Darryn Turbocharged September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 This video was posted on Youtube. Do you see anything wrong here? Looks pretty good and normal to me, with the cyclist being pretty responsible. FWIW, I live around that area, cycle regularly and had to do a double take to make sure it wasn't me - 'cus I would be riding exactly the same way. Also, it was said in MyPaper today by some govt lackey or other that dun need cycling as a commuting option as the public transport system is enough. [hur] My opinion is obvious - but what does youse fellahs reckon? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruriimasu 1st Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 i really dont think he should be turning together with cars.. maybe if he really wanted to turn he should wait for the green arrow to light up since his speed was much slower. and he didnt seem to have safety lights. very dangerous considering it was night time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 11, 2012 Author Share September 11, 2012 i really dont think he should be turning together with cars.. maybe if he really wanted to turn he should wait for the green arrow to light up since his speed was much slower. and he didnt seem to have safety lights. very dangerous considering it was night time. Lights = agree But turning with cars? Why not? He is to the left of the lane, takes a pretty disciplined line through the corner, and is otherwise following the proper rules. If I were turning at this junction, I would do it EXACTLY the same way that he did. We should remember that bikes have just as much right to be on the road as the car - if you see them in the lane, give them space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Isc10096 1st Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Hi Im quite a noob when it comes to cycling rules, but I think it will be good to have a blinking red light at the back of the bicycle. The place where he was cycling seems perfectly alright since he was turning right, he signaled, its green arrow and that is the left most portion of the right turn lane. Again, that depends on how long he has been cycling at that position, if it is just for the duration of the video, it seems perfectly fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 11, 2012 Author Share September 11, 2012 Hi Im quite a noob when it comes to cycling rules, but I think it will be good to have a blinking red light at the back of the bicycle. The place where he was cycling seems perfectly alright since he was turning right, he signaled, its green arrow and that is the left most portion of the right turn lane. Again, that depends on how long he has been cycling at that position, if it is just for the duration of the video, it seems perfectly fine. Looking at the way he is riding, he seems like a pretty experienced rider. In particular the way that he kept to a very straight line, didn't waver around and rode in a very narrow "lane" of his own looked pretty "on". The other day, I was cycling along the white line between the straight ahead lane and the free left turn lane at the end of punggol road, and some moron horned me. I was super pissed at why he would do that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Looking at the way he is riding, he seems like a pretty experienced rider. In particular the way that he kept to a very straight line, didn't waver around and rode in a very narrow "lane" of his own looked pretty "on". The other day, I was cycling along the white line between the straight ahead lane and the free left turn lane at the end of punggol road, and some moron horned me. I was super pissed at why he would do that. I empathise with your bad experience being horned, but at the same time, drivers must be thinking, after paying through his nose and ass for the COE and road taxes and for the car, why the hell should he be blocked by a slower cyclist who doesn't pay a dime to use the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 This video was posted on Youtube. Do you see anything wrong here? Looks pretty good and normal to me, with the cyclist being pretty responsible. FWIW, I live around that area, cycle regularly and had to do a double take to make sure it wasn't me - 'cus I would be riding exactly the same way. Also, it was said in MyPaper today by some govt lackey or other that dun need cycling as a commuting option as the public transport system is enough. [hur] My opinion is obvious - but what does youse fellahs reckon? They lost the argument the moment they mentioned that the public transport is GOOD ENOUGH. Ok, before people come in and tell me it is better than London blah blah, the reality is better than London doesnt mean it is good enough. If they want to convince people, for goodness sake, have the decency to find better support for their argument! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 11, 2012 Author Share September 11, 2012 I empathise with your bad experience being horned, but at the same time, drivers must be thinking, after paying through his nose and ass for the COE and road taxes and for the car, why the hell should he be blocked by a slower cyclist who doesn't pay a dime to use the road. Seriously? So mean to say that a Lamborghini driver should horn a Altis driver on the basis that he pays more road tax? This is the sort of thinking that makes cycling so dangerous in Singapore. I don't care how much you pay, cyclists have every much as much right to use the road as a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged September 11, 2012 Author Share September 11, 2012 They lost the argument the moment they mentioned that the public transport is GOOD ENOUGH. Ok, before people come in and tell me it is better than London blah blah, the reality is better than London doesnt mean it is good enough. If they want to convince people, for goodness sake, have the decency to find better support for their argument! Stupid right? I read the comment and almost fell off my chair. Cycling is an awesome way of commuting, and the govt should be encouraging it as much as possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 There was nothing wrong with this fella's cycling. He kept as close as possible to the left of the lane, and clearly signalled his intention before signalling. I hope the video uploader is not our very own "Mcf777" (judging from the youtube nick). