Diff between SQ and MI

Ysc3

define lousy take off and landing?

throw clutch. [laugh]

Most likely due to small plane which is more sensitive to movements.

When there's turbulance on A319, and you are seated at the rear, it just feel so funny, like in a car at high speed with windows down.

Edited by Kangadrool

define lousy take off and landing?

You can feel the whole plane shaking and vibrating, like sitting in a roller coaster. [:p]

its nothing unusual to MI, there are SQ planes like that too...or for that matter other airlines too.

Lol, maybe depends on the pilot skills also. And the size of the plane. :D Usually smaller plane will feel more "roller coaster" when taking off, landing and during turbulance.

Is it only me but my 2 recent take offs from Changi. I noticed there are alot of sideway movement prior to airborne.

It is? What plane you taking? [:/]

SilkAir is like budget airline with food provided.

Small plane, no video on demand, cannot order food in advance etc....

I used to think silkair was a budget airline. can't tell any diff in service level from something like jetstar. and MI hv the cheek to charge SQ price....... <_<

Got difference between MI and budget la. At least MI they serve on flight meals and allow free 20kg baggage. [:p]

SilkAir is like budget airline with food provided.

Small plane, no video on demand, cannot order food in advance etc....

i can make do with it since its only 2 hours + for the flight from here to there ... but its just i am "paiseh" that my relatives also lost the chance to be on a SQ flight becoz of me .... [:(]

Edited by Ysc3

i can make do with it since its only 2 hours + for the flight from here to there ... but its just i am "paiseh" that my relatives also lost the chance to be on a SQ flight becoz of me .... [:(]

Then just go for budget loh since almost the same as MI ie. no tv, use single aisle plane only MI got sandwich which I think the savings from using budget can buy better ones to eat.....anyway short haul niah mah.......

usually due to crosswinds and the pilot is using rudder to correct, its nothing uncommon

It is? What plane you taking? [:/]

Once Tiger to Hatyai, once Silkair to Phuket. Both small planes. :mellow:

Edited by Bavarian

usually due to crosswinds and the pilot is using rudder to correct, its nothing uncommon

Seems to be quite noticeable the last 2 takeoffs in the afternoon. :blink:

The air is more turbulent in the afternoon.

If you ride a motorbike, you'll notice this. Quite noticeable.

during landing oso. after it hits the tarmac (usually wif a loud thud), the A320 sways a little while barreling down the runway. quite scary sia..... [sweatdrop]

i find both SQ and MI standard drop a lot, the service and plane, shitty, try flying delta airline, use to be lousy too, now extremely good.

during landing oso. after it hits the tarmac (usually wif a loud thud), the A320 sways a little while barreling down the runway. quite scary sia..... [sweatdrop]

Landing hard sometimes is deliberate. If the runway is wet, usually pilots will land harder on the runway. Of course sometimes there are boos boos cos a trainee pilot is flying (qualified pilot but training for aircraft type) and may have flared the aircraft late and slam on runway.... but most qualified pilots can land quite ok cos A320 is a small aircraft.... You feel it lands harder cos you are closer to the ground in a small aircraft and A320 has only 2 wheels in each of the 2 main gears, smaller shock absorber (not that it needs a big one anyway)

In syndey, where runway width is 150 ft versus normal 200ft in most airports, many pilots especially when approaching Sydney at night will have visual error cos the runway look smaller than normal and therefore some pilots may think the plane is still rather high and failed to flare the aircraft in time... thats where you can get a super hard landing on a A380. Try flying a A380 departing Singapore at night, and there are chances that the plane may have a hard landing :p