Lemon law what does it cover?

Ooosh

what lemon law? mine is a new car within 1 yr, also cannot claim.

the lemon law is a lemon itself. you need to have the bank account of the swiss to make sure you get your claims thru

wear & tear refers to the wear and tear that are direct result of your usage, not those that were worn before you purchase.

as such there is a 6months duration covered.

yeah... that is what we interpret it to be. but when you try to claim under the lemon 6mth warranty, the dealer keeps telling you that those are wear and tear parts that will not be covered under that warranty.

in this case, who is right? who is wrong?

yeah... that is what we interpret it to be. but when you try to claim under the lemon 6mth warranty, the dealer keeps telling you that those are wear and tear parts that will not be covered under that warranty.

in this case, who is right? who is wrong?

elite that wrote the law is wrong. never dictate what is claimable?

hit the nail right on the head siah~! [laugh]

but nothing is done to correct that wrong leh, even after so many complaints.

hmmm... i wonder who that elite is who wrote that damn law.

and the bigger ELITE that approved it, he/she should shoulder part of the blame too.

maciam like, wu hor quay boh. but have also maciam like dun have cos cannot exercise it.

under the lemon law before you repair the car you had to get the dealer to agree to the repair cost first. You cannot repair and then claim from the dealer. The items you stated like clutch and timing belt are all very subjective. You must had bought your car recently and sent to your workshop. Timing belt if you don't change it and when the belt break would set you back a couple of thousands . If I am buying a second hand car, be prepared to spent at least $500 to $1000 (japanese and Korean) to do up the car.

Most people would buy a 500K HDB and spend 80k to 100k to renovate their resale HDB and not bothered about their rides on the road.

Your life depends on the tryes and the brake system , so don't be stingy with this items.

I just bought a 08 Honda Fit 1.3 GF from a dealer which offer 1 year warranty on my Honda Fit. I have chosen this car because of it's low FC.
Right now after my first top up of petrol , I discovered that the FC of this Fit is worst than a Trajet ! About 6-8 km per litre.
May I know is this cover under lemon law?

Something is very wrong with you fuel consumption, Honda fit can easily give you 12 km per litre.

You can't claim FC under the lemon law but could there be something wrong with the gearbox or your driving habits.

a law is a law, knn whatever dealers say is to wriggle out of the law.

lemon law is not 1st day pass through lah.

you already say mah the dealer says vs the law say. then its up to you to believe and act.

Believe and act as what dealers say, suck thumb loh, law is there to protect you.

used it to your best knowledge,

under the lemon law before you repair the car you had to get the dealer to agree to the repair cost first. You cannot repair and then claim from the dealer. The items you stated like clutch and timing belt are all very subjective. You must had bought your car recently and sent to your workshop. Timing belt if you don't change it and when the belt break would set you back a couple of thousands . If I am buying a second hand car, be prepared to spent at least $500 to $1000 (japanese and Korean) to do up the car.

Most people would buy a 500K HDB and spend 80k to 100k to renovate their resale HDB and not bothered about their rides on the road.

Your life depends on the tryes and the brake system , so don't be stingy with this items.

Something is very wrong with you fuel consumption, Honda fit can easily give you 12 km per litre.

You can't claim FC under the lemon law but could there be something wrong with the gearbox or your driving habits.

wah siao bo, dealer bo chap you how to get dealer to agree to the cost first?

communicate your problems and ask for repair

make sure all communication are documented

give timeline for dealer to act and reply

give dead-lne and then commence repair & claim loh.

Bo sa lah mah.

you sell me lemon, I told you to repair, you bo chap, I repair, You pay.

a law is a law, knn whatever dealers say is to wriggle out of the law.

lemon law is not 1st day pass through lah.

you already say mah the dealer says vs the law say. then its up to you to believe and act.

Believe and act as what dealers say, suck thumb loh, law is there to protect you.

used it to your best knowledge,

wah siao bo, dealer bo chap you how to get dealer to agree to the cost first?

communicate your problems and ask for repair

make sure all communication are documented

give timeline for dealer to act and reply

give dead-lne and then commence repair & claim loh.

Bo sa lah mah.

if the world is this simple...

sori, not doubting you, but I believe we have heard stories even with BW, seller will wriggle their way out if the repair cost are high.

certainly, if the world is this simple...

I am voicing my opinion and trying to rectify some wayward comments that I find in this forum.

I would not doubt our law systems. :D

"lemon law imposed on used good provide more alternative recourses, and it will align with international jurisdiction."

goggle it

sori, not doubting you, but I believe we have heard stories even with BW, seller will wriggle their way out if the repair cost are high.

i believe BW would have perform those repair and repair and repair..:)

not so easy loh. esp when your car is not working and parked in the workshop while the dealer ponders on whether it is a "wear&tear" problem or not.

i kenna. end up, suck thumb. pay for own repairs.

lucky not major. else teng kor liow~!

its your car, your time, your money, your life.

why are you waiting for someone who has conflict of interest to tell you that if they sold you a defective car? [sweatdrop]

2nd Gear

Bought a 6 year old car from a dealer. Sent the car to my own mechanic for a throughout inspection the following day after I have collected my car. Found a leaking spool valve. Also monitor the radiator fluid after a week drive, and found level ran low. Contacted my dealer on these 2 issues. He honoured the 6 months warranty and ask me to send to their mechanic to have the problem fix. He agreed to bear the cost of repair. This is my experience on the lemon law in placed.

My compressor kapoot within 4 months and dealer ask to bring to his workhop which I do not trust. so I have sent to my workshop and is now going to small claim tribunal. worth a shot, will keep u all updated.

Hi. FYI, compressor is covered under lemon law. Went to Small Claim Tribunal and dealer ask to settle out of court and I manage to get back 80% of cost of repair for compressor.

Is warranty and lemon law the same?

Car left 3yrs, dealer told me can deduct S$1K. No warranty will be provided for the car. Must sign a indemnity letter.

Can we still apply the lemon law if gear or engine kaput?

Thanks.

Please advise on what action I should take

I bought a car from Cars Inn Credit Pte Ltd at woodlands on 19/7/14.

The salesman Alvin Ng, made a lot of empty promises to fix up my ride but it wasn't done upon collection. (I have it written in a separate T&C)

1) Re-spray Damage/dented panels/scratches

2) Clean/Polish/Wax/Condition Interior & Exterior of car

3) to fix all faults that is reported on the cars onboard computer

The advertisement that they placed on sgcarmart is false and misleading.

1) It says that it has keyless engine start but doesn't

2) New tires and rim- tires are 2010 and rims are resprayed

3) Like Brand new condition- just went Eurohuas and did inspection repair cost was estimated at $8k+

Please advise on what action I should take

I bought a car from Cars Inn Credit Pte Ltd at woodlands on 19/7/14.

The salesman Alvin Ng, made a lot of empty promises to fix up my ride but it wasn't done upon collection. (I have it written in a separate T&C)

1) Re-spray Damage/dented panels/scratches

2) Clean/Polish/Wax/Condition Interior & Exterior of car

3) to fix all faults that is reported on the cars onboard computer

The advertisement that they placed on sgcarmart is false and misleading.

1) It says that it has keyless engine start but doesn't

2) New tires and rim- tires are 2010 and rims are resprayed

3) Like Brand new condition- just went Eurohuas and did inspection repair cost was estimated at $8k+

I see 2 options.

1-suck in the cost and got to small claims after the repair is done.

2-walk out and lose your deposit if you are not comfortable with the purchase.

sometimes it is important to be extra observant when you walk into a car dealer shop. if you are, then you notice that Cars Inn Credit has crescent stickers pasted on it furniture.

then you don't have to go through this episode of hassle with this dealer.