Jman888 Moderator February 12, 2013 Author Share February 12, 2013 you have ink watched at Lido today, enjoyed it. its a WKW movie, not an Ip Man movie ... can see WKW's style (and wow !) in this movie, and also the usual theme of unfulfilled love must admit zhang ziyi was impressive and the photography was also very good. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear February 12, 2013 Share February 12, 2013 you have ink guess we are all low-skilled movie watchers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 12, 2013 Share February 12, 2013 I guess my old school would be this Wah!!! This is real kung fu.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 12, 2013 Author Share February 12, 2013 guess we are all low-skilled movie watchers not low skilled lah, many usually dun bring their brain into cinema, just want to distress [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear February 12, 2013 Share February 12, 2013 not low skilled lah, many usually dun bring their brain into cinema, just want to distress [laugh] u need more than brain to appreciate wkw movie lah... need to have tt sense of appreciation of his art. guess the majority of movie goers dun have tt i presume from the comments i read. not gonna judge the grandmaster as i have yet to watch it, probably wun oso. last i watched his show is actualli in the mood for love, tony leung and maggie cheung. remember the repeated scene of tony leung and maggie cheung walkin past each other up n down the stairs in slow motion... actualli fail to complete it. i got the dvd, tried playin it 4 times but nv able to finish.... unless u can feel the FEEL in watchin tony leung smoke in slow motion(which i vaguely remember is abt 1 min plus for the scene), and when they walked pass each other in the stairs for the 7th times and u can feel everytime got different feeling in it(looks the same to me), else hard to appreciate his movie. interesting note, in the mood for love is actualli the middle of the trilogy between, days of being wild 阿飞正传, and 2046. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear February 12, 2013 Share February 12, 2013 oh, oso thanks to him for exceeding his film budget for ashes of time due to repeatedly delay in production, the entire cast have to shoot 1 nonsense film to bring in budget for it to carry on. turn out to be one of my fav funni shows. 射鵰英雄傳之東成西就 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear February 12, 2013 Share February 12, 2013 oh, oso thanks to him for exceeding his film budget for ashes of time due to repeatedly delay in production, the entire cast have to shoot 1 nonsense film to bring in budget for it to carry on. turn out to be one of my fav funni shows. 射鵰英雄傳之東成西就 东成西就! Glad to know people still remember this. One of the best hk comedy ever! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 i thought the 东成西就 director is 刘镇伟. wkw is producer though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 I guess my old school would be this Knn wtf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 I guess my old school would be this This is something new to me. I didn't know old school means touching the opponent's crotch. (See the animated hand on the actor's crotch standing on the left). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 13, 2013 Author Share February 13, 2013 This is something new to me. I didn't know old school means touching the opponent's crotch. (See the animated hand on the actor's crotch standing on the left). are you sure? this kung fu has been long learnt by many people, it is called 'Monkey steals the peach' and extended to other sport like Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 13, 2013 Author Share February 13, 2013 i agree the mood and the feel must be right to watch wkw's movie. wrong timing for me as i watched it on a weekday 11pm show, damn tire and the movie make me sleepy and frustrate cos i need to go to work the next day [laugh] u need more than brain to appreciate wkw movie lah... need to have tt sense of appreciation of his art. guess the majority of movie goers dun have tt i presume from the comments i read. not gonna judge the grandmaster as i have yet to watch it, probably wun oso. last i watched his show is actualli in the mood for love, tony leung and maggie cheung. remember the repeated scene of tony leung and maggie cheung walkin past each other up n down the stairs in slow motion... actualli fail to complete it. i got the dvd, tried playin it 4 times but nv able to finish.... unless u can feel the FEEL in watchin tony leung smoke in slow motion(which i vaguely remember is abt 1 min plus for the scene), and when they walked pass each other in the stairs for the 7th times and u can feel everytime got different feeling in it(looks the same to me), else hard to appreciate his movie. interesting note, in the mood for love is actualli the middle of the trilogy between, days of being wild 阿飞正传, and 2046. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 i thought the 东成西就 director is 刘镇伟. wkw is producer though. yup, the movie was produced because wkw took too long to complete his ashes of time thus the whole cast of tt show are used to produce this movie to get additional budget to complete ashes of time. can say directly thanks to wkw also le mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 A very rojak movie, there are kungfu, romance, comedy elements in it, very arty farty type, can Zzzzz in cinema so better download so can fast forward Yes, good to watch if I want a arty film.... A different class from Jackie chan, Jet Li etc type of chop-kick-punch acrion flicks It's action parts is more akin to some pseudo ballet with some kind of kungfu theme, lots of reflective dialogues and some deep moods... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Firstly, congrats to Ang Lee for bagging another academy award (Best Director) from "the life of pi". http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_direc...r_Best_Director For mainstream audience, Ang Lee is still the better choice. Some interesting snippets regarding "the grandmaster" http://news.sohu.com/20130108/n362789855.shtml the chronology 大事记 1996年 王家卫第一次有了想拍李小龙师父叶问的想法。 1997、1998年 王家卫筹备《一代宗师》剧本。 2001年 王家卫注册《一代宗师》剧本。 2002年 开发布会正式宣布片名和主演,梁朝伟拜入叶问之子叶准门下,习咏春拳。 2003年 《2046》进入紧张拍摄期,《一代宗师》暂缓。 2004年 戛纳宣传《2046》,《一代宗师》再次提上日程。 2005、2006年 王家卫先后拍摄《爱神》《蓝莓之夜》。 2007年 梁朝伟表示拍完吴宇森《赤壁》后,紧接着将拍摄《一代宗师》。 2008年 王家卫探班袁和平《苏乞儿》拍摄,传出邀袁和平任《一代宗师》武术指导。 2009年 张震拜师习八极掌。 2009年11月 《一代宗师》正式开机。 2010年1月 赵本山与王家卫、章子怡等在东北见面。 2010年11月 《一代宗师》发布首张国际海报。 2011年7月 《一代宗师》推出首支预告片梁朝伟1分钟雨战戏。 2012年4月 《一代宗师》计划12月18日上映。 2012年5月 《一代宗师》亮相戛纳影展,曝光5分钟片段。 2012年11月 《一代宗师》改档2013年1月8日。 2013年1月8日 《一代宗师》公映。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 i managed to watch this yesterday... but was a bit confused can someone explain/fill in the gaps 1) who is the guy with mostache the in the barber shop?! cant be Ma San right.... 2) who is the beau of Gong Er? was it the guy on the train?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 28, 2013 Author Share February 28, 2013 (edited) i managed to watch this yesterday... but was a bit confused can someone explain/fill in the gaps 1) who is the guy with mostache the in the barber shop?! cant be Ma San right.... that was 一线天 (played by 张震 ), he has a link with Gong Er but nothing much to do with Ip man, just another kung fu master during that time. 2) who is the beau of Gong Er? was it the guy on the train?! not sure which one you were referring to. Edited February 28, 2013 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 oh... was he the guy she "saved" from the Japs on the train; the one she rested her head on his shoulder? cos no head no tail.. then suddenly she's was "engaged" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...