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 (edited) This is the sort of thinking that makes cycling so dangerous in Singapore. I don't care how much you pay, cyclists have every much as much right to use the road as a car. I agree with you in broad terms, with one caveat. When there's a path dedicated for cyclists (like the PCN) that runs parallel to the road, the cyclist *has* to take it (and stay off the road). That's actually clearly stated in the Road Traffic Act. When there is no such dedicated path (pedestrian walkways clearly don't count), cyclists are free to use the road. I hope you agree with this. Some posters here (like the namesake of the one that went up against Goliath) fancy themselves as Tour de France entrants and insist on cycling on the main road adjacent to the PCN because it allows them more speed. This is against the law, but they don't care. I support fully law-abiding cyclists, and only disdain the ones that blatantly flout the law. The worst are the hypocrites that can come up with a thousand rationalisations as to why they know better than the law. EDIT: here was my old post, with the relevant quote from the Statutes: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3909090 Edited September 11, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Seriously? So mean to say that a Lamborghini driver should horn a Altis driver on the basis that he pays more road tax? This is the sort of thinking that makes cycling so dangerous in Singapore. I don't care how much you pay, cyclists have every much as much right to use the road as a car. Not meaning to be elitist, but typically it's not the wealthy ones who have such mentality, it's those who pay an arm and leg to get their B&B cars who exhibit such behaviour more often. Personally, I'm ok with cyclists, as long as they act like motorists ALL the time. I simply can't stand those who ride on the road, but when it's the red light, they ride on the pedestrian crossing. Especially peeved by those who ride across zebra crossings, they are putting themselves in danger, suddenly appearing in front of the car. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 This video was posted on Youtube. Do you see anything wrong here? Looks pretty good and normal to me, with the cyclist being pretty responsible. FWIW, I live around that area, cycle regularly and had to do a double take to make sure it wasn't me - 'cus I would be riding exactly the same way. Also, it was said in MyPaper today by some govt lackey or other that dun need cycling as a commuting option as the public transport system is enough. [hur] My opinion is obvious - but what does youse fellahs reckon? I see 2 WRONG things here. 1. the cyclist does not have any blicker lights on the back and i suspect the front too. 2. He's turning on the lane that a car can go straight or turn right? What if the car is not turning right and it's just going straight? And if the car driver did not get the indication that the cyclist wants to turn right? BANG! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 (edited) 2. He's turning on the lane that a car can go straight or turn right? What if the car is not turning right and it's just going straight? And if the car driver did not get the indication that the cyclist wants to turn right? BANG! The cyclist (hand)signalled correctly. If the car driver is a blur sotong and bangs into him, the car driver is fully, 100% at fault, and I would join in the chorus condemning him. The cyclist basically followed the law here, as far as his cycling goes. He stuck to the leftmost portion of the lane and signalled clearly in advance. If only other cyclists follow the law to this extent. Edited September 11, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xanavi 4th Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Nothing wrong except for the absence of lights on his bike. Also, his hand could stretch out a little earlier to be sure the driver taking the cideo could see. Wait for the car beside to pass first before turning, in case car cannot see because of blindspot. Absence of lights is already so wrong, worse if he is an experienced cyclist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 I see 2 WRONG things here. 1. the cyclist does not have any blicker lights on the back and i suspect the front too. 2. He's turning on the lane that a car can go straight or turn right? What if the car is not turning right and it's just going straight? And if the car driver did not get the indication that the cyclist wants to turn right? BANG! There is a red blinking light on the back. If you notice he is looking back regularly to be aware of the traffic he is in. If he sees that the car is indicating to turn right, then he can act as he did. If the car wasn't indicating then he would have slowed down allowing it to pass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 I empathise with your bad experience being horned, but at the same time, drivers must be thinking, after paying through his nose and ass for the COE and road taxes and for the car, why the hell should he be blocked by a slower cyclist who doesn't pay a dime to use the road. that is a very ANTI-SOCIAL thinking, my friend. someone paying more doesnt mean he/she has more right than others. In a HDB block where there are 4 room and 5 room units together. Does the 5 room unit owner has more right than the 4 room unit owner just because he pay more property tax and higher price for the 5 room unit? Can the 5 room unit owner has 5 dogs than the 4 room unit? Can the 5 room unit owner throw litter out of the window? Can the 5 room unit owner "chope" the elevator? Let's talk about private condo. Does the 4-room unit owner has more rights than a shoe box unit owner in the same condo? It's his own problem if he wants to buy a 5 room unit. No one forces him to buy a 5 room unit. Who is forcing the car owner to buy a big CC car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 I see 2 WRONG things here. 1. the cyclist does not have any blicker lights on the back and i suspect the front too. 2. He's turning on the lane that a car can go straight or turn right? What if the car is not turning right and it's just going straight? And if the car driver did not get the indication that the cyclist wants to turn right? BANG! This is a valid point.. Rider dangerously assumed the car beside him is also turning right. He shouldn't keep left and turn together with the car. Instead, he should take the whole lane by himself, like any motorcyclists. This would prevent a accident whereby the driver is going straight instead of turning right. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...