Watches III

Steptronic

This one ?

$10580 from local AD, last year's price. After 5% discount is $10051.

You can call the various AD and ask. [;)]

I got it last year for $9500 at HG. Quite a robust watch to trash around.

So rolex got no ticking sound even when you put it to your ear?

Thats exactly why i say this article is lousy.

Of course Rolexes tick.

A few times per second.

I got it last year for $9500 at HG. Quite a robust watch to trash around.

So good. You got 10% discount. They only offered me 5%. [bigcry]

thanks! kena kan by my wife. she doesnt understand why i got so many more expensive watches still want to buy a seiko ....

haiz... women really dont get it [bigcry]

Really bro? Must meet up some time to let me see..just started to get into this..bought a few vfm pieces...shiok...

every night just lie on bed and watch the hands move..swee [blush]

Really bro? Must meet up some time to let me see..just started to get into this..bought a few vfm pieces...shiok...

every night just lie on bed and watch the hands move..swee [blush]

Esa got quite a few guys also into watches.

I thinking of getting one to celebrate baby's arrival. Any suggestions?

Thinking of a pam.... or maybe a blue 16613

Esa got quite a few guys also into watches.

I thinking of getting one to celebrate baby's arrival. Any suggestions?

Thinking of a pam.... or maybe a blue 16613

better not buy, diapers alone will cost a new pam soon LOL

This one ?

$10580 from local AD, last year's price. After 5% discount is $10051.

You can call the various AD and ask. [;)]

if gst refund, 12% or just 7%?

Wonder how a Grand Seiko sounds like?

same lah... tick tick tick..... :D

For the price, can consider Orient Star. Less common and more accurate than most Seikos.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/archive/sa...iation-20130727

Published July 27, 2013

It's time to learn the fine art of watch appreciation

By arthur lee

[email protected]

BT_20130727_ALUXE27_686505.jpg

A PIECE OF JOY

Mr Choo (left) and Mr Chong at the BT Luxe Night. Mr Chong spoke on the art of collecting watches at the event. - PHOTO: ARTHUR LEE

SOME 100 business leaders turned up for the BT Luxe Night at the Lexus showroom on Thursday and learnt more about the fine art of watch appreciation.

"The art of collecting watches: of passion, complications, more complications and chasing the wind" was the theme taken by well-known watch expert Peter Chong.

He said that a fine timepiece essentially reflects the history and tradition of the house. Then come the precious materials used, the manufacture, finishing, complication and rarity.

When it comes to making a purchase, his advice is to buy what you like but not immediately. One should visit the shop, look at the selection and try the pieces on. Then focus on two or three that you like. Go home and come back the following week to buy the one that captures your imagination.

A watch is not essential for us to tell the time. It remains an item of luxury, to remind one to take time to enjoy the beauty of craftsmanship, he said.

It is also one of the few pieces of jewellery a gentleman can wear without drawing undue attention. Wear a watch because it brings one joy and pleasure to have a piece of fine work on one's wrist.

While fine timepieces can make good investments, one should also choose carefully because a wrong choice can result in sharp losses. It is also a non-liquid asset as rare items require rare collectors. Like everything else, getting in and out at the right time is very important.

William Choo, commercial director, Lexus Singapore, said: "We are very pleased to be able to extend our Lexus style of bespoke hospitality in treating all our customers, as we would a guest in our home, to all the BT CEOs present at tonight's event".

Guests also had the rare opportunity for a up-close look at the award-winning Lexus LF-LC concept coup