COE solutions??

Wind30

Another back-up solution is to prepare to emigrate, go live in Australia, Canada, America or New Zealand where cars are cheeeeeeeepppppp!

And the money saved from not having to pay for expensive cars n houses is enough to put a kid or two thru collage and flying back now and then to see friends n this little sunny island.

Bonus -- free fresh air and less stressed out life over there :D

What are we waiting for? :D

And the money saved from not having to pay for expensive cars n houses is enough to put a kid or two thru collage and flying back now and then to see friends n this little sunny island.

Bonus -- free fresh air and less stressed out life over there :D

What are we waiting for? :D

Actually we can offer one to one exchange. All ang mohs come here and we go there. All car problem for Singaporeans solved. :D

It's for personal opinions such as this that forum discussions are beneficial.

As citizens mature into informed and thinking adults, it is timely that our grouses and suggestions are pitted against the realities of existing legislation, reach of political powers and the economic/commercial context. These factors constrain what the authorities can get done.

eg. suggesting high interest rate for car loans only and minimum downpayment. This is beyond the scope of LTA. MAS is hesitant to fiddle here because of global banking deregulation, lighter hand, don't want to seem fickle in policy.

For our suggestions, it is important to fit it in the context of the times and the structures that have preceeded. ie. the scrap rebates, how car loans are approved, import and export markets conditions.

That's why the only workable suggestions centre around the available cash in folks' pocket, an outright levy or adjusting the scrap rebate going forward (no retroactive adjustments).

Our roads are not used effectively as we can see most cars carry only one or two persons during peak hours [:(] If these cars carry more commuters each, the congestions on the roads will be very much eased and traffic will flow much more smoothly [:)]

LTA used to impose a rule to make cars carry at least four to five persons each otherwise the drivers had to pay a surcharge during peak hours in CBD. But people found ways to break/cheat the rule. This was in the 70s when electronic surveillance had its limitations.

But technologies have progressed since then and there must be a more effective way today to catch such culprits plus the imposing of super high fines on offenders may make this old method relevant again today in curbing traffic congestions.

Those who were there during the 70s should know about the old rule. [:)][:/]

I wonder if coe at 200k if this current garment will be in power of not [laugh]

They will still be in power for sure by virtue of SAF :D

Don't forget old man has made it clear that when the regime is threatened, the army will be activated.... So don't play play, he means it. :blink:

we got our car two years back when the COE is about 10K. now it's so much higher... a deal friend told me the COE is expected to remain high for 1-2 years... we thought about selling the car initially... gut now, now sure liao.

any one have good suggestions?

nobody like my idea of removing COE but imposing very high ERP charges. (at least $20 a pop into CBD)

commercial vehicles get exceptions during certain timings.

everybody get to have a car, but see if they want to drive or not lor... (and pay parking fees also)

I am a proponent of this idea too... but i think go by distance based. drive 1km= $x amount..

even if you're not driving on crowded roads?... I don't think that makes sense...

based on current COE of approx S$100K/3650 days, daily we are paying S$27.40 per day.

If you do not use the road, u still pay; currently.

So if you buy already, don't use, you are stupid.

In fact even 0.5km also should use car, to reduce the marginal cost of using the car.

Many people here argue about need based etc, or rich people should pay more (Or some variation of higher capacity pay more etc.) Kids/old ppl should get car etc.

Truth is smooth flowing roads are a luxury good in Singapore, where land is in very finite supply.

The rich who have 200 cars in their garage but only 5 people in their family lessen congestion on the roads while contributing to nation building by paying more tax.

The 5 year old vios takes up almost the same amount of space as a Aventador.

If we charge $x per km, but remove COE+ road tax, those who use less pay less.

You use more, pay more.

Normal road use, pay.

Road no need money to build?Where got free one?

Contribute to congestion pay even more.

Crowded road got ERP + distance based. Non-crowded road, distance only.

If you use very little on non-crowded roads, likely to pay less than $27.40 per day on average.

Still much cheaper than current. And if you didn't pay in full for the car, still got interest costs to consider.

This actually forces rational behavior where you pay for what you consume.

Like ala carte in restaurant. You order what you can eat, and do not over-eat.

Why? Order more need to pay more. Full can already.

Currently we are like buffet style, pay liao dun eat until vomit, quite stupid right?

Since pay liao. This leads to overconsumption. And this manifests as congestion on the roads.

you think only

1. lta may take back some coe for negative growth

2. those who purchase car at $80k-$90k coe will also sell their car and bid new coe for new car if coe is $50k-ish

3. the pent up demand of owner who could not afford to change car at $80k-$90k will come in

4. new buyer who could not afford $80k-$90k coe will also come in especially if coe is $50k-ish

hence, cheap coe aka < $50k is highly unlikely ... imho

once car owner had seen a $90k-$100k coe ... $50k-ish coe is considered sibei sibei sibei cheap and whack

so, a cheap car with omv $15k x 2.3 + $55k coe + $12k ad profit = $100k-ish

no $100k no talk ... imho ... and this is for a very basic car hor

More Car scrap = More Cheap COE

based on current COE of approx S$100K/3650 days, daily we are paying S$27.40 per day.

If you do not use the road, u still pay; currently.

So if you buy already, don't use, you are stupid.

In fact even 0.5km also should use car, to reduce the marginal cost of using the car.

Many people here argue about need based etc, or rich people should pay more (Or some variation of higher capacity pay more etc.) Kids/old ppl should get car etc.

Truth is smooth flowing roads are a luxury good in Singapore, where land is in very finite supply.

The rich who have 200 cars in their garage but only 5 people in their family lessen congestion on the roads while contributing to nation building by paying more tax.

The 5 year old vios takes up almost the same amount of space as a Aventador.

If we charge $x per km, but remove COE+ road tax, those who use less pay less.

You use more, pay more.

Normal road use, pay.

Road no need money to build?Where got free one?

Contribute to congestion pay even more.

Crowded road got ERP + distance based. Non-crowded road, distance only.

If you use very little on non-crowded roads, likely to pay less than $27.40 per day on average.

Still much cheaper than current. And if you didn't pay in full for the car, still got interest costs to consider.

This actually forces rational behavior where you pay for what you consume.

Like ala carte in restaurant. You order what you can eat, and do not over-eat.

Why? Order more need to pay more. Full can already.

Currently we are like buffet style, pay liao dun eat until vomit, quite stupid right?

Since pay liao. This leads to overconsumption. And this manifests as congestion on the roads.

Sorry. I don't understand why you are using these high COE prices and saying that your solution is good because people will pay less than paying for a $100K COE.

I don't think you've answered my point. Even without COE, we're already paying for taxes, petrol, and the more we drive, the more we need to maintain our car.

Your proposal for people to pay even if they are not driving on crowded roads will only fuel (forgive the pun) anti-government sentiment where you blindly make people pay and pay even though they are not contributing to the road congestion problem that we are trying to resolve in the first place.

suddenly struck my mind - can use ballot system bo? since car ownership is never an entitlement but privilege in this crammed island.

coupled with 30% dp for new and 20% for used cars (need counter-measure for hi-loan tactic), can work?

coe can convert to additional arf of certain fixed %.

private owners ballot one time need to wait for 3 mths before next ballot for new cars.

biz owners needing commercial vehicle to separately apply to lta - separate scheme.

suddenly struck my mind - can use ballot system bo? since car ownership is never an entitlement but privilege in this crammed island.

coupled with 30% dp for new and 20% for used cars (need counter-measure for hi-loan tactic), can work?

coe can convert to additional arf of certain fixed %.

private owners ballot one time need to wait for 3 mths before next ballot for new cars.

biz owners needing commercial vehicle to separately apply to lta - separate scheme.

I heard of similar system before,in the old East germany...

Since you mention it is a privilage, why the need to ballot? If this kind of system approved, anything can also ballet liao. Why not ballet for land propertis, you know a lot of Singaporeans like to have a house with a nice garden. Why should only the rich have the privilage? I think a lot of us also like to travel in private jet, let have a ballot so everyone have a chance to travel in a private Jet.

The problem of car ownership is not the amount of cars on the road, or the COE, but the mindset of the people. People must learn to live within means, have reaslitic expectation, learn to adapt.

Dunno if anyone thought of this anot but here's my idea;

Once you bought COE, you cannot buy another COE for another 3 years. If you want to change car after 2yrs or less, your only option would be the used car market.

This way, people who just bought their car can't bid for coe but ppl who already finished their 3 year period can bid.

Then when the other ppl finish their 3 yrs then can bid again. It's something like splitting the bidders into 2 groups at diff times. Which makes coe cheaper.

But it will never happen lah. Our beloved gahment make dozens of millions every month with their cash cow. The profitability in this regime would make Donald Trump himself drop his jaw in disbelief.

They get so much money why they can't fix the blardy roads? Feel machiam dakar rally already. [hur]