HDB backs down on acquiring flat

Acemundo

I don't get the asset appreciation thing actually. Even if the value of your flat goes up, you can't cash out what, since that leaves you with no place to stay, unless you want to spend all the profits on yet another inflated property.

If like that then LPPL right?

Why can't people just buy one house and stay in it forever, or at least until they need another one (due to kids or etc)? Really damn greedy leh.

I don't get the asset appreciation thing actually. Even if the value of your flat goes up, you can't cash out what, since that leaves you with no place to stay, unless you want to spend all the profits on yet another inflated property.

Why can't people just buy one house and stay in it forever, or at least until they need another one (due to kids or etc)? Really damn greedy leh.

The key here is downgrade, which unfortunately is not readily acceptable by most people.

Of course la. With the Asian mentality, after so many years of living in a big flat, who will want to downgrade?

You answer your own question. Yes, it's GREED.

Of course la. With the Asian mentality, after so many years of living in a big flat, who will want to downgrade?

The more the flat becomes smaller and the open space shrinking, the more people want bigger house/space.

no much issue when it come to HDB flat.

every release over subscribe by alot. and we know can bid for BTO mean no Private property.

so HDB flat still safe. what you want to worry is private market. but is a open market so its their own problem.

Yup. That's exactly .

that's why experts caution that don't anyhow thing that the hdb rental can cover up your current million-dollar-private-property mortgage

it would be double whammy when rental fall or cannot find tenant and then need for fork out hight cash to service current loan

The bank will have no way to take back one's HDB. But they have the right to trigger margin calls and take back the private property, if one can no longer able to sustain the loans. The day will come. But no one knows, went. But the new sustaining of property prices comes from the 6.9mil magic word. [cool]

Edited by HP_Lee

Could this be a validation of the "lock 1 door" method to rent the house?

Although I'm guessing that HDB misplaced some document sent to them, that's why they drop lawsuit...

to be honest on this.

since rule allow. i will also exploited it [:p]

you wont call this no principle hor [laugh]

of course la, nothing wrong with playing by the rules. if you realise when the rule is wrong, i always criticse the rule maker and not the rule follower.

The way to benefit from this appreciating asset is to cash out and live in other countries. This has work so well for some PR from the north who decides to retire back to their own country.

this case different, seems that the owner is working overseas one

Unless he is stationed there or travel in and out of the country often. Else one will still come home to stay mah...in short...unless you dun live there...if you live there...sure got tell tale signs one. (or maybe he working for some spy agency...need to cover up his tracks...hahahhahaha)

my friend kena.......the HDB officers produced the dates and photos they shot of his unit from afar showing who's going in and out which covered several days.......... <_<

I not surprise...HDB guys stake out in the MSCP to catch the car next to mine for tampering of parking coupon...