New Car or Pre-owned?? Either side, we lose.

Veryfree

Actually i regretted listening too much here. I sell away my estima last year. Now cannot buy back a Wish. Stupid. Judge for yourself. Now can only call cab, estima cab. Kiang jiu hoe, mai kei kiang.

Supposing u sold ur estima at no loss I.e. same price when u bot it, just treat the Wish price u paid for including the period u drove ur estima. E.g. 3yo Wish = 97k but add previous 3yr for ur estima (assumed) = 10yr, minus 3yr previous depre for ur estima. So depre for Wish worth it? U justify.

In other words, if u sell ur old car depre at few k higher last year, to pay few k more depre for another similarly sized car should "offset" or justify, at least this what I feel if I should change ride now.

Of cos, u need to roughly know prev 3yo Wish new car price.

Generally, bnb cars profit margin be 7 to 15k n conti be 20 to 40k, up to 200k car price previously. Now almost all like aligned to 25 to 40k, jap or conti.

Base price should be omv + omv (100% afr) + 20% duty + regn fee + Coe. Approx. 2.2 x omv + Coe.

Edited by Fuelsaver

wah camry 2008 nowadays sell 70-80k, mean drive 5 years with loss of less than 10k!

No wonder my carpark has one owner sold off his 08 camry and buy another brand new camry!

is it worth selling a 2010 car to get a 2-3yr coe left car? maybe coe come down 3yr later?

there is always a risk .... wont know what the rules are at then

Use my method above. Then u decide from there. Of cos, new car feeling is hard to beat.

i just dont believe a spanking brand new Toyota will feel better than my preown Carrera... [:p]

[laugh][laugh]

i just dont believe a spanking brand new Toyota will feel better than my preown Carrera... [:p]

[laugh][laugh]

Must compare same car leh. U outta context Liao haha.

I personally prefer the current condition where people with lesser income are being removed from driving , financially it forces more people to save up and take public transport .

Bro, you are assuming that everyone who owns car is owning car for showing off or for fun. There are people with genuine need of car, e.g. handicapped family member, people with old parents that are not that mobile anymore, sales people, or those who run business that requires transportation (movers, contractors, etc). Are you suggesting for them to also take public transportation? I have one neighbour who's doing his own aircon service business recently LLST have to scrapped his van, so now carry all the barang barang and take cab. Make sense?

Please advise all your friends not to overpay for 2008 and 2009 used cars.

If you observe, dealers are now overstocked and selling by consignment only. Let those dealers eat grass. Do not pay for someone elses' mistake.

Ya, no place to park any more used cars. Some dealers have got low coe conti cars stuck for months and the dealer are still hoping for the carrot head to appear.

Please advise all your friends not to overpay for 2008 and 2009 used cars.

If you observe, dealers are now overstocked and selling by consignment only. Let those dealers eat grass. Do not pay for someone elses' mistake.

Seems like if buy used car, can only buy 2007 and before or 2010 and after?! [rolleyes]

My take is to go for it only if you are intending to experience different engine and drive train configs, and make full payment for the used car.

eg. If you now driving FF inline 4, go and experience FR inline 6/v6. Now driving FF inline4 2.4, go and experience allwheel flat4 turbo. FR v6, go and experience flat6.

Change from FF inline4 to FF inline4 turbo? Bladdy waste time.

RR Flat6 turbo to 2-wheel 1-manpower? Earth champion.

Use the chance to experience different world, and a chance to pay in full and don't take car loan.

current ride is conti but plan to downgrade to used jap car or van,

since when in SG u can sell car & profit? [laugh]

The best is, if one do not have excess money, take public transport. We have one of the cheapest public transport compare to another parts of the world. If you have to buy a car with less than 1/5 of your salary, than think carefully. It may become a bigger liability. For my case, I always pay up aleast 40 - 60% of the total price, while the rest through loan.

Edited by HP_Lee