Gitanic 6th Gear March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 Singaporean are too tamed to be army. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junjian Neutral Newbie March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 Singaporean are too tamed to be army. Because they are brought up with the brainwashed mindset that, 1. Singapore won't go to war. 2. Singapore sure lose war. 3. US will come save us. Ppl tend to forget that 60+ years ago, ppl also tot nth will happened. End up we got raped by the Japs. Literally raped. Understandable why ppl don't want to go NS now. It is damn tough to compete with foreigners. Which is of no fault of them. I blame the self proclaimed 'higher-beings' who create this situation. If ppl do want to serve willingly or atleast understand why they need to serve, they wont give their best in their duty. Again, I blame the higher-beings. They keep telling you that you are protecting your family, country not foreigners. But at the rate they bring it foreigners, we will become minority soon. Then, are we still protecting our family and country? How to expect ppl to want to serve? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 SAF shld sue the parents for raising a gan jiong kid.... I think the 2LT also have patents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdrarities Neutral Newbie March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 Reminds me of Army Series.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 I think the 2LT also have patents. Wat patent? U so early start drinking liao??????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Budgetice 3rd Gear March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 You have to understand why safety measures are there in the first place; to mitigate potential risk. Just like even before recruits handle their M16, they learn about IA drills. No amount of vigilance should be compromised just because there are safety measures in place. Just like we have fire safety mechanisms in every building but that does not mean one should be lax about fire safety. Perhaps you have never served the army before or maybe are doing mundane roles in the service side, however as a ex-PS, I expect my men and platoon to attain to certain standards. I believe this is a basic responsibility of a soldier. By the way, I am not sure which era of the army you belong to, but we dun have the luxury of ambulance on standby every exercise. We only have safety vehicles using the now retired landrovers + safety officer + duty medic +duty driver. Safety vehicle will report back to the medical centre and then sent via the army ambulance to the designated hospital. why? your PS ego kicks in ? Where is your freaking pride ? With PRide with lead? a PS that suggest singapore should hire militants ? This kind of mentality is really bad.. basically i think there a only a few type of PS (for non regulars) 1) Really garang and well organised. Appointed PS by the school even before being posted to unit (not many) 2) Kena sabo and arrowed to be PS .. but really F up kind 3) carry balls until PS which type are you ? please dont feel offended because I too am from armour and we are the best combat unit for that year. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 Wat patent? U so early start drinking liao??????? Normally earlier than that. :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 you can practice throw 1 million dummy grenade but when you panic while holding the real one, there are no cure for it cause when handling the real one the way they remind u countless time to be careful, thats where panic set in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 I have train one batch of recruit. Everyone was cool when throwing dummy grenade, but most shivered even when collecting the grenade, let alone throw. Jokers also become very serious. Its not easy, no matter how many times you practice with a drill or dummy ones. Some people are just more kanchiong or hamchee than others, its understandable. but no matter what, its a drill that must be done. The same goes with live firing. This is also why I cannot understand why in places like USA, any tom, dick & Harry can just buy a gun, without needing to go through proper trainjing or learn about rules of engagement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alucard33 Neutral Newbie March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 hmmmm~ i went through the grenade training and LAW tube training... i think in my days, most things considered dangerous by today's standards already... i personally feel that it's better to do the real thing in peace time even though there is a small chance someone is gonna get blown up rather than in war time and we all running about like chickens without heads and some dude accidentally takes out an entire platoon because of a boo boo he made... but then again... we can't please everyone... but as in all things in life... learning the hard way does build character and prepare us for the harsh realities of life... maybe we will never ever go to war and such training seems redundant... but i have learnt and appreciated what i went through... it created many fond memories as well... and thus now we are fighting so hard to keep our home~ (didn't mean to turn this into political direction) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 I am a Singaporean and have went thru the 2.5 years, including 4 month BMT ( 2 months PTP ) and 5 months in SISPEC. The remaining years as a Sect Comd in an Armor Battalion, then Veh Comd manning the M113 with the 40/50mm weapon system, and then as a Platoon Sgt. I was trained the hard way; from BMT to SISPEC and then to a Battalion. Therefore from my personal experience, I think I am in a position to talk further. Before the actual grenade throw,we were drilled thru hours of classroom theory + technical handling to prepare us for the actual throw. Plus multiple throws of dummy grenade ( the blue one ), 1 time mock-up ( smoke one ) and the actual one. The recruit should not go wrong with so much preparation before hand. If you talk about 1st timers and no one born a soldier, then every one also has a first time handling a firearm for BTP and ATP, demo range, live firing and an excuse for making mistakes. With so much preparation before hand , there can be no excuses, even for first timers. you threw grenade again in SISPEC or unit is it? talk so much for what? everybody is like you, all threw grenade once in BMT. writing cover letter huh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 you threw grenade again in SISPEC or unit is it? talk so much for what? everybody is like you, all threw grenade once in BMT. writing cover letter huh. Good one . He Machiam like want to tell the whole world how his unit operate.....make intel gathering so much easier for others Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 Are u Singaporean? if not f..k off He is a recruit under training, no one is a born soldier Recruit under training...hahahaha.... I remembered during dummy throwing most recruits like us all super show off trying to throw and hit the target zone. Come to actual live grenade all hamtan and throw asap without any aiming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 all this training and over kill and over thinking.. must be scholars writing all that training manuals.. all the IA and dummy and smoke and simulation grenades don't have the look and feel of the original. every problem faced when something happens out of routine is not going to be a model problem that IA or what training solves by going through the drills. it may even make it worse. a jammed bolt due to a round not chambering can be due to the bolt jamming into the side of the shell when it is still not out of the magazine. the slide assist will not help. looking at the way we have to hold the grenade and wear all the SBO and sling the rifle, its just an accident waiting to happen. is this realistic when you are in a fire fight situation? in exercises we throw sand wrapped in blue tape. in war documentaries, soldiers throw grenade so natural like throw baseball.. some people are just kancheong.. train with dummy 1000 times cool cucumber when real thing come, just freeze. I'm no exception, it is serious stuff. but the more we make it a big deal, the more stress can build up. a gun is just a gun, point and shoot. the rules of safety is only as safe as the situational awareness of the shooter. there are people who check clear weapon pointing it at other people. I can understand why there are calls for professional soldiers. citizen soldiers without adequate training or are kancheong can be a hazard to our fellow platoon mates. as if worrying about getting killed by enemy fire is not enough. There has to be a better way and shorter time to train for throwing this grenade... Rant over Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 And my OC used to tell us, " As a soldier, we can die protecting our country, but we should never make any mistakes in doing so" I do not know how is the culture in the army now but this is how serious we are in the past. We train hard and take our training seriously and accept no compromise. There are always two sides to a coin. I am those happy go lucky type. Training session never the 1st one in the queue. Book out always the 1st few in line. Well still managed to scrap thru 2 1/2 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 Good for you bro. But plse don't call your fellow country man " Sillypore" etc. Not everyone one are the same and situation on the ground are dynamic Even US highly train Ranger/ Delta force also can have " black hawk down" incident. So it is not fare to label your own country man "Sillypore" and talk about hiring piney militant. Stick the issue to the recruit concern. I will let this rest here and you have a good day. Bros chill and take it easy on him. Maybe not others as for me i find it ok to have one of our own breed calling "sillypore". I take no offend cos he is like "Gu laugh at Pi" or rather "kettle laughing at pot'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 (edited) why? your PS ego kicks in ? Where is your freaking pride ? With PRide with lead? a PS that suggest singapore should hire militants ? This kind of mentality is really bad.. basically i think there a only a few type of PS (for non regulars) 1) Really garang and well organised. Appointed PS by the school even before being posted to unit (not many) 2) Kena sabo and arrowed to be PS .. but really F up kind 3) carry balls until PS which type are you ? please dont feel offended because I too am from armour and we are the best combat unit for that year. Cheers. If u was from armour than u should know how tough a armour PS can be during reservist In camp training. Most of the time only u and driver doing all the dirty stuffs (washing, store etc) while the men chilling out at the canteen or emart. Edited March 9, 2013 by Kopites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear March 9, 2013 Share March 9, 2013 Totally agree. During dry run, throw dummy grenade. Everyone can throw very well, everyone seemed confident and proficient. All because they know it's a fake and nothing can go wrong. Only when they draw the real grenade, then you can see the anxiety set in. Some will be so nervous that they start perspiring until the hands get wet and clammy. They know that this is the real deal and life is at stake. Instructors just have to be extra cautious and observant and think of different counter measures in case the throw is not successful. And please, all of us who had served or is serving NS: Respect one another is the least we should do. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...