Watches III

Steptronic

Er Mate, the sticker still on the watch ?

I will keep lookout when you sell your watches, you protect them well

haha ya..tend not to peel them off unless they become "unmanageable" [:p]

Do you trade your watches often? How many do you have in your possession at any one time?

Yes as generally i lose interest in most watches pretty fast, as many as >30 and as few as 6 over the years.

can i please ask what are your 6 keepers?

AP ROOs PP Nautilus' and my IWC FaJones :)

then the "mobile" players are the rollies, pams, iwcs etc

Esa got quite a few guys also into watches.

I thinking of getting one to celebrate baby's arrival. Any suggestions?

Thinking of a pam.... or maybe a blue 16613

hmm hard to suggest leh..since I don't know what you have..

yes but at my side also got colleagues who buy a new watch each time they hit a certain milestone in life..

hmm hard to suggest leh..since I don't know what you have..

yes but at my side also got colleagues who buy a new watch each time they hit a certain milestone in life..

i have to start thinking of my past milestones and future milestones then [laugh] [laugh]

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/archive/sa...iation-20130727

Published July 27, 2013

It's time to learn the fine art of watch appreciation

By arthur lee

[email protected]

A PIECE OF JOY

Mr Choo (left) and Mr Chong at the BT Luxe Night. Mr Chong spoke on the art of collecting watches at the event. - PHOTO: ARTHUR LEE

SOME 100 business leaders turned up for the BT Luxe Night at the Lexus showroom on Thursday and learnt more about the fine art of watch appreciation.

"The art of collecting watches: of passion, complications, more complications and chasing the wind" was the theme taken by well-known watch expert Peter Chong.

He said that a fine timepiece essentially reflects the history and tradition of the house. Then come the precious materials used, the manufacture, finishing, complication and rarity.

When it comes to making a purchase, his advice is to buy what you like but not immediately. One should visit the shop, look at the selection and try the pieces on. Then focus on two or three that you like. Go home and come back the following week to buy the one that captures your imagination.

A watch is not essential for us to tell the time. It remains an item of luxury, to remind one to take time to enjoy the beauty of craftsmanship, he said.

It is also one of the few pieces of jewellery a gentleman can wear without drawing undue attention. Wear a watch because it brings one joy and pleasure to have a piece of fine work on one's wrist.

While fine timepieces can make good investments, one should also choose carefully because a wrong choice can result in sharp losses. It is also a non-liquid asset as rare items require rare collectors. Like everything else, getting in and out at the right time is very important.

William Choo, commercial director, Lexus Singapore, said: "We are very pleased to be able to extend our Lexus style of bespoke hospitality in treating all our customers, as we would a guest in our home, to all the BT CEOs present at tonight's event".

Guests also had the rare opportunity for a up-close look at the award-winning Lexus LF-LC concept coup

Edited by Chucky2007

i have to start thinking of my past milestones and future milestones then [laugh] [laugh]

Ya. When people want to buy something, they will always find reasons to justify.

When they don't wanna buy, they will always find excuses [laugh]

Is Daywalker Peter Chong? :D

Any nice article on handbag appreciation anot?

My colleague just bought a Birkin for close to 16k... And a leather horse tag that straps to that bag at like $700? :blink:

Wah hard to imagine plonking down cash on such things man..

Any nice article on handbag appreciation anot?

My colleague just bought a Birkin for close to 16k... And a leather horse tag that straps to that bag at like $700? :blink:

Wah hard to imagine plonking down cash on such things man..

To each his own, depends on how much happiness it gives the person.

Thats the value. As long as the person doesnt become a slave to the bag, ie, cant bear to use it, protect like a baby.

Cheap watch to kick off the sunday

Dun lidat lah..I want to see more down to earth every day watches..doesn't anyone have any tag, oris or peasant level of watches to show? :D

But no one post leh.

I gladly welcome.

The Sub is one of my cheapest Rolex at $5k 15yrs ago

It is a very down to earth, daily watch for man in the street

Ok i go grab my Datejust for a pic

You wait ah.

Edited by Throttle2