rules. In a civilian / commercial world, it is not the same. Things can get complex and respects have to be earned, team members' support is not a given in getting things done. Nonetheless, we still can give him the chance to undo what that auntie has done, and make our train service a more reliable one at least. He has to balance shareholders' expectations with that of the passengers. The expectations are in conflict by nature, tough job for anyone. Let's give him time and moral support. Don't forget to keep our fingers double-crossed too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2012 Neutral Newbie August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Complain is good actually. As complain can cause people to be more on the ball, if not kanna complain and may lose the job position and it will thus get job done better. Same things goes to people who complain even with best candidates around. As complain may sometimes lead to top management see things from fresh new look and maybe even great ideas are form though the complain itself. When Singaporeans no complain, than the management should be the one that should worry. Those who can't take feedbacks (positive or negatives), might as well hide in the shell :-) Complaints, when they are reasonable n make sense, keep the person on his toes, hopefully. Most leaders who are worthy learn something from such complaints and ignore the senseless ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Quite sad to note many talk down on our SAF's capabilities, while the freigners that have benefitted from our SAF's help have nothing but praise for our Armed Forces. Yes, we take it not everyone has had the best of times over your 2 to 2.5 yrs (older) of Full Time NS. But we should not doubt what the SAF can do when rallied. This is the 3G SAF, our SAF. Ya .. this is the 3G SAF whereby a NSF was robbed of his rifle by a Screwdriver wielding Bangala Maybe thats your SAF, certainly not my. If that Bangra attempted that stunt during my time, i am pretty sure a coconut would be shoved up his but-hole ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...