Shull Turbocharged March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 My SGS2 one year+ got cracks on the front 'glass' and 2 large cracks on the thin piece of back plastic already, not factoring in how much it hang/the poor battery life compare to my IP4. Mine almost 2yrs and still going strong. Even after i drop it countless times during site work etc...lots of scratches on the back and side plastic, but nothing on the screen, and i didn't even use any screen protector. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 16, 2013 Author Share March 16, 2013 The truth is, how much will one use the S4 'advance' features, I still prefer IP cos of the excellent battery life, smooth and easy to use and not alot of such 'novelty' features Things like the smart stay on S3 was definitely very useful, no need to keep touching the screen to leave it on. The air gesture swiping on S4 should be good too - don't need to touch screen so often = less finger marks. And of course android as a whole got a lot of useful widgets and not to mention larger screen size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 For me, the user replaceable battery is a deal breaker, especially since i have lots of construction site/shipyard work, where using an external charger is simply not feasible. portable battery? though a bit bulky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 oh.. haha.. my phone hang everyday minimum2x per day.. aiyo.. jialat.. I think Samsung didnt really pull off with this phone.. you note 2 got problem. my wife note 2 dont have any single hang issue. and my s3 is working fine but with custom ROM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 I'm more keen on S3 'cos S4 seems just like a S3 enhanced. Maybe once I got the chance to play with it I might be wooed by it. As for Sony Z, I saw it a few days ago in HK when the sales person intro it to me. It seems impressive but I still have bad memories from those phones during the Sony Ericsson's days, so I'm still a bit skeptical about it. I can only change my ip4 when my contract is up in Oct this year....... from benchmark, S4 is more than 50% powerful than S3. hardware wins hand down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 (edited) 1 year only le?! I normally change phones every few months. my one x not bad liao, coming to a year. I got it the first day it was released here. had a padfone2 for half a month this year.. sold it and used back my one x. lucky I din trade the x for the Asus. I held and tested THE ONE at Singtel shop in amk hub just now.. they have lots of display sets. the build quality is fantastic and it feels so comfortable in my hands, screen is fantastic.. the resolution is just so good, I like the blinkfeed and zoe features. makes the phone very dynamic and interactive. the speakers are in front, so its loud and clear. SQ wise, nothing fantastic though. don't think I can wait till my contract ends in Oct, I'm so gonna get NEO!! kar_lover, mai tu liao. and I must apologize for digressing in an S4 thread. its an excellent phone in its own right but I feel the One is still the one for me.. haha edited to add that as I don't use any cases or screen protectors, build quality and touch sensitivity is very important to me. so yes, The One! Edited March 16, 2013 by Theoldjaffa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 Heard from someone who got Xperia Z lasted for 3 days then now in hospital liao what happen? the phone exploded in his face? :huh: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 I normally change phones every few months. my one x not bad liao, coming to a year. I got it the first day it was released here. had a padfone2 for half a month this year.. sold it and used back my one x. lucky I din trade the x for the Asus. I held and tested THE ONE at Singtel shop in amk hub just now.. they have lots of display sets. the build quality is fantastic and it feels so comfortable in my hands, screen is fantastic.. the resolution is just so good, I like the blinkfeed and zoe features. makes the phone very dynamic and interactive. the speakers are in front, so its loud and clear. SQ wise, nothing fantastic though. don't think I can wait till my contract ends in Oct, I'm so gonna get NEO!! kar_lover, mai tu liao. and I must apologize for digressing in an S4 thread. its an excellent phone in its own right but I feel the One is still the one for me.. haha edited to add that as I don't use any cases or screen protectors, build quality and touch sensitivity is very important to me. so yes, The One! How much is Neo selling for without contract? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 what happen? the phone exploded in his face? :huh: phone in hospital as in service centre??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 16, 2013 Author Share March 16, 2013 (edited) kar_lover, mai tu liao. and I must apologize for digressing in an S4 thread. its an excellent phone in its own right but I feel the One is still the one for me.. haha edited to add that as I don't use any cases or screen protectors, build quality and touch sensitivity is very important to me. so yes, The One! On sale already meh? I read will only launch mid April. Edited March 16, 2013 by Kar_lover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 How much is Neo selling for without contract? Think 968 or something. Limited stocks arriving in April. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 I'm going to get rid of my s3 now...... the price is starting to drop..... and prepare for the arrival of the ONE.... hehehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 Note II and GS4 size very close. Amazing really cutting it thin when it comes to segmenting their customers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 stepping back a bit what do you guys think of these few comments 1. what is the purpose of the phone - if your primary purpose is making phone call and basic schedules and etc do you need to pay so much for it and to get it free sign up such expensive plan 2. per usage per dollar for the cost of the phone - is this really value for money 3. where is there time to relax - every time you take a bus or MRT you see people glued to their smartphone - no down time for the brain - over worked 4. if you need a camera (unless for work) get a proper camera hence I find it difficult to buy a smartphone though i am using one i was given a nokia - drop in toilet bowl while poo poo and surfing (resuscitate cannot), then given a blackberry (the best so far for no nonsense phone) - died after a while buttons especially roller ball no response and finally now samsung - keep crashing (until i am worried that my data may be lost (contact phone number) i inherited phones from my friends who keep upgrading Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 Rumours say in June-August and will be available in different colours (First for IP) just like the IPod Touch. And will also utilize the new IGZO (Indium Gallium Zinc Oxide) screen The iPhone 5s so colourful?! Really launching in jun-aug ar? In this case maybe i should wait?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 Note II and GS4 size very close. Amazing really cutting it thin when it comes to segmenting their customers. what i find amazing is that they spare no efforts in spamming as many products as possible to saturate all the possible market segments even if that meant possible internal cannibalisation of sales and a possibly messed up corporate identity. Frankly, how many people can keep up with the entire range of phones which is ever expanding? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 what i find amazing is that they spare no efforts in spamming as many products as possible to saturate all the possible market segments even if that meant possible internal cannibalisation of sales and a possibly messed up corporate identity. Frankly, how many people can keep up with the entire range of phones which is ever expanding? Aiyah... HTC also same lar.... But I hope they wont come out a 'one++' after one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 16, 2013 Share March 16, 2013 Aiyah... HTC also same lar.... But I hope they wont come out a 'one++' after one... How come your One is coming out after they launched One X? their naming also one kind. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